Mahindra KUV-1OO Diesel & Petrol Review

The Boot Space of KUV-1OO: As per OEM, the boot space is 243 Ltr. and can be expanded upto 473 Ltrs by folding rear seats. It neatly houses the spare wheel (which is a non-alloy one). The boot of the K8 model also has a boot lamp and a parcel tray too. It also gets well carpeted boot door and an additional grip is attached to it too. Having said this, I found the boot capacity to be on the lower side.

20160120_112628.jpg

20160120_112634.jpg

20160120_112639.jpg

20160120_112652.jpg

20160120_112711.jpg

20160120_112731.jpg

The colorful shades of KUV-1OO

20160120_111055.jpg

20160120_111032.jpg

20160120_111046.jpg

20160120_111020.jpg

What I Liked in KUV 1OO

* Neat Cabin Layout.

* Peppy Diesel Engine.

* Sleek Transmission

* Lot of storage space.

* Easy Ingress & Egress

* Good Legroom in the rear.

* Seating

* Good NVH

What I disliked in KUV-1OO​

* Average Petrol G80 engine

* Body Roll

* Confusing design

* Relatively small wheels

* Comparatively small boot.

* Steering is too light

* Plastic Quality and Finishing not upto the mark in many areas

* Smart Key missing in top variant.

* Bad Quality Wipers

Few salient Features of KUV-1OO K8 model​

* Ambient lighting.

* Alloy Wheels

* ABS with EBD + Airbags

* DRL in Headlamps

* Fog Lamps with chrome surrounds.

* Available in 5 & 6 Seater

* DTE Feature is Available.

* Micro Hybrid.

* Rear Wipe and Wash

Some Parting snaps

20160120_114302.jpg

20160120_114536.jpg

20160120_114615.jpg

20160120_113049.jpg

20160120_112844.jpg

20160120_112849.jpg

20160120_112854.jpg

20160120_114357.jpg

Here is the interior look of KUV-1OO with leather seat covers and illuminated scuff plates.

20160120_110836.jpg

20160120_110850.jpg

20160120_110856.jpg

For the pics of KUV-1OO in armor kit please click here. and for the 1st impression of the KUV-1OO please click here.

Now attaching a couple of videos of the KUV-1OO for your comfort.[:)]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6BjBpQ29ww

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s_b8jJr79bw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=25ugsontciY&feature=youtu.be

All the pics and videos of this Test Drive Review are only for The Automotive India. Any re-use needs full credit to TAI.​

Finally, the much awaited review. Awesome review. Covered all the points. What about the ICE quality?

"Moving on the steering, it is a power steering needless to say but has disappointed me. The response was indeed really bad. I mean at 80-90 km/h I was shocked at the lightness of it. I mean what are we going to get in 7.5 Lacs? If this is what we’ll be offered then better stay away. If someone takes it on a highway, please carry a god’s pic in your pocket along!!"

So, Is the steering like hyundai's PS? what will you rate the steering in the scale of 1 to 10?

Thanks Akash, for the crisp and detailed review, I give it 5*

Quickly a few points

1. Does the gear indicator on the MID shows just the gear you are in or to move up or down, as in the KWID?
2. I would have preferred the Start/Stop switch as in high end cars, rather the plain jane switch.
3. I suppose the 6 seater will sell more due to its uniqueness/armrest feature.

regards

vinod

Good Review.

The front look is good, but it is not at all matching with the side appearance.

Rear looks are ok though.

Interior is better.

Mahindra should have made it as a proper 5 seater.

Car looks very practical. It was a very good detailed review. I have forwarded to many of my friends.
Seat arrangements remind me the old model cars.

What about the ICE quality?

So, Is the steering like hyundai's PS? what will you rate the steering in the scale of 1 to 10?
For ICE Buddy you can hear the video of it. About the steering i'll rate only 3/10.

1. Does the gear indicator on the MID shows just the gear you are in or to move up or down, as in the KWID?
vinod
Vinod ji, It works as a conventional gear shift indicator just like all others.

Great review Akash sir.Iam interested in this vehicle.Iam following it from start.This review will help in long way in choosing replacement for wagon r

Thanks for the detailed review Akash Saar ji [clap]

Congratulations on a nicely written review and now I can understand that you were out of your breath after the review.

This is definitely going to sell. It will be interesting to see how much dent this Hatchback err. Sorry M&M, I should call it SUV causes in Swift sales.

Lots of competition in the mini SUV .After Kuv100, this month will see launch of Ignis & Breeza.I think they will be prized higher but customer have lots of options.

First of all, Kudos for great review! Except ICE details,(I know, there is a video, but that was too noisy!) you've covered everything. Rated 5*!

Now, here are some questions/observations based on the review.

1. Is that gear lever really that tiny or you did some optical illusion stuff to make it look so small?
2. How about operating A/C controls? Does the gear level intrudes in the way?
3. Lot's of retro items, like than hand brake, dashboard lever takes us back a decade back, which essentially is not good thing!
4. Interior looks good, by M&M Standards and space is decent too!

Now my grouse!

1. Why 3 cylinders? Haven't we seen enough of it? For a buyer, who doesn't change car's often, this might sting at later part of their ownership. We have had enough of this with our old Accent! It lacks longevity. Period!

2. The front looks overdone. Too much design cue taken from here and there(huff,puff XUV) and kinda looks like the ugly baby of XUV! Well, not very ugly, but it isn't the pretty one. I'd put my money on Hyundai if I am going by the looks.

But to be frank, M&M released the right(well, not perfect) product at right time. Market is already barging and buying every hatch-on-steroid, butch, mini SUV cars! With that pricing and decent interiors, I'm sure it will sell really well! Infact I won't be surprised if it tops the sales chart in coming months! Nice work M&M.