Chevrolet TrailBlazer Launched in India @ Rs.26.40 Lakh

Re: Chevrolet Trail Blazer Launched in India @ Rs.26.40 Lakh

lets hope that this car does wonders for GM.
Nitin, till the time this SUV is coming to India as CBU you can be pretty sure of good quality but the day GM decides to build it here in India, it will join in the league of unreliable GM products.

hows the last row it looks a bit cramped but better than Ertiga. that's what i could sense from the photos however you were there so what is your take on the last Row.
Well after seeing the last rows of XUV, Discovery Sport, I find the same sort of lack of legroom in the 3rd row with 2nd row up as well though the under-thigh support seems ok. Another thing is the minimal boot space with all 3 rows up. I'll probably be driving it soon so will get back with more feedback then.[:)]

Design looks outdated. Engine is torquey and have massive power and it comes to India as CBU there for it is costlier then its rivals.

The CBU route has pushed the Car beyond reasonable Pricing. The same Product around 19~21 Lacs would've been killer.

But at 26+ lacs, We are seriously into Small BMW/Audi Territory and there the badge starts mattering more than the stance/Segment/performance of Car.

Oh come on Chevrolet! Thats one butch looking SUV, and thats it. High price tag (CBU route) and missing equipment (just 2 air bags, no 4X4, no keyless, no navigation etc) will probably make this dead on arrival. What are you guys thinking? Dont you want any business from India? Are you just happy and celebrating with your business in China?
Whats wrong in saying this? The last competent product they came up with are the Cruze and Beat. Both were contemporary and feature rich for its time with killer price tags. But what they came up later are the Sail twins with dated styling to compete the likes of Swift/i20 and Enjoy a people mover, nothing but Wuling Hong Guang from a Chinese company. read more about it here

There is no harm in rebadging and bringing a product to India, but when you are looking for Indian market share, introduce VFM (or VFM looking) products like what Ford/Hyundai does. My point is that the Trailblazer that was launched the other day was globally launched in 2012 and then this is brought to India as CBU without analyzing what competitors are going to offer; read the new Endeavour and Fortuner.
Look at the above links of Endeavour and Fortuner and then calculate what weightage you would give to Trailblazer in your mind. The sheer size and engine will be impressive for few but compare the equipment levels on offer and see if this mammoth comes in to anyones purchase decision.

Shanghai GM is making big sales and huge profits in China compared to US just like how our Maruti is outperforming its parent company Suzuki globally. You can read it here.

And that makes it clear that India is not the market GM is looking for.

This segment hardly has any good options. This one looks outdated. Santa Fe is very expensive. Fortuner is very boring. looks innovish. ( my personal opinion. no offence to owners). If some car maker can bring something fresh at <30 lakh on road, it will be a big hit.

That's because CBU cars attract 125% customs duty[surprise] and extra

• Landing charges (1% CIF)
  • Countervailing duty (30% (CIFD + Landing charges) + INR20000.00 per pcs)
  • CESS (3% (Duty + CEX (Education & Higher Education CESS) + Countervailing duty))
  • Additional Countervailing Duty (4% (CIFD + Landing charges + Countervailing duty + CESS + CEX (Education & Higher Education CESS)))
On top of this, the company has to give dealers heafty margin!
Kuwait has just 5% custom duty - that's it.
I agree on customs duty. But, they are not offering security features as per relative high cost in India.

The side profile of the old version is elegant and appealing compared to the new version. Check the below photo.
chevrolet_trailblazer_2001_images_1_1280x960.jpg

Posting the following videos of the new Chevrolet Trailblazer.

* Walk Around

* Engine Bay

* Engine Sound

* Interior Video 1

* Interior Video 2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8Rg1BGx2IA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OqIEseGNC2o

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gctO-Ts0ZoQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60WlQbhnw24

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G0ed4DLtBYo

Re-Use of above videos needs full credit to The Automotive India.

Also adding pics of the Headlamp and the Tail lamp

20151028_112538.jpg

20151028_112514.jpg

Side view looks like a duster.
Rear view seems like a cross between Ertiga and Duster.
Not at all impressive at this price point.

With such a price tag, this vehicle is going to be dead on arrival. Had the company given 4x4 and other options, still the sale would have been nice. A person spending such amount on SUV would definately want 4x4 and curtain air bags. No features at all. GM wake up.