- For Which Purpose?
Long trips

- Max. Seating Capacity
three

- Priority of Fuel Type
Confused !!!... You suggest...

- Body Type
definitely sedan no small cars...

2000KM, long drives, it has to be Diesel.

I would like to buy Volkswagen vento...
Kindly suggest....
Vento is excellent car, but looking at your location, I would suggest to be sure that you have reliable showroom and service center nearby.
It has an excellent diesel engine and build quality is also top class.

Other diesel sedan, in this range will be -
Verna - Excellent car, powerful engine and Hyundai A.S.S. Only new upgrade is not of my choice (only lookwise)
Linea - Best looking, VFM, very good FE, loaded with feature, be sure of A.S.S.
Fiesta - Not much idea, but very good alternative.

I would not recommend Dzire or Manza, as they are not closer to above cars.

Hi Saptarshi welcome to TAI.

Your thinking for Vento is a good choice.
But the place in Bihar you are staying has no VW dealer.
It should not be a trouble for you to get your vehicle serviced.
What looks to me is you can try either Hyundai Verna / Maruti SX-4.

I too would recommend you a Diesel Sedan.

The vento diesel is said to be a great performer. since you daily running is more than 65 kms, you should go for a diesel.

being a diesel, FE would be good. but being a VW, maintainence would be expensive. for long trips, it is more apt than a verna, linea or fiesta. go for it!

Petrol or diesel ?
its your main confusion i hope.

In any car a petrol is trouble free car than a diesel. though modern day diesel is sophisticated , it cant score over a gasoline engine.

Your running will be a 2000 kms per month.

how many years do you plan to keep the car.

if its around 4 years you can get a diesel
else i suggest a petrol - though diesel will be torquey , you have piece of mind in petrol

comparing the spares - petrol spares are some what less than a diesel spare.

Typical india buy diesel thinking they save a lot! but the real thing is reverse. !!!

No way Ilango, over the ages Diesel engines have been refined a lot.
Do you know one thing the Petrol Engine VW-Polo makes more noise & vibration than Diesel counterpart.
So though diesel engine is high on cost, the maintainance costs are not heavier.
The price you are paying for petrol would be more than what you are paying for diesel.

Well for your running i would suggest a diesel provided if you plan to keep the car for 3 years atleast.

Vento a good choice but as others said VW dealership is pretty weak even in Chennai , a bit of concern.

Verna- I own one , a terrific car! But if your driving is more in the highways then avoid this as the ride is somewhat bumpy at high speeds. Even small bumps can jolt the car pretty badly. Otherwise a great car matched with Hyundai's good A.S.S.

Linea- My pick if you drive more in the highways. A great car with refined MJD engine having some nice features too. But check out Fiat's A.S.S in your area.

Apart from this i would suggest Manza. Well avoid Dzire if you are ready to spend 9Lakhs , all the above cars are better than Dzire overall.

@ Ilango For his 2k running km for a month a diesel will prove to be a better deal for him. If running is less what you said holds good.

Car Advantages Disadvantage
Vento Great Choice Very weak delership & service newtork
Verna Good Car Handling & too pricey
Linea Nice VFM Bit under powered, Service network again
Manza Worth every penny Not to consider for your budget.

If you can wait for sometime, then do wait for Etios.

Else I would suggest you to opt for Honda City which is Gem of cars.

Arun

Okay, well, looking at your requirements, a diesel fits the bill. The Vento, to be honest, is a Polo with a boot. The 'Dzire' of Volkswagen as some may call it.

Now, you must know that there is a huge difference between the prices of the variants. The lower variant that is the Trendline costs, 8.9 lakhs ex-showroom Kolkata. Whereas, the Highline costs 10.19 lakhs. Now for a premium of 1 lakh 20 thousand bucks, you get

1. Climate control
  2. Alloy wheels
  3. Fog lamps
  4. ABS

Alternatively, you can test drive the Verna.

Cheers!

Arun

Options

City = no petrol engine, too expensive to buy and to run.

Vento = Af.S.S. still a suspect.

Linea = Fiat Af.S.S. a doubt(rumours of break away from Tata, I wonder how they will manage alone?)

Verna: No airbags, new one looks horrible

Manza = VFM deal, you cant go wrong.(you also save some money)

Mitsubishi Cedia = great car. (also heard of great discounts)

What about the innova?
Interested?

My pick would be in this order.

1: Manza
2: Cedia
3: Verna
4: Linea
5: Vento

PS: I would also look at the innova.

Arun

Ahem, this thought just crossed my mind. Why not the Ford Fiesta 1.4 Duratorq? Its a good, reliable diesel mill. Reliable car as well as service network. Well, atleast better than Volkswagen for the time being. Moreover, I haven't heard a Fiesta being a lemon yet.