Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel MT Driven

Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel Manual Driven

20150609_161954.jpg

Specs of Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel at a glance

Untitled.png

Maruti Suzuki had launched the Diesel version of Celerio hatchback in India on 03rd June 2015. The prices starting from Rs. 4.65 lakh (ex-showroom Delhi). Please find the variants and price of variants listed below for reference:

The Celerio diesel will be available in four variants – LDi, VDi, ZDi & ZDi (O)

Celerio Diesel LDi: Rs. 4.65 lakh

Celerio Diesel VDi: Rs. 4.95 lakh

Celerio Diesel ZDi: Rs. 5.25 lakh

Celerio Diesel ZDi (O): Rs. 5.71 lakh​

Some Facts about the Maruti Suzuki Celerio:

* First hatchback of Maruti Suzuki to come with an A.M.T Transmission.

* Celerio Diesel has the smallest Diesel Engine so far named DDIS 125 with a fuel efficiency of 27.6 km/L.

* Celerio Diesel at present is only launched with 5 Speed Manual Transmission and no AMT Version given in Diesel Variant.

Brochure of Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel 125 DDIS​

20150609_160159.jpg

20150609_160123.jpg

20150609_174002.jpg

* Continued in next post.

Re: Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel Manual Driven.

The Celerio Variant which I test drove was ZDI (o) that comes equipped with features like ABS and Front Airbags.

Interior Pics

Speedo Console and Center Console

20150609_161417.jpg

20150609_161410.jpg

Seating and In-Cabin Feel

* Seat Fabric is average.

* Legroom in rear not good for tall people (6Ft).

* Front legroom not enough for tall people (6Ft).

* Average under thigh support.

* Dual Tone plastic is provided to ZDI (o) variant.

* Feeling of roominess in the cabin was missing for me.

In Cabin Pics

20150609_161734.jpg

20150609_161659.jpg

20150609_161715.jpg

In-Cabin Close Up

* AC Vents come with Silver finish in ZDI (o) version.

* The Plastic of dash-board was nicely finished.

* Storage Spaces provided are decent.

* Hand Brake level looked too low maybe because of my height

* Gear level placed slightly elevated than conventional position.

* Rear Speaker provisions given in ZDI (o) version.

* The power window switch console was neatly placed and had Black finish.

* Rear passenger seat belts provided in ZDI (o) version.

* Inner Door latch have matte gray finish in ZDi (o) version.

20150609_161600.jpg

20150609_161434.jpg

20150609_161456.jpg

20150609_161506.jpg

20150609_161518.jpg

20150609_161745.jpg

20150609_161624.jpg

20150609_161751.jpg

* Continued in next post.

Some more interior pics: Small but Useful stuff[:)]

20150609_161526.jpg

20150609_161534.jpg

20150609_161613.jpg

20150609_161638.jpg

20150609_161446.jpg

* Glove Box with latch.

* Headlamp level device.

* Roof Lamp

* Day and Night IRVM in ZDi (o)

* A,B,C Pedals

Steering

The steering input and responsiveness was OK. Though the steering looked a rip-off from Maruti's other hatches, it looked similar to Dzire/Swift i.e same 3 spoke one. The ZDI (o) is equipped with steering mounted controls like Bluetooth et al. However, the steering cover on it was totally looked messy even though the cover was single color. The turning of the car was OK but in tight places one needs to put in slight effort to turn the steering. The ease of a power steering seemed missing to me.

20150609_161545.jpg

Engine Bay with under-hood cladding

20150609_162057.jpg

20150609_162103.jpg

Maruti Suzuki launched the Diesel version of Celerio hoping to capture those buyers who look for efficiency and refinement in Diesel. Sadly, It is a huge and literally a HUGE disappointment. A car whose on-road price shall be close to 6 lacs comes with a 2 cylinder, ill-refined diesel engine. Honestly, when it was cranked, I was barely able to make out the difference in a Nano's engine noise and that of Celerio Diesel. I can well understand that Nano and Celerio have no comparison. But having first hand driving experience of both, I must tell you, Celerio diesel is a big disappointment in terms of this diesel engine.

Maruti wanted to roll out a VFM diesel hatch for Indian market, but they totally missed out on refinement. Such poor noise levels is not expected from a brand who sells comparatively more refined diesel cars like Swift and Dzire. I agree that Dzire has 1.3 DDiS and I have driven that too, so there is a huge difference in noise levels. We cant compare engines of both based on power and cubic capacity but refinement is something that could surely be done no matter whether its 600cc or 800cc or for that matter 1.3 DDiS. A big let down. To add to it, the acceleration of the car is also nothing much to be talked about. In simple words, Maruti seems to have messed up big time with hopes of smallest yet efficient 793cc diesel engine.

Ground Clearance and Ride Quality

20150609_162127.jpg

Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel is provided with 165mm. With this ground clearance, the car did not scrap through breakers. The ride was not really comfortable for me since I did not enjoy good legroom.

Tyre and Alloys.

In this respect, the first thing that I noted was the design of alloys. Very sub-standard design on the face of it with JK rubber on them. Also, of all the variants only the ZDI (o) comes with Alloys but the front disc brakes are present in all variants. The tyre spec used by Maruti Suzuki in Celerio are:

Celerio LDI: 155/80 R 13

Celerio VDI and ZDI: 165/70 R 14

20150609_161829.jpg

* Continued in next post

External Lights: Head Lamp, Tail Lamp and Fog Lamp

There is so change in the basic design of the headlamp or tail lamp of Celerio. They continue to have halogen bulbs. In my opinion a car close to 6 Lac should have at least a sane HID provision in headlamps. As of fog lamps, only the ZDI (o) comes equipped with OEM fog lamps.

20150609_161939.jpg

20150609_161913.jpg

20150609_162020.jpg

Wipers: Front and Back

20150609_161849.jpg

20150609_162451.jpg

ORVMs with Body Color and In-built Turn Indicator and Electrical Adjustment.

20150609_161841.jpg

20150609_162558.jpg

Some Salient Features of Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel ZDi (o)

* MID with Distance to Empty, Fuel Consumption Indicator and Digital Clock.

* Tilt Steering

* Headlamp "ON" Reminder (Available in all Variants)

* Tachometer

* Dual Front Airbags and ABS (ZDi gets only Driver Airbag)

* Immobilizer (Available in all Variants)

* Mc Pherson and Torsion Beam Suspension.

* In Built Central Locking.

* Rear Seat 60:40 split.

* 3 Over head grips (Available in all Variants)

* Body Color Door Handles.

* Rear De-fogger

* Accessory Socket (Available in all variants)

Radiator Grill with Chrome insert and front Air Vent

20150609_162006.jpg

20150609_162002.jpg

Roof Mounted Antenna

20150609_162617.jpg

* Continued in next post

Ribbed Roof

20150609_161930.jpg

Rear Ground Clearance from Road

20150609_161816.jpg

Positives Of Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel in my Opinion

* A Diesel Hatch for novice first time buyers or for those who go simply for brand name.

* Good Paint Finish

* Good ASC Network

* Horn is Ok

* AC is good

* Ingress and Egress is fine.

* Braking was good, thanks to the ABS

* Quality of plastic on indicator levers is good.

* In Dash Music System is decent in looks and even sound quality is good.

* Driver side seat height adjustable in ZDI (o)

Negatives Of Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel according to me.

* Un-Refined and Under powered engine.

* Poor Wiper Rubber for front.

* Average Acceleration.

* Pick Up is Jerky

* NVH is poor both in Idle and driving.

* Poor Cabin Insulation.

* Cramped car for tall people

* Average head room

* Odd distribution of safety and comfort features by Maruti as usual.

* A almost 6 Lac car without HID is insane.

* No Flip key provided.

* In ZDI (o) push button start could have been included.

* Non Adjustable headrests in front and rear.

* A 6 Lac Car without rear disc brake is foolish plainly.

Some final pics of the Celerio Diesel ZDI (o)

20150609_161902.jpg

20150609_162443.jpg

20150609_161922.jpg

20150609_161808.jpg

Some Basic Dimensions of the Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel

* Boot Space: 235 Liter

* Fuel Capacity: 35 Liter

* Turning Radius: 4.7mm

* L/B/H/W: 3600/1600/1560/2425(mm)

* Gross Weight: 1310 kg

* Ground Clearance: 165mm

All pics are only for The Automotive India. Any re-use needs full credit to T.A.I

Re: Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel MT Test Drive Review

Note: Thread now live. Thanks for sharing another awesome review!

Nice and fast review. Thanks Akash. As expected, it is unrefined and pricey. So far MSIL did it away with pricey but this time, a 2 cyl in 6L car! I wasn't surprised to read that.

BTW I guess TAI did the first decent review of the diesel celerio and I can't find it anywhere else. Now, I am waiting for detailed review from 350Z!

Nice and fast review. As expected, it is unrefined and pricey.
FD, when I drove this car, to be honest I cursed Maruti alot. For City drives what I as a common driver felt was that in mid range of RPM i.e between 2.5 K to 3K, I found some solace in drive but when driven in 4 or 5th gear, this car was nothing but a shameful experience from a brand that is known to have given much better products. This is genuinely a half-heart-ed attempt by Maruti Suzuki.

Hi Akash, thanks a lot for the review. Was really waiting to read the review from a TAI member.

So as per your feedback, this celerio diesel gonna be a big flop and soon this engine can be expected to be plonked in to the smaller cars like alto800 for reducing the cost and increasing the efficiency and for attracting more users for the entry level cars

Kichu, Maruti is one brand in India that can afford to take such chances. Reason, blind faith of people in it. If they were so hell bent to come up with a Diesel 800cc engine then why didn't they use it in Alto800 or K10 straight away? What was the need to violate the poor Celerio with an unnecessary transplant? I fear one thing i.e its life may turn short like Esteem Diesel and Zen Diesel. This 800cc engine needs a lot of re-work.

Whether it would fail or die shall be seen next month. But as a sane person, if I ever have to even recommend it to anyone, i'll think twice. It might turn to be a average seller, thanks to the rural population in India.

FD, when I drove this car, to be honest I cursed Maruti alot. For City drives what I as a common driver felt was that in mid range of RPM i.e between 2.5 K to 3K, I found some solace in drive but when driven in 4 or 5th gear, this car was nothing but a shameful experience from a brand that is known to have given much better products. This is genuinely a half-heart-ed attempt by Maruti Suzuki.

As I said earlier, it was expected. But still there are people who buy this car w/o any TD. But I doubt it will set the sales chart on fire! I seriously need this to be a history as soon as possible, else our streets will be filled with(which I heavily doubt, because even Nano couldn't do that!) diesel cars and MSIL will go ahead and plonk it in every entry level car it produces. I seriously expect some change like plonking some 3cyl diesel engine like Chevvy & Hyundai did!

If they were so hell bent to come up with a Diesel 800cc engine then why didn't they use it in Alto800 or K10 straight away? What was the need to violate the poor Celerio with an unnecessary transplant?
Alto is top most car sold in India when it comes to sales chart. MSIL will not perform any sort of R&D on that model, on other hand Celerio is not sold that much when compared to Alto hence they tried this Diesel engine into it.

I am sure this car will get sold in 4 digit figures as it carries MSIL brand along with it. Yesterday, i have seen a fine example on how people select their cars while doing test drive of Celerio Vxi Automatic.

Alto is top most car sold in India when it comes to sales, on other hand Celerio is not sold that much when compared to Alto hence they tried this Diesel engine into it.
It is a pathetic experiment RK. With this unrefined diesel engine it would be up-hill to sell it to the buyers who are informed about cars and know how to select a right car.

I am sure this car will get sold in 4 digit figures as it carries MSIL brand along with it. Yesterday, i have seen a fine example on how people select their cars while doing test drive of Celerio Vxi Automatic.
I mentioned this in the review too RK, it will sell for buyers who are first time or novice ones and the second segment it will sell in will be the buyers who as you said go for brand name.

It is a pathetic experiment RK. With this unrefined diesel engine it would be up-hill to sell it to the buyers who are informed about cars and know how to select a right car.

I mentioned this in the review too RK, if will sell for buyers who are first time or novice ones and the second segment it will sell in will be the buyers who as you said go for brand name.

Exactly. Those brand conscious customers are MSILs targets and with such FE figures, they will sell in decent numbers. But not for so long IMO!

Being a Celerio owner and also Maruti customer for long,I had written about some tactics employed by MSIL to sell their cars. MSIL will sell this car in good numbers,as they will take out Ritz Diesel/petrol from their dealerships in the near future.Our "Kitna Detha hai?" people will drool for this vehicle.If at all this idea is a failure,because of some "unnatural " reasons,they will definitely add this engine to Wagon R as a last resort.Just wait and watch.They may not do it with Alto as the body is old design and may not fit for a vibrating diesel engine.That will also cannibalize the existing petrol Alto sales.

Anyway, nice write up Akash.I was not expecting much other than what you wrote.Thanks for the review.