Aftermarket Tacho Meter / RPM Meter


Thread Starter #1

Varun560061

Honoured Member
Joined
May 1, 2011
Messages
3,588
Likes
724
Location
Bangalore
Hi Friends,

Today got an rmp meter and installed it. It had 4 wires- red,black,yellow & blue.

I connected the red one for +ve,black one for -ve and the yellow one for the back light to the parking wire\lamp. But I don.t where to connect the yellow one in my car (that's for the rpm meter to work) pls help.
This is fitted in my maruti 800.
 

Attachments

Thread Starter #3

Varun560061

Honoured Member
Joined
May 1, 2011
Messages
3,588
Likes
724
Location
Bangalore
Re: RPM meter

ilango[speed thirst];93180 said:
I think one goes to the alternator set up like that. its the place where mostly the engine speed is taken.

what make is that , OE maruti ?
Ya its maruti GP. Is it good ?
Pls help me out to get that wire connected..
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2011
Messages
347
Likes
25
Location
Cochin
Re: RPM meter

I think the blue wire is the signal wire.And yellow should be connected to +12V(from battery),black to ground.And red should be connected to +12V(ignition or ACC).
Waiting for others answers.
And have you got any user manual with it?
 
Thread Starter #5

Varun560061

Honoured Member
Joined
May 1, 2011
Messages
3,588
Likes
724
Location
Bangalore
Re: RPM meter

No, I dint get any yser manuals with it.
I have connected all 3 wires, you can also find the back light glowing..
Blue one is left out.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2011
Messages
347
Likes
25
Location
Cochin
Re: RPM meter

Blue wire is the RPM signal wire.It should be connected to negative side of the coil(alternator).And in some cars the signal is sent to ECU by a sensor.
BTW how much you've paid for that?
 

350Z

Core Team
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Messages
18,374
Likes
6,111
Location
New Delhi
Re: RPM meter

Good tacho. I can see that you have installed it above the storage compartment. Is it still easy to access now?

Drive Safe,
350Z
 
Thread Starter #8

Varun560061

Honoured Member
Joined
May 1, 2011
Messages
3,588
Likes
724
Location
Bangalore
Re: RPM meter

Good tacho. I can see that you have installed it above the storage compartment. Is it still easy to access now?

Drive Safe,
350Z
Thanks. I can open the storage box, not fully as earlier but half it can opened..
 
Thread Starter #9

Varun560061

Honoured Member
Joined
May 1, 2011
Messages
3,588
Likes
724
Location
Bangalore
Re: RPM meter

Hi I got it installed my self, I connected the blue wire to the ignition coil +ve terminal (if not wrong), now its working.Refer the pic(I dont know the exact name of that part).
One small problem after it crosses 2000rpm, the needle shakes..can u pls help regarding this.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 20, 2011
Messages
347
Likes
25
Location
Cochin
Re: RPM meter

Glad to see that you've installed the tachometer.Are you sure that you've connected the signal wire to positive side of coil?
And regarding the vibration,just check if the ground is loose.

And will this work with Swift?[:D]
Once I ordered a 5" tacho,but heard that it will not work with Swift DDIS(due to dual ignition or something like that).So I'd to cancel the order.

Cheers Mate
 
Thread Starter #12

Varun560061

Honoured Member
Joined
May 1, 2011
Messages
3,588
Likes
724
Location
Bangalore
Re: RPM meter

Glad to see that you've installed the tachometer.Are you sure that you've connected the signal wire to positive side of coil?
And regarding the vibration,just check if the ground is loose.

And will this work with Swift?[:D]
Once I ordered a 5" tacho,but heard that it will not work with Swift DDIS(due to dual ignition or something like that).So I'd to cancel the order.

Cheers Mate
Yes it will work on any car, if you have an source for the signal sensor .
 
Top Bottom