Car Scan Tool (OBD) – Queries & Discussions


Joined
Nov 19, 2014
Messages
1,591
Likes
767
Location
Trivandrum
How many times had you cranked during jump starting .
In some rides (I am not sure with Ford ) - Multiple cranking at same time , will also generate certain error codes (The ECU is made to sense so ) .
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
175
Likes
68
Location
Jabalpur, MP
I just cleared the error codes and now there are No more dtc. So I think I am not in a Big trouble for now.

How many times had you cranked during jump starting
In some rides (I am not sure with Ford ) - Multiple cranking at same time , will also generate certain error codes (The ECU is made to sense so ) .
I had cranked 3-4 times, its a push button start. But the cranking noise was continuous and it showed errors like check engine light and ABS light on console, so finally I told him to stop trying and called an Exide guy from their RSA services.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2014
Messages
1,591
Likes
767
Location
Trivandrum
Exactly what I had thought , after 2nd crank you should have waited for 30s or so before attempting to crank (its there in manual), I know that at that point of time we won't think like this .
A simple solution would be Reprogramming the software again , and after 2-3 days post programming , again scan it (if no other issues , it would be a clean result)
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
175
Likes
68
Location
Jabalpur, MP
A simple solution would be Reprogramming the software again , and after 2-3 days post programming , again scan it (if no other issues , it would be a clean result)
Sir, how can we reprogram the software?
Another thing, the Piston app that @CRACING sir recommended is not able to connect to the OBD. I am using the Car Scanner app only.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2014
Messages
1,591
Likes
767
Location
Trivandrum
Take it to ASS , they will scan the vehicle (if any issue crops up ) , inform them about what you had done (battery jumpstarting incident), and they will try deleting the codes or will check the history and confirm whether there's any malfunction , and they will reprogram and do the needful. Reprogramming , is simple procedure deleting the existing software patch and installing it again/ an updated version .
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
1,013
Likes
1,010
Location
Hubli
Another thing, the Piston app that @CRACING sir recommended is not able to connect to the OBD. I am using the Car Scanner app only.
Make sure you aren't running other OBD apps in background. Connect your smartphone to the OBD device via bluetooth -> open Piston app -> tap top-right corner icon (car and plug) -> select your OBDII device from the list -> Wait until it is connected -> Once connected, you will see green dot followed by connected text on the side bar.

To check errors, go to side bar -> tap faults -> tap scan icon (circular arrows)
To view live data, tap play icon on the main screen. You can add or remove entries using + icon.

I have ELM 327 OBDII device and Piston app works fine with it. My car is Honda City 3rd Gen

CR_ELM327.jpg
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
175
Likes
68
Location
Jabalpur, MP
Make sure you aren't running other OBD apps in background.
Done.
Connect your smartphone to the OBD device via bluetooth -> open Piston app -> tap top-right corner icon (car and plug) -> select your OBDII device from the list -> Wait until it is connected
It says failed to connect after this. I am using this VGate iCar2 OBD -
Rs. 710.78 15%OFF | Vgate iCar2 ELM327 obd2 Bluetooth scanner elm 327 V2.1 obd 2 wifi icar 2 auto diagnostic scanner for android/PC/IOS code reader

I am easily able to connect the OBD with following 4 apps -
1) https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ovz.carscanner

2) https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.prowl.torquefree

3) https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.eobdfacile.android

4) https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.racedroid

I'll try the Piston app again and report.
 
Top Bottom