Hyundai i20 Active Review & Pictures: Actively Elite

Hyundai i20 Active Sx Diesel Driven.

The Hyundai i20 Active has been launched yesterday in India at an Ex Showroom (Delhi) starting price of Rs 6 Lac 38 Thousand. There 5 Variants in all including petrol and diesel. 2 Variants in Petrol with 1.2 L engine and 3 Variants in Diesel with 1.4 L engine and 2 interior options i.e Aqua Blue and Tangerine Orange. Both diesel and petrol variants are launched with option of 5 and 6 Speed manual transmission in 6 Body Colors namely;

1) Silver

2) Red

3) Earth Brown

4) Retro

5) White

6) Black

Technical Specs of Hyundai i20 Active

Untitled.png

References

Official i20 Active Launch

Official Elite i20 Review

Chief Competitors

1) Toyota Etios Cross

2) VW Polo Cross

3) Fiat Avventura

20150318_123827.jpg

What I Appreciate​

* The Diesel Engine really peppy.

* Being Diesel the Engine NVH is still modulated.

* Good Cabin Insulation to avoid external noise.

* Hyundai's Interior Fit and Finish is always very good.

* Dual Airbags in top model.

* Sporty A, B, C Pedals.

* The Cabin looks quite good.

* Good Legroom in rear.

* Increased Ground Clearance.

20150318_123442.jpg

20150318_123540.jpg

20150318_123450.jpg

20150318_123455.jpg

What could be better

* Look wise its only a Kitted Elite i20 from Hyundai with side skirts and bumper skirts.

* No speed sensitive locks

* Rear headroom is tad lower for tall people (6ft and Above)

* Automatic Transmission Missing.

* Variants in Petrol Engine are less.

* Under hood cladding missing.

* Blue Interiors are not that appealing. Orange one's are good in that respect.

20150318_123624.jpg

20150318_123613.jpg

20150318_123700.jpg

20150318_123901.jpg

# Continued in next post.

Re: Hyundai i20 Active Sx Diesel Driven.

Salient Features of Hyundai i20 Active (Sx Diesel)

1) Escort Headlamps

2) Push Button and Smart Key

3) Automatic Climate Control AC

4) Roof Rails

5) Rear Deffoger and Wiper. Front Wipers with intermittent function.

6) R16 Diamond Cut Alloys and R15 Normal Alloys

7) Electric ORVM and IRVM

8) Projector Headlamps

9) All Round Body Skirts

10) Auto Headlamps in SX Variant

11) Central Locking

12) ABS

13) Dual Din ICE Panel

14) 60:40 Rear Seat Split in SX Variant

15) 12 Volt Socket.

16) Steering mounted Controls.

17) Overhead Map Light Cluster in front.

18) Vanity Mirror for passenger.

19) Lane Change Indicator

20) Cornering Lamps.

21) Rear AC Vents for even Cabin cooling.

20150318_123637.jpg

20150318_123647.jpg

20150318_123724.jpg

20150318_123504.jpg

20150318_123514.jpg

20150318_123521.jpg

20150318_123836.jpg

20150318_123853.jpg

20150318_123601.jpg

20150318_123925.jpg

# Continued in next post

Re: Now Hyundai Joins "Cross" Bandwagon with Elite i20 Active

See , if i were in the market i too would take a higher model and not the active. But difference between base and s is 71k which i think is not high.

S has auto headlamps , driver airbag , ABS, rear parking sensors, projector plus LED, camera , defogger , bluetooth , steering controls etc.
I think these features are worth 71k. What do you think ?
Difference of elite i20 with base i20 active is a whole different point.

Re: Hyundai i20 Active Sx Diesel Driven.

Some Small But Important Features in i20 Active

1) Front Fog Lamps for additional Visibility

2) Adjustable Front Seat

3) Center Console for storage

4) Cooled Glove Box

5) Battery Saver

6) 45 Liter Fuel Tank Capacity.

7) Parking Sensors in Rare.

8) Additional Rare lamps in bumper for night time visibility.

9) Immobilizer

10) Adjustable Front Headrests.

11) FM Antenna.

12) Roof mounted rear stop lamp.

20150318_123550.jpg

20150318_124029.jpg

20150318_124131.jpg

20150318_123745.jpg

20150318_123756.jpg

20150318_123802.jpg

20150318_123942.jpg

20150318_123809.jpg

20150318_123911.jpg

20150318_123930.jpg

So Friends, I do hope that this Test Drive Review of Hyundai i20 Active is useful for you. I believe, the i20 Active does hold the character of competing in the segment. In future it would be interesting to note how Hyundai markets this product because essentially it appears to be youth oriented.

20150318_123918.jpg

20150318_123751.jpg

20150318_123740.jpg

All Pictures Are Exclusively For T.A.I
Re-use Needs Full Credit To T.A.I​

S has auto headlamps , driver airbag , ABS, rear parking sensors, projector plus LED, camera , defogger , bluetooth , steering controls etc.
I think these features are worth 71k. What do you think ?
S variant is well loaded and is the pick of the lot in the range, but Hyundai did this to justify the fact that petrol has only 2 versions and that the S would be the Top end variant for it, they have managed to add as much features as possible. While the Diesel only SX is S with some Extras. This is not similar in Elite i20 where the models have differences in them with regards to features.

Some Small But Important Features in i20 Active

1) Front Fog Lamps for additional Visibility

2) Adjustable Front Seat

3) Center Console for storage

4) Cooled Glove Box

5) Battery Saver

6) 45 Liter Fuel Tank Capacity.

7) Parking Sensors in Rare.

8) Additional Rare lamps in bumper for night time visibility.

9) Immobilizer

10) Adjustable Front Headrests.

11) FM Antenna.

12) Roof mounted rear stop lamp.
What is "important" about these features that is really unique to I20 Active ?

Vibhor, A highly detailed review for the i20 Active. One of the best on the internet and when I say this, I say with full conviction. Even though its a Cross Version of the Elite i20 but to be honest with my practical experience, i20 Active is well proportioned Cross version among some of the existing competitors. However, with the S-Cross Launch nearing, It would be a definite battle of the equals in the Indian Market. One more thing I would like to point here, the increased GC of i20 active makes it more convenient to egress and ingress. However, I would have loved if Hyundai could have provided sun-roof to the Active i20 to just set it apart from the contenders at present. I am really sure, with the kind of respect that Hyundai has in the Indian market, Active i20 will garner respectable number of buyers but for that we need to watch out for the sales numbers.

Thanks Vibhor!!

While Elite i20 is an awesome product which already has worried Maruti and Honda so that to come up with their YRA and Jazz asap,I don't think i20 Active is worth going for...its just a matter of show off I guess with two things worth appreciation 1)Projector head lamps 2)Increased GC (although this is almost synonymous with a cross-over tag and not a big deal)...rest of other stuff is better termed as blings/bells & whistles...
What a genuine Elite i20 crossover demanding was :-
a)Bigger/better petrol motor (maybe that 1.4L from AT versions of iGen i20)
b)Those 6 airbags and rear disc brakes
c)A combo of advanced dynamics,suspension system,and a responsive steering wheel
d)ESC
Hyundai missed an opportunity to have added atleast a) and b)
I don't think that to choose i20 Active over Elite i20 would be a better idea and the Indian market isn't that foolish to be doing it...rest time and sales figures will tell,I maybe wrong...

While Elite i20 is an awesome product which already has worried Maruti and Honda so that to come up with their YRA and Jazz asap,I don't think i20 Active is worth going for...its just a matter of show off I guess with two things worth appreciation 1)Projector head lamps 2)Increased GC (although this is almost synonymous with a cross-over tag and not a big deal)...rest of other stuff is better termed as blings/bells & whistles...
What a genuine Elite i20 crossover demanding was :-
a)Bigger/better petrol motor (maybe that 1.4L from AT versions of iGen i20)
b)Those 6 airbags and rear disc brakes
c)A combo of advanced dynamics,suspension system,and a responsive steering wheel
d)ESC
Hyundai missed an opportunity to have added atleast a) and b)
I don't think that to choose i20 Active over Elite i20 would be a better idea and the Indian market isn't that foolish to be doing it...rest time and sales figures will tell,I maybe wrong...
[thumbsup] well said. From a company which was the first to give 6 airbags this side of 10 lakhs, I had expected at least the top variants to have rear discs, 6 airbags ESC along with better dynamics. It would also have been good to see an AT version. Hope that ix25 comes with an AT variant and its not the stone age 4 speed. They should plonk the 6 speed one at the least.

Nicely designed by Hyundai team.Hyundai must take car of engine tweak in petrol for better fuel efficiency,suspension set up is not upmarket.Interior as usual as they claim first and best in segment

According to me, the i20 Active mostly resembles like the older Skoda Yeti when the i20's front and rear part are seen.

But then this is a good try for the Hyundai as the ground clearance have gone up which is the major part the indians prefer.

Excellent review.

I don't know why people have a very negative review about anything Hyundai does. I have been a Hyundai customer and they have come up with some excellent vehicle like i20, Verna and even the popular i10.

The Exterior design, comfort and interiors has been of top quality. It is actually VFM to buy a Hyundai car.

I have test driven Ecosport & Polo for some reason the luxury and premium feel you only get once you sit inside a Hyundai car.

I20 Active looks a stunner but again looks can be deceptive and people have their own opinion on looks. Please do not go buy pics just look at in real and i20 Active is a very good looking car compared to most of the counterparts and Ecosport too.

Never tried a Fiat car hence stayed away from Avventura due to Fiat's poor After Sales and also in-spite of the excellent ride quality which most of the people have talked about I feel the Interior is still too bland for my liking.

Overall should be a winner from Hyundai.