Tata Nexon Test Drive Review

Thread Starter #1
Hello friends

Tata has organized a two day Skill Arena event in my home town Kolkata, and being a Zest owner (after using Maruti for few years), I could not let go off this opportunity to experience this highly anticipated car even before it is launched commercially. So, today, I drove to Aquatica, Kolkata with my son (a car enthusiast and my trusted navigator) to the Nexon Skill Arena.

My apologies, as I am not a professional reviewer, so my review may not meet the members expectations. Another point one should keep in mind while reading, that I had driven, and have been driving, a hatch of Maruti and a compact sedan of Tata, and both are petrol cars. Whereas, the test vehicle was a Diesel, top trim (xz+). So my review may have a bit of influence of this experience, though I have tried to keep the review as subjective as possible.

There are some photos of the TD vehicle attached to this post, all taken with my mobile camera. I am thankful to Tata Motors and Subhadeep Ganguly of R D Motors, Kolkata. The photos are taken after I mercilessly subjected the vehicle on waterlogged, muddy and broken roads. So the look is not actually a reflection of showroom look.

Review

Vehicle: Tata Nexon
Trim: XZ+
(top trim)
Variant: Diesel
Type: Compact SUV (sub 4m)
Location: Tata Nexon Skill Arena, Kolkata and surrounding streets (Aquatica Ground)
Date: 17/09/2017

Exterior:

In my humble opinion, this is one feature which is absolutely relative to personal taste. Still, I am trying to make it as objective as possible.
Comparing with Brezza and EcoSport, Nexon may appear less rugged but more fluid. The coupe like roof-line makes it look different from it's competition. The "cream" colored X really incorporated well in the design language. It does not appear as an extra addition but an integral part of the outer design.