A Trip To Paradise: New Zealand!

I have been planning this trip since September and finally went to this magical place early December.

VISA Formalities and Planning
Visa itself took 20 days at the embassy but i Tried 3 Different Agents and none of them would Guarantee Visa Approval because of the documents i had. Finally the third one was able to set all the documents right and got the approval.

Date of Travel
4th December, 2018 (20 Hours flight to Auckland , 4 hours stop at Guangzhou) - 16th December ( 21 hours flight from Christchurch to New Delhi , 5 hours stop at Guangzhou)

Date of Booking
27th November , 2018. Just 7 Days Before [lol] the second Travel Agent wasted 10 days giving numerous reasons why he couldn't apply. I got the Visa on 26th November.
[Don't Pre-book anything before you get the visa. One other indian couple didn't get the visa on time and lost 1.7 lakhs because of non-refundable bookings]

All the three agents Quoted me 3 Lakhs per person for 11 nights \ 12 days with 2-3 star hotels and 4 basic activities and return flights with visa. Just wait when i tell you what my trip costed me including extra activities and all the food and parking costs.

Itinerary
5th December Day 1 - Auckland
Day 2 - Auckland - Waitomo - Auckland
Day 3 - Auckland - Rotorua
Day 4 - Rotorua -Taupo - Rotorua
Day 5 - Flight Rotorua to Christchurch
Day 6 - Christchurch - Tekapo - Mount Cook - Queenstown
Day 7 - Queenstown - Glenorchy - Queenstown
Day 8 - Queenstown - Te anau - Milford Sound - Queenstown
Day 9 - Queenstown
Day 10 - Queenstown - Wanaka - Franz josef Glacier
Day 11 - Franz Josef Glacier - Hokitika - Arthur's Pass - Christchurch
Day 12 - Flight Back to New Delhi.

Costs Incurred (all expenses for 2 people)
  1. Visa - 19000 rupees.
  2. Flights - China Southern Airlines - 184000 rupees and Air New Zealand - 21000 rupees.
  3. Hotels - all 4-5 stars category hotels with daily buffet breakfast - 140000 rupees.
  4. Self Drive Car rental for 12 days - 52000 rupees
  5. Waitomo Caves Black Labyrinth Tour - 14500 rupees
  6. Hobbiton Tour - 7000 rupees.
  7. Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance - 11000 rupees.
  8. Milford Sound Cruise Only - 8300 rupees.
  9. Thunder Jet Boat Ride - 7000 rupees
  10. Para Flights Parasailing - 8000 rupees.
  11. Currency - 125000 rupees
Total - 6 Lakhs plus some leftover Currency. the travel agent was taking 6 lakhs and that didn't include item 5 , 9 , 10 and obviously 11. So i Saved around 1,30,000- 1,40,000 rupees booking the tour on my own.
1 , 2 and 3 booked from travel agent
4 - Ezi Car Rental and Rad Car hire
5 - The Legendary Black Water Rafting Co
6 , 7 and 8 - Tripadvisor
11 - Got the Currency on my way to the airport at 8:30 AM[lol] i was occupied somewhere and totally forgot to get the currency. God bless india And the Jugaad which is something you can't do in countries like New Zealand.

Point Blur_Jan302019_192731.jpg
Point Blur_Jan302019_192612.jpg
Screenshot_20190130-191437~2.jpg
Screenshot_20190130-191000~2.jpg
Screenshot_20190130-191400~2.jpg

Important Tips
  1. You have to have a credit card in your name or else you won't be able to rent a self drive car.
  2. Many hotels charge parking fees even if they have their own parking space.
  3. Parking is free at night from 9pm - 9am on public roads and from 9am-9pm rates ranges from 2$-4$ per hour depending on the city.
  4. Speed limit is 100 kmph. don't exceed it. my cousin was fined 500$ plus 28 days license suspension for driving at 160 kmph.
  5. Get all supplies from Countdown Supermarket.
  6. Keep on left lanes unless you are overtaking.

Day 1 | 5th December | Auckland Airport

Sunrise from the Plane !
IMG_4100.JPG

First look at the island.[cheers]
IMG_20181205_110205.jpg

Outside The Auckland Airport,
IMG_20181205_174353.jpg
IMG_20181205_174356.jpg

So the first thing i did after checking out of the airport was to call Rad Car Hire. they will send a complimentary shuttle to drop you at their office from where we have to collect the car.
i booked a medium hatchback and got the Nissan Pulsar.
IMG_20181205_180617.jpg

IMG_20181205_181346.jpg

I paid 26500 rupees for 4 days rental. This contains a one way drop off fess of 230$ ie 11500 rupees since i collected the car from auckland and dropped off at rotorua. every company charges one-way fees and this was one of the few companies that operate in rotorua.

First Drive On NZ roads.
IMG_20181205_182405.jpg

Outside the Hotel. No Hotel Parking.
IMG_20181205_190016.jpg

Checked in at Barclay Suites. Really Good Rooms with all amenities that you can think of. Paid 3500 rupees for 2 days at Wilson Car Parking. [cry]

IMG_20181205_193221.jpg

IMG_20181205_193227.jpg
IMG_20181205_193232.jpg
IMG_20181205_193237.jpg

View From the Balcony
IMG_20181205_194505.jpg

IMG_20181205_194521.jpg

IMG_20181205_194507.jpg

Breakfast for Two , the following Morning. Limited Options But Tasty Breakfast.
IMG_20181206_090836.jpg

I have a cousin in auckland who helped a lot and after roaming the city for an hour , having an indian dinner , called it a day.

Sky Tower
IMG_20181205_223925.jpg
IMG_20181205_225045.jpg

Not that good Indian dinner. paid 8$ (400rupees for onions) extra. Assumed it should be like 2-3$.
IMG_20181205_232103.jpg

Someone threw a Sofa in the middle of the road. Weird things happen everywhere [lol]
IMG_20181207_014057.jpg

Day 2 | 6th decmber | Waitomo caves.
Left the Hotel at 11:00 AM for our Waitomo Caves Tour.
We were awestruck looking at the landscapes NZ has to offer. Clouds , Blue sky and Green Farmlands everywhere you can see. Sheeps , Cows , Horses Grazing on each side of the road.
Continuous uphill and downhill roads. Trucks with two trailers overtaking my car.
IMG_4136.JPG

IMG_4137.JPG

IMG_4141.JPG

IMG_4151.JPG

IMG_20181206_115116.jpg

IMG_20181206_115118.jpg

At 13:00 we reached Black Water Rafting headquarters for our Black Labyrinth Tour where we changed into wet suits offered by them. Had a wonderful 3 hours tour of the Waitomo Caves.
If you don't like to get wet or don't like dark places get the basic 45 minutes tour of glowworm caves in which you sit on a boat and enjoy.
you can't miss this place.

PC060014.JPG

PC060033.JPG

PC060037.JPG

This Videos Shows everything I did at this tour.

Some Promotional Pictures.
zLab_06.jpg

zBWR_07.jpg

zBWR_06.JPG

zBWR_04.JPG

Had Some Hot Chocolate Lamb Shank and a Burger at The Backyard Bar and Eatery on our way to Auckland.
IMG_20181206_184818.jpg

IMG_20181206_185320.jpg

IMG_20181206_185324.jpg

Day 3 | 7th December | Hobitton Tour
If you are The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit trilogies Fan, you cannot miss this place.
Checked out from the Auckland hotel we left for Matamata to see the Hobbiton Movie Set.
It's a guided tour and has limited slots for one particular time so pre-book this. They have nicely maintained the movie set but i got sad to know that most of the shooting was done back in Auckland movie sets and there is nothing inside these hobbit holes.

Clicked some pictures, the guide told facts about the movies and locations where they shot the scene. In the End they offered us Beverages for free , all in all a good experience.
IMG_4201.JPG
IMG_4217.JPG
IMG_20181207_132235.jpg
IMG_20181207_132240.jpg
IMG_20181207_132251.jpg
IMG_4221.JPG
IMG_4224.JPG

Different Sized Hobbit Holes.
IMG_4230.JPG
IMG_4238.JPG
IMG_4239.JPG
IMG_4240.JPG
IMG_4241.JPG
IMG_4250.JPG
IMG_4256.JPG
IMG_4258.JPG

IMG_4314.JPG
IMG_4322.JPG

IMG_4340.JPG

IMG_4341.JPG

IMG_4348.JPG
IMG_4349.JPG

Day 3 | Continued...
After the Hobbiton Tour we headed towards our next stop Rotorua.
In the evening checked in at Holiday inn Rotorua. The first hotel where we didn't have to pay parking fees. Decent rooms and was fully packed with tourists.

View from the Hotel.
IMG_20181208_092719.jpg

After taking some rest we headed towards Kuirau park to get the first look at the geothermal activity which Rotorua is famous for.

On the Way Stopped for some fuel.
IMG_20181207_195135.jpg

IMG_20181207_195228.jpg

Nicely maintained park with proper fencing around the hot pools.
IMG_20181207_200244.jpg

After this we headed towards Govenrment gardens. again nicely maintained garden with different type of roses plus few more attratction points like Sulphur point , Polynesian Spa
(a must do )and the Rotorua Lake. The point was famous among st youngsters and many were drinking and enjoying with no loud noises or such things. A community patrol car
came and went in seconds.

IMG_20181207_204104.jpg
IMG_20181207_204106.jpg
IMG_20181207_204110.jpg
IMG_20181207_204112.jpg
IMG_20181207_204115.jpg
IMG_20181207_205022.jpg

Day 4 | 8th December | Wai-O-Tapu
After waking up to a beautiful morning we headed to Wai-O-Tapu, another active geothermal area , Rotorua is famous for. you can easily spend 2-2.5 hours here looking at different
weird things here.

IMG_20181208_104412.jpg

IMG_20181208_102843.jpg
IMG_20181208_103135.jpg
IMG_20181208_103154.jpg
IMG_20181208_103224.jpg
IMG_20181208_103428.jpg
IMG_20181208_103536.jpg
IMG_20181208_103848.jpg
IMG_20181208_104526.jpg
IMG_20181208_105352.jpg
IMG_20181208_105353.jpg
IMG_20181208_105751.jpg

IMG_20181208_105943.jpg
IMG_20181208_105945.jpg
IMG_20181208_105947.jpg
IMG_20181208_112301.jpg

IMG_20181208_112604.jpg
IMG_20181208_115348.jpg
IMG_4375.JPG
IMG_4376.JPG
IMG_20181208_120106.jpg
IMG_20181208_121004.jpg
IMG_20181208_121005.jpg

Not too far from here is Kerosene Creek. it's a natural hot spring area which is famous among the locals as well as the tourist. the road to this place was the worst in my whole trip.
Still a place worth to visit.
IMG_20181208_124102.jpg

IMG_20181208_124306.jpg

Day 4 | Continued...
After this we had an option to go back to Rotorua for Redwoods Treewalk or go to Taupo.
We made ,soon to be proving, the best decision. We headed towards city Taupo. Such a beautiful and peaceful city with a beautiful lake. We spent around 4 hours in the city. Had some lunch and took some pics.
By far i liked this city the most in New Zealand.
IMG_20181208_135033.jpg
IMG_20181208_135035.jpg
IMG_20181208_135409.jpg
IMG_20181208_135411.jpg
IMG_20181208_143305.jpg
IMG_20181208_143307.jpg
IMG_20181208_145032.jpg

Another famous place to go near the city is the Huka Falls. Such beautiful colors.

IMG_4420.JPG

IMG_4421.JPG

Returning back we had the Tamaki Maori Village Tour. Attraction explaining their culture , arts , dance and music shows with a Dinner Buffet at the end. Experience was Mediocre.

IMG_4444.JPG

IMG_4445.JPG

Day 5 | Flight To Christchurch

Reached the EZI car rental kiosk which is present in the airport terminal , paid the amount ( they accept payments only on arrival and not before but will give you confirmation for the booking instantly )and got the keys to this. a 2018 model with 11.5k on the odo. I paid 25400rs for 8 days for the corolla.
IMG_20181209_132039.jpg

IMG_20181209_132341.jpg

Checked in the Crowne Plaza hotel , had some rest and later in the afternoon went out to have some lunch.
IMG_20181209_141312.jpg

IMG_20181209_141319.jpg

IMG_20181209_141326.jpg

IMG_20181209_143736.jpg

IMG_20181209_143737.jpg

IMG_20181209_151301.jpg

IMG_4462.JPG

IMG_4463.JPG

IMG_4464.JPG

IMG_4465.JPG

there's nothing much to do in christchurch besides a beautiful maintained garden and museum.
if you like some gambling there is a casino too and a city tram tour. other than this city is almost dead. we didn't find much people on the road. had some lunch at this place , walked around the city
we saw people in the garden , lots and lots of people.

IMG_4455.JPG

IMG_4458.JPG

IMG_4459.JPG

IMG_4460.JPG

IMG_20181209_165226.jpg

IMG_20181209_165603.jpg

IMG_20181209_171138.jpg

IMG_20181209_171140.jpg

IMG_20181209_172005.jpg

IMG_20181209_173130.jpg

IMG_20181209_173132.jpg

IMG_20181209_174603.jpg

IMG_20181209_175940.jpg

Day 6 | 10th December

Checked out of the hotel to our way to Lake Tekapo. A beautiful Turquoise color lake. This day i drove around 600 kms.
This highway is famous for this flower Lupins and sure they did look beautiful.

IMG_20181210_141616.jpg

The Train Won [lol]
IMG_4482.JPG

IMG_4483.JPG

IMG_4484.JPG

IMG_4485.JPG

Stopped at Farm Shop Cafe to Refresh.
IMG_20181210_125456.jpg

IMG_20181210_125459.jpg

IMG_20181210_125503.jpg

IMG_20181210_130656.jpg

IMG_20181210_130657.jpg

IMG_20181210_135010.jpg

IMG_20181210_135011.jpg

a beautiful highway to drive and every lake i visited had a different color to it and this looked really amazing. You can see how landscape changes.
IMG_4492.JPG

IMG_4495.JPG

IMG_4497.JPG

IMG_4498.JPG

IMG_4502.JPG

Many Chinese tourists were stopping their camper vans like i did to get some photos clicked.

IMG_20181210_141720.jpg

IMG_20181210_141722.jpg

IMG_20181210_141724.jpg

IMG_20181210_141749.jpg

IMG_20181210_141751.jpg

IMG_20181210_142600.jpg

IMG_20181210_142607.jpg

IMG_4518.JPG

IMG_20181210_142614.jpg
IMG_20181210_150319.jpg

IMG_20181210_150321.jpg

IMG_20181210_150901.jpg

IMG_20181210_150903.jpg

IMG_20181210_150904.jpg

IMG_4537.JPG
IMG_4538.JPG

Had a Burger and some Fish and Chips.
IMG_20181210_154031.jpg

IMG_20181210_154033.jpg

I didn't know that there was a stargazing trip at this place where they take you to the darkest places after midnight to experience this. i sure missed the opportunity to
look at this so it's highly recommend that you stop here for one night. plus it will also be less tiring for you.

Day 6 | Continued..
After having lunch we headed towards Mount Cook. Some people also stay here for a night but we skipped it.

Clouds looking like a wave over the mountains.
IMG_4547.JPG
IMG_4548.JPG
IMG_4549.JPG
IMG_20181210_164851.jpg
IMG_20181210_164905.jpg
IMG_20181210_165800.jpg
IMG_20181210_165802.jpg
IMG_20181210_165825.jpg
IMG_4553.JPG
IMG_4555.JPG

After this we headed towards Queenstown. Another set of beautiful roads going towards Queenstown.
IMG_20181210_185509.jpg

IMG_20181210_190318.jpg

IMG_20181210_191347.jpg

IMG_20181210_191353.jpg

IMG_4562.JPG

IMG_4563.JPG
IMG_20181210_200849.jpg
IMG_20181210_210134.jpg

Saw this beautiful sunset close to Queenstown.
IMG_20181210_210346.jpg
IMG_4590.JPG
IMG_20181210_210354.jpg
IMG_20181210_210422.jpg

This is what 10:00 PM looks like in Queenstwon [lol]
IMG_20181210_220635.jpg

Had some Beer and Pizza at the Fat Badgers Pizza and Bar.
IMG_20181210_223552.jpg
IMG_20181210_223554.jpg
IMG_20181210_225019.jpg

Lake Wakatipu at night.
IMG_20181210_231338.jpg

Day 7 | Queenstown | 11th December
We stayed in Novotel hotel. looked good in online pictures but this hotel needed remodeling. the most expensive hotel of the whole trip but it didn't feel worth the money. why was this expensive ? because it was just 50 meters away from the lake.

IMG_20181211_225601.jpg

IMG_4594.JPG
IMG_20181210_234643.jpg

This is what it looked like at around 8:00 AM.
IMG_20181211_074829.jpg

IMG_20181211_074834.jpg

The same place in Afternoon.
IMG_20181211_134305.jpg

After a tiring last day we decided not to do much today , so we roamed around the city had lunch at the famous burger joint Ferburg.

IMG_4600.JPG
IMG_4601.JPG
IMG_20181211_152217.jpg
IMG_20181211_152222.jpg
IMG_20181211_152656.jpg
IMG_20181211_155340.jpg

IMG_20181211_155343.jpg

Also did a jet boat ride from Go Orange Thunderboad ride. Two v8 engines powering this boat [evil]14
25 minutes was sufficient for me. I would have vomited if it was for 1 hour. Obviously we did this before having your lunch at fergburg.

What it's like.

In the evening we decided to do visit Glenorchy and it sure was a mesmerizing ride. some pics attached. You cannot miss this Place.
IMG_20181211_201901.jpg
IMG_20181211_203457.jpg
IMG_20181211_203855.jpg
IMG_20181211_204249.jpg
IMG_20181211_204438.jpg
IMG_20181211_204441.jpg
IMG_20181211_204443.jpg
IMG_20181211_205545.jpg
IMG_20181211_205548.jpg
IMG_20181211_205549.jpg

Got a Tankful at night.
IMG_20181211_221006.jpg
IMG_20181211_221050.jpg

Day 8| 12th December | Milford Sound
This was the best day of the trip. We went to Milford sound. if you didn't see this you did nothing in New Zealand.

Bought Some food items for the road trip.

IMG_20181212_074704.jpg

IMG_4606.JPG
IMG_4607.JPG
IMG_4608.JPG
IMG_4617.JPG
IMG_4618.JPG

Lake Te Anau.
IMG_20181212_103644.jpg
IMG_20181212_103645.jpg
IMG_20181212_103647.jpg
IMG_20181212_112644.jpg
IMG_20181212_112646.jpg

IMG_20181212_112649.jpg

This was a common site throughout New Zealand [lol]
IMG_4621.JPG
IMG_4622.JPG

These relights were often placed near construction sites.
IMG_4626.JPG
IMG_4635.JPG

Wait to be mesmerized [:D]
IMG_4638.JPG

YouTube

IMG_20181212_122616.jpg
IMG_4640.JPG
IMG_20181212_125423.jpg
IMG_20181212_130308.jpg
IMG_20181212_130310.jpg
IMG_20181212_130439.jpg
IMG_20181212_134012.jpg
IMG_4647.JPG
IMG_4656.JPG
IMG_20181212_135827.jpg
IMG_4728.JPG
IMG_4733.JPG
IMG_4744.JPG

IMG_4746.JPG
IMG_4748.JPG
IMG_4785.JPG

Yup , we saw some seals too.
IMG_4791.JPG
IMG_4792.JPG
IMG_4793.JPG
IMG_20181212_150655.jpg

Back to Queenstown.
IMG_4807.JPG
IMG_4809.JPG
IMG_4810.JPG

Need some more fuel.
IMG_20181212_204115.jpg

Have to fill on our own [:D]
IMG_20181212_204121.jpg
IMG_20181212_204124.jpg
IMG_20181212_204601.jpg
IMG_20181212_204759.jpg
IMG_20181212_205831.jpg

Day 9 | 13th December
Aanother Beautiful day and not much to do today. We headed towards the Skyline Gandola and also did luge ride.

Near the Lake.
IMG_4825.JPG

View from The Gandola Ride.
IMG_4833.JPG
IMG_4841.JPG
IMG_20181213_130240.jpg
IMG_20181213_130242.jpg
IMG_20181213_130632_Bokeh.jpg
IMG_20181213_131154.jpg
IMG_20181213_131207.jpg

IMG_20181213_133933.jpg

Lake Wakatipu From Above.
IMG_20181213_134106.jpg
IMG_20181213_135835.jpg

IMG_20181213_135836.jpg
IMG_20181213_140100.jpg

Saw a beautiful sunset and i don't think i would see a sunset like this anywhere else.

Para gliders plus Ducks Plus Sunset. [:D]
IMG_4873.JPG

IMG_20181213_214321.jpg

Stocked Up for the next day ride.
IMG_20181213_203507.jpg

IMG_20181213_203503.jpg
IMG_20181213_203150.jpg

Day 10 | 14th december

The thing is in New Zealand won't get to see the same thing you saw at an earlier place. yes you will see many lakes but each one has a character on its own.
we experienced a lot things on the way.

Did para sailing early in the morning. saved 5000rs choosing to do at this time. Checked out of the hotel and headed towards Franz Josef Glacier.
IMG_20181214_090353.jpg
IMG_20181214_092736.jpg
IMG_4877.JPG

IMG_4885.JPG

Lake Wanaka. Missed the Famous Wanaka Tree Because we didn't want to stop here for long.
IMG_20181214_123808.jpg
IMG_20181214_123810.jpg
IMG_20181214_123841.jpg
IMG_4897.JPG
IMG_4902.JPG

Lake Hawae. Another Beautiful Lake.
IMG_20181214_131051.jpg

IMG_20181214_131137.jpg
IMG_20181214_132746.jpg
IMG_20181214_134248.jpg
IMG_20181214_134252.jpg
IMG_20181214_134914.jpg
IMG_20181214_134918.jpg

Another attraction : Blue Pool Rocks.
IMG_4914.JPG
IMG_4915.JPG
IMG_4916.JPG
IMG_4917.JPG
IMG_4922.JPG

IMG_4923.JPG

Another View Point.
YouTube

After this stopped at Another Viewpoint and Had a small accident while taking the car out. Didn't see a rock , well i couldn't.
IMG_4929.JPG

IMG_4931.JPG
IMG_4932.JPG

Gladly i had taken Full Insurance so Didn't need to pay anything for the damages.
IMG_4933.JPG

After driving further saw these weird looking trees near the Ocean.
IMG_20181214_164431.jpg

Another viewpoint. Knights Viewpoint Lookout
IMG_20181214_171756.jpg
IMG_20181214_171808.jpg
IMG_20181214_171811.jpg
IMG_20181214_171833.jpg
IMG_20181214_174415.jpg
IMG_20181214_174438.jpg
IMG_20181214_175555.jpg
IMG_20181214_180829.jpg
IMG_20181214_184817.jpg