Auto Expo 2012: Poor Management Woes

Voices of discontent over management of the 11th edition of Auto Expo are getting louder with several business honchos expressing dissatisfaction over the way the international show has been organised.

Business leaders have criticised the poor management of the show saying that the week-long event, which saw participation of over 50 global brands, is a "serious business" and not just a "tamasha".

"I m very disappointed at how it (Auto Expo) is being managed. The space is awful, the cleanliness standards are terrible. This is an international show not a 'tamasha' or an entertainment where families and kids can just walk in and think of having fun,"
Man Force Trucks Chairman Abhay Firodia told PTI.

Visitors from overseas have also complained on the mismanagement of the event.
"Compared to other international auto shows, here we have found that the area is not so clean. There are garbages all around and toilets are also not clean. In other expos, like Tokyo, Frankfurt or Chicago, these things are maintained very properly,"
Takata India Member of the Board Itaru Kado said.

Expressing similar views, Continental AG Member of the Executive Board (Division Interior) Helmut Matschi said:
"Everyone was wearing an official badge on the first two days. It is interesting to see even small children on these days."
The Auto Expo is being organised by industry body CII along with Society for Indian Automobile Manufacturers (SIAM) and Auto Components Manufacturers Association (ACMA).

The latest edition of the biennial event witnessed unveiling of 24 cars by domestic companies and eight by global players, besides eight two-wheelers by homegrown firms.

The show has participation from by 1,500 exhibitors from 24 nations, including the US, China, Thailand and Turkey. The Delhi edition, which is considered to be one of the largest auto expos in the world, is spread across 1.15 lakh square metres of exhibition space.

While most have complained that the venue was overcrowded on the first two days itself though these days were restricted only for media and VIPs, others have said there is no proper arrangement for commuting inside the complex.

"The Auto Expo is no longer India specific. It has a global audience. If we are claiming this to be the second largest in Asia, then we need to set our standards to that level. When our foreign visitors come here, we expect them to take the image of India from the expo with them," Harley-Davidson India Director- Marketing, Sanjay Tripathi said.

Tripathi said the crowd mismanagement has left a bad taste on participants.
"We have not learnt anything from the past. We are not sure how so much of crowd came during the media and invitee days,"
he added.

Though the event has been opened for public viewing from January 7-11, a large chunk of people from different walks of life have already visited in the first two days (January 5-6) itself.

"We are not able to make proper interactions with people for business. People have put in their arms and legs and spent crores of rupees coming here. The organisers should take care of this,"
Firodia said.

According to industry sources, the organisers have issued one pass for every square metre of space booked by the participants, resulting in a total of about 1.15 lakh free passes for the first two days.

When contacted, an official of the Organising Committee of the Auto Expo said on the condition of anonymity,
"Yes, we have issued passes to all the participants as per their area of booking."
Mahindra & Mahindra Vice-Chairman and MD Anand Mahindra who had made his displeasure over the poor crowd management at the expo said it was high time the show was shifted to a new venue.

"We need a better venue with more capacity and the government should help CII and SIAM in finding a new location for the expo. We must put our best foot forward to showcase this event to the world,"
he said.

Some business leaders, however, said the solution for the cramped space and chaos at the complex can be solved if the show is extended for a couple of more days.

"The response is overwhelming. Having said that I think the show should be extended for a couple of days more. Also the show has outgrown space,"
TAFE Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Mallika Srinivasan said.

Industry Body CII, one of the main organisers of the event, has said it is already considering extending the show though it would mean additional cost.

"We are considering to extend the show by a couple of days more. For the next Auto show we will put this proposal as organisers, but it is for the exhibitors to take the final call on it as each extra day would mean additional cost for them,"
CII Trade Fairs Council Chairman Rajive Kaul said.

He said lessons learnt from the experience this time is that one day should be strictly kept for media and exhibitors, and no extra passes should be given out for that day.

Source:Deccan Herald

Re: Auto Expo 2012:Poor Management woes.

Hmmm yes i am reading about this all around! Of course we can't match the Tokyo or Frankfurt Auto-expo's when it comes to cleanliness. I thought even last time many people complained about poor management.

Either they should find a new venue within Delhi or increase the number of days. Also they can keep shifting the city each year , C mon come down south , we have equally good places here in Bangalore , Chennai and Hyderabad!

You know what? “Poor” sounds too ineffective to describe the management of Auto Expo 2012. Terrible still sounds much better to describe the situation that we had to face in the so-called media days. There is a total mismanagement whether it is about the passes for auto expo, getting entry into the auto expo, or even the entire event in general. Of course, it is not an easy task to handle a huge event such as this but for an automotive event which is not happening for the first time and that too occurs only once in a couple of years, this was a very unfortunate incident. The response from CII towards the media has also been very poor. Hope the organizers better start preparing well in advance and outline proper strategies for the next Auto Expo scheduled to happen in 2014. For those who want to know exactly what I’m trying to describe. Just read this here: http://www.bsmotoring.com/autoexpo11/storypage.php?autono=4457

Very sad that it happened even in Media days and causing trouble for exhibitors from manufacturers of other countries.

They should take this feedback very seriously and plan everything carefully for the next time.

There were some talks in 2010 about keeping multiple venues next time, but eventually it all disappeared into a thin air. Another disappointing issue was that many press conferences were placed within very little time gap by the manufacturers.

well i feel sorry about expo organizers messed up big time! india can also match to international shows. why dont public also support to keep it clean! [thumbsdown]

You know what? “Poor” sounds too ineffective to describe the management of Auto Expo 2012. Terrible still sounds much better to describe the situation that we had to face in the so-called media days. There is a total mismanagement whether it is about the passes for auto expo, getting entry into the auto expo, or even the entire event in general. Of course, it is not an easy task to handle a huge event such as this but for an automotive event which is not happening for the first time and that too occurs only once in a couple of years, this was a very unfortunate incident. The response from CII towards the media has also been very poor. Hope the organizers better start preparing well in advance and outline proper strategies for the next Auto Expo scheduled to happen in 2014. For those who want to know exactly what I’m trying to describe. Just read this here: What a show!

My uncle returned yesterday from the Expo and this is what he remarked:

"It (the atmosphere at the Expo) felt exactly as it feels when I go to give my Punto for service at TASS." [lol]

You know what? “Poor” sounds too ineffective to describe the management of Auto Expo 2012. Terrible still sounds much better to describe the situation that we had to face in the so-called media days. Just read this here: What a show!

This was really worse organization. The writeup by the journo in BSmororing was really good. Enjoyed his style of writing. But the i pity him and fellow press people for going thru such bad treatment in their exclusive days at the AutoEXPO

guys anybody read expo venue will change in 2014?? they are going to increase number of days also [clap]

This is happening every year and organisors are not doing anything about it. I still remember the horrifying experience in 2010 AutoExpo where we had to swim in a ocean of people to get into the venue! ( must be around 5000 people ).
By the way we also had one of those free passes !:wink: