Chaos of Lawbreaking Pedestrians and Two Wheeler Riders

Re: Is this a part of Scam ?

i agree with 350z. i'm shocked to know how they have started looting people. if not burglary , she'd have extorted money from you by saying i'm hurt. and to avoid a scene one obviously will give the other person money.

Here in Bangalore similar thing use to happen(Uravasi theater signal),where as the signal turns green a guy keeps his foot near the car tire & pretends to get clipped & scream in pain,where two other accomplices storm in & heckle the driver snatching cell phone while asking to pay money but disappearing with the phone as traffic keeps honking away leaving the car owner stunned.
But 2nd time they tried it on another friend (who was aware of this)as he was in the signal with the window down & talking on the phone,they did the same thing but my friend revved the car charging at the fellow blocking the car.

Lot of such scamers out there!

In Bangalore, on the side roads, when people jaywalk on my path, I honk once when I am around 100 meters from them and again once when I am around 50 meters. If they still do not give way, I just drive close to them and hit their hand with my rear view mirror and keep going. I have done this quite a few times hoping, next time they will be more careful.

Most of the scratches I get on my bumpers is due to bikers squeezing between my car and the car in front or back while I wait in signals.

Eeeww! VVIPs on 2 Wheels

Read this news today morning about the miraculous escape a biker had after falling 40 feet from a Flyover in Chennai after he was hit by a 4 wheeler. The news report is here (Chennai biker hit by SUV flies off 40-feet high flyover, survives with injuries - The Times of India). Though the biker suffered serious injuries, thank God, he would return to his family alive. Let us pray for a minute for his full recovery.

I am not here to analyze who was at fault. Whatever the fact could be, it is the 2W rider who suffered; I don’t know why so many 2W riders continue to drive the way they drive. Of late I am put into some tense moments due to VVIPs on 2 wheels.

Last week, a 30 odd looking dignitary was driving his 2W in the middle of the lane very slowly oblivious to the fact that he was creating a pile up behind him. There was no RVM, he wouldn’t respond to Horn and wouldn’t yield. A Taxi behind him was irritated and went dangerously onto the wrong lane troubling many. A lady on 2W almost fell down and a child (standing up front) started crying immediately. I will not blame the Taxiwala alone; he was forced by the irresponsible dazzler on 2W. Had anything happened to the mother, was this fellow going to take care of the child ? I hope that he loses his driving license soon. It is high time morons on “anything that is powered and on wheels” realize the cascading effect they are leaving behind.

This Monday, a biker was in the process of overtaking a BMTC bus but was coming straight on a collision course with me. It was a boy hardly at 18. I signaled him as there was no way I could move to left. He immediately put his finger on the horn button. Both Verna and Bus stopped. When this spider man went past me, he brushed my right side OVRM forcing it to fold. Would his papa reimburse the no-claim bonus, if the mirror had broken ?

Yesterday in crawling traffic, in a heavily dug up excuse for a road, I and a BMTC Bus were just about to cross each other. A biker behind me tried an overtaking move that required both I and bus to apply brake. Neither of us did that and Bike came in front of the BMTC. Coincidently, an autorick ahead of me stopped to pick up people. The Biker grew impatient and started shouting at the auto driver. The bus driver was signalling the biker to move, but, the biker ignored him. If HE made a U-turn, he could have joined the traffic a little behind me and would have released the jam HE was causing. BTW, while on 2W, I feel ill at ease to stop in the middle of the road to make a right turn as it could hold up traffic behind me; I drive for some more distance and take a U-turn. For a 2W, it is so flexible to do so. And it is safe too. Why most heros fail to do so ?

Today evening, a young lady was holding me up by driving in the middle of the lane with head tilted to one side; Mobile Phone! Heck, I can’t do that sitting in my Sofa, how do they do that ? It prompted Wify to say, “why don’t you overtake her the way you do in highways?”. 2W drivers need to realize how they are inducing rash driving even from ever-so-patient fairer sex. We all simply drove resignedly till the Cat women made a left turn.

Inside City limits all such power rangers on 2W escape more or less due to traffic density. The equations change, when the roads open up. There’s a possibility of error in judgment and a 2W driver might end up skidding on the road. See, dying is the perfect Gift given by God. But it is the families which are penalized. May be the victim is permanently disabled. Rash driving and INDUCED Rash driving. When they will learn ? Sigh…

When there is a clearly demarcated bike lane on 4-lane NHs, the S.H.I.E.L.D agents on 2W occupy the left lane, but do not spot THAT fast approaching trouble. They fail to use the RVMs. The tendency is more, especially when they overtake a bigger and slower vehicle. I cannot move to their left nor to the right and am forced to drop speed. 80 to 100 may be a good speed for a 2W. But, it irritates when I’m forced to drop 50 to 30 kph just because a biker (or any slower vehicle) wouldn't yield. When they are not in a mood to respond to my Horn sound, I consider them VVIPs and slow down. The bigger vehicle sees what has happened most of the times and moves away to give the much wanted space. At THAT precise moment, trouble wakes up for our royals on 2W. Better they apply brake or run to the chotta lane immediately. If we consider the speed difference between a 2W & Verna, it may take about 1 second for a Verna to completely pass a 2W. During that period, the force of air being pushed from just “a foot away” is good enough to churn the internals of the Biker. Having cleared the 2W, I tend to cut in front of it to move away from the bigger vehicle and to my own safety. The great men wake up and rush to their bike lane immediately. Safety for all, at last; fair enough. It is high time such idiots realize that, everyone can feel “Yeah, it is my grandpa’s road”. It is also high time all these superheroes realize that they reached home safe because some unrelated person(s) CARED about THEIR lives.

When people stop treating these VIPs as VIPs, sad things happen. Sad things may happen, due to the unfortunate cascading effect, even to a totally unrelated, ever so gentle person whose return the family may eagerly be waiting. My dearest Gods, Please ensure all our safety.

Re: Eeeww! VVIPs on 2 Wheels

Very well written. I stand by you. Even worse case is when we honk and ask them to move they will join us in the next signal or the next bottleneck and show signs or shout at us and if there is an accident all will join with the smaller vehicle.

Absolutely agree with your view Vijay. I almost everyday end up cursing a fellow 2W rider for the precise same reasons. I think you missed out on a point regarding night driving, my fellow GhostRiders forget to dim the high beam, punishing fellow riders for daring to ride in front of them or opposite them.

I sometimes come across gangs of two wheeler's (Though they don't recognize each other) who get spread all over on your lane and drive at very low speeds in zig zag manner. When you "Honk", they will slightly move aside leaving the space which is not enough for a car to pass.

Now a days when i come across them i simply downshift to 2nd, remove my foot from accelerator and allows the car to glide by itself. [glasses]

I think that it is a very politically incorrect post. You rich guys are driving in your fancy cars costing thousands and lakhs of rupees. You sit in the A/C comfort listening to music. These guys in their 2-wheelers are in the hot sun, exposed to dirt and pollution. They have to be given right of way. In fact the poorest of the poor, the pedestrians who cannot afford any vehicle and live below poverty line get the right to road first.
3-wheelers, buses are also to be given preferential treatment. These are the guys who make our country, not the pompous doctors or haughty engineers for whom Maruti makes its expensive toys.
In fact every car should be taxed @300% and the money collected should be used to upgrade all 35cc bikes onwards to 150 bhp vehicles which can dart away from you when you try dirty tricks like overtaking.

... if there is an accident all will join with the smaller vehicle.
Same guys will run away, when THEY cause damage to a Car ! Some morality !

... regarding night driving, my fellow GhostRiders forget to dim the high beam, punishing fellow riders ...
I missed that; thanks for adding.

I think that it is a very politically incorrect post ... In fact the poorest of the poor ... 3-wheelers, buses are also to be given preferential treatment ... In fact every car should be taxed @300% and the money collected should be used to upgrade all 35cc bikes onwards to 150 bhp vehicles which can dart away from you when you try dirty tricks like overtaking.
You should be in politics [lol]. But the correct political statement should be, "every 2W will be taxed @100% and every car will be taxed @500%. The money collected will be used to give three meals a day to everyone below poverty line. No need for poorest of poor to work and lose self respect. Aaramse, sit at home, multiply and Vote for us". BTW, why 100% tax for 2W ? Aren't two-wheelers an economic way of commutation for many ?? As per wikipedia (Transport in India - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia), there were 18 Cars for every 100 two-wheelers (86 Lacs cars and 475 Lacs two-wheelers), in the year 2003. Lets say, the ratio over past twelve years has changed to 20 Cars for every 100 two-wheelers. Let's assume 15 of these cars use Petrol but, all 100 two-wheelers use Petrol. So why levy additional Tax for Petrol, which is a Common Man's fuel ? Because, the Union Govt thinks two-wheeler owners are rich. Bloody milk them.

Back to serious matter. Wikipedia says "two-wheelers and cars account for more than 80 percent of the vehicle population in most large cities". Wow, 64% (80% * 80%) of vehicles in big Cities are two-wheelers. AND, in year 2013, two-wheelers accounted for 25% of total road crash deaths in India (source: Road Accident Statistics in India - Road Safety). The % of injury might be much more. In this context, it is time our 2W riders KNOW what view a Court of Law can take. Now, let us say a two-wheeler driver induces so called rash-driving, gets knocked down by an autorickshaw and suffers permanent disability. It is difficult to prove that the autorick driver was speeding; he CANNOT be punished for negligent or rash driving, considering the engine capacity. Believe it. Source :Court: Speeding is not negligent or rash driving - The Times of India.

It gets scary in my this example: A two-wheeler doing 40 kph gets hit by a car doing 50 kph in a bit of a crowded area (where 50 - 60 kph is the speed limit). Let us just say very sad thing has happened. The Car driver would be taken for a ride initially. But, producing videos taken in the same spot around the same time over many sample days, it is very easy to prove in a Court of law that it was not possible to over-speed at that spot. The case would then be treated as a mere accident and the driver of the car WALKS FREE. Who is the sufferer [surprise] ?

This is my summary: Enjoy Driving. Do not irritate others. Courts will see matters without Emotion. Bade bhai ko Salaam karo. Yield, baba YIELD. Drive safe.

I think that it is a very politically incorrect post. You rich guys are driving in your fancy cars costing thousands and lakhs of rupees. You sit in the A/C comfort listening to music. These guys in their 2-wheelers are in the hot sun, exposed to dirt and pollution. They have to be given right of way. In fact the poorest of the poor, the pedestrians who cannot afford any vehicle and live below poverty line get the right to road first.
3-wheelers, buses are also to be given preferential treatment. These are the guys who make our country, not the pompous doctors or haughty engineers for whom Maruti makes its expensive toys.
In fact every car should be taxed @300% and the money collected should be used to upgrade all 35cc bikes onwards to 150 bhp vehicles which can dart away from you when you try dirty tricks like overtaking.
As per me the guys who drives their own BMW, Merc and Audis are Rich [;)]. The road is made for everybody right from pedestrian to luxury vehicle, that means it has to be shared with each other.

I know that 2 wheeler is under hot sun, exposed to dirt and pollution, but this doesn't mean that they have to drive without giving "Right of Way" to others. Here i agree with Vijay_968 post that most of the time car drivers are taken for ride just because of this rich and poor assumption. Just to avoid this i drive as per i mentioned above.

Please do not take any offense, i just tried to post the scene and remedy for it [glasses]

I agree with you but you have to agree that pedestrian also cause problems to car owners.

They'll walk on the main road even if there is a proper footpath. What i can say about others , sometimes my friends or any relative and even my mother walks on the road and i always ask them to walk on the foot path.

I always tell my mother not to cross the road diagonally. It means more time on the road and i hate whenever someone does this and i'm sure each and every person does this and i too must have done this several times.

People will cross like this, bikers will go zig zag , car owners will always demand the way if there's a rickshaw in front of them.

my advice - don't stop and argue with a person if he does something wrong or it created any trouble for you, next day some other maniac(for you) will cross your path.you cant keep explaining things to everyone. If you do just tell them politely that they did something wrong. some people will understand , rest won't bother.

@WildSdi A bike owner should not necessarily be poor, nor the pedestrian. I personally know some people, there was one guy in my college who owned a BMW for himself (family had other exotics) but hesitant to take it to college and he was keen to buy a preowned RX100, but his father never gave a green signal. There is a very famous person in Pune, who owns a race course, you can find him on the roads walking/ cycling for kilometers. Its all about enthusiasm and passion. Yes, I agree money is also an important factor. But there is nothing like one law for the rich and another for the poor. Every citizen irrespective of his pocket's heaviness should follow the rules and guidelines that should be followed on road. Pedestrians should walk through only the Right hand side of the road and no driver/ rider should block other vehicles from overtaking. Lane cutting without signal and overtaking through the left are prohibited as per traffic rules. Any socialist thinker who have not heard of these or want to know the sections of law I am happy to update that too[:)]. Bro, why car should be taxed 300%, already cars are overpriced compared to developed countries and the built quality and safety is compromised by OEMs for price competence. You want to make it worse and regress to the bullock cart era?.

I don't believe it's a politically incorrect post.I agree with 350z on the points he raised.The chaos of traffic is very much attributed to bike riders,auto rickshas and to a certain extent pedestrians.Bike riders are very much negligent about safety,infact I can see only 1% of them wearing helmets in our area.Most of them are very young and probably they don't have driving licence also.
The problem is not only restricted to cities and towns,it's creeping into highway also.We see a lot of bikes on national highway now.And naturally we don't see any helmet,even on highways.We see lot of triple riding and sometimes even quadruple riding on bikes.And the most annoying thing is they will be chatting on the highway side by side going at speeds of 70-80 kmph thereby blocking the highway.What I don't get is why there is no toll fee for bikes?Why are hey exempted? If you collect toll fee for bikes,I am sure that there will be a drastic reduction of bikes on the national highways which can transform into lesser number of accidents.

Dear Friend

It is all about the driver's head. Be it bike, Car or Bus/ Truck. He treats the machine that way because he is sure it is not coming at you with vengeance. We need to put a system to monitor those morons. BY the way you say car should be taxed 300% I think the word CAR brings an Audit/ BMW to your mind. I drive an Alto which atleast most of us will agree will qualify as a car. I've just graduated from a bike to Car. So what is wrong in it? Whatever you drive, open your eyes, ears and your senses too when you sit in/on it.

150 BHP? you are again talking about a Fortuner/ Hayabusa [surprise]