Life Zestified: Tata Zest XMX Beige (Petrol) Ownership Review

I am starting my ownership review for my beige petrol XMS Zest ..

Why i bought the car: Was getting married and wanted a new car for my wifey to commute to office

Cars Shortlisted (Budget 5 lacs initially):
a) Honda Brio : Wifey liked this funky car, and also in my budget
b) Hyundai I10 (We have dezire, so dont want another one)

Car Bought: Tata Zest XMS Revetron for 6 lacs

I started to also look at reviews of zest in this forum and other forums. The initial reviews sounded optimistic. Then decided to go for test drive with wifey, and she really liked the car. But the extra Rs 90,000 over Honda brio bothered her. But, i was flattered by zest due to the below mentioned factors and decided to up the ante to 6 lacs from 5 lacs. The reasons are:

a) I have a dezire with no safety. Since the new car was to be driven primarily by wife, I decided to have safety features like Airbags and ABS at any cost [;)]
b) Zest was attractively priced at just 6 lacs [:)]
c) It had incredible things like alloys, harmen music system etc , which is unheard of cars in this price
d) Did not go for XT model, since i felt it did not justify premium of 60k over XMS
e) The looks of the car were European , and blew me away

Why XMS Model:

a) Has Airbags + ABS
b) Alloys
c) Harmen Music System
D) All necessary accesories like power windows etc.
E) Budget did not allow to buy XT :)

Dealership Experience:

The car costed 6.05 lacs on road price . I also bought Gold AMC in this price from Autovikas Motors, Moti Nagar, Delhi. The sales experience was about average. I did not buy any accessories from dealer, as they were expensive

Things i like after driving the car

1) This car is like a tank. Seems i am lifting weights, when i try to open its door. The dezire doors look like feathers
2) Locking system for co passengers power windows
3) Illuminated keys insert place
4) Great road presence
5) 3 years free service (material and labor)
6) Airbags and ABS
7) The Harmen music system is just amazing
8) Sterring mounted music controls
9) Light indicators on side mirrors
10) Better rear space vs Dezire. Now 3 people can easily fit in the rear seat

Additional Accessories bought from local nearby shops
1) Mats 2) sun visors 3) reverse camera and sensor 4) seat covers 5) perfume 6) Seat Covers

Things which i dont like
a) There is no sound when we use central locking [sleep]
b) No touchscreen and GPS

Thats about it. This car has incredible amount of features for the price

PS: This is a blind buy and just outclasses all cars like dezire and amaze. Do it before next year to avail current discounts and free Silver AMC

Some pics of my beauty

View attachment 156959

View attachment 156960
Congrats!!

Wish you many Happy miles in your zest!!

Zest is a beast and the king of Sedan!!

Feeling good after seeing hema malini saved by airbags , that i got zest fitted with airbags for wifey

Hi vaibhav can you tell me which at which dealership did you get the AC rectified? I am planning to buy zest for my father in Delhi but since I don't live there anymore I lost touch with the auto scene there. By the way my father lives in Patparganj and his office is in Vasant Kunj. He is 63 year and is not that well conversant with automobiles , so it will be helpful if you can guide me to a good dealership and service center. Thanks in advance.

Okay 1 yr service done. Very good after sales response
a) Free oil change
b) free gear oil change
c) Free pick up drop

Just paid 450 rs for wurth polymer coating CAR lubrication [sleep]

Okay 1 yr service done. Very good after sales response
a) Free oil change
b) free gear oil change
c) Free pick up drop

Just paid 450 rs for wurth polymer coating CAR lubrication [sleep]
Any niggles or issues with your car in the past one year ?

What mileage are you getting ?

Its good to see your ownership in the past year [clap]

Hi Vaibhav,

It is great to see your updated ownership report. I have booked a new Zest XMS model today. Seems like no alloy wheels given now a days on the middle version. I haven't checked about the ACC.

I refused to take the annual maintenance package. But after reading your report I think I should buy it. They asked Rs.7000 for Reverse parking sensor and camera. Do you think this is fine or should I buy it outside?