Maintenance of Honda City 1.5 EXI

Thread Starter #1
Hi,

This is my first time so please bear with me. Well due a frequent transferable job, my father got himself a 2nd hand Honda City 1.5 EXI 1999 Type I model. He is the type of person who would just like to fill petrol and drive the car. He doesn't know much. I have started to drive and its just been over a year. I am really a noob about cars and so is my dad. The problem with the car is the fact that it stayed put outside the owner's house more than it was on the road. In 10 years it has made a mere 80K. But since it was kept outside for months, it faced rains and storms and heat and what not keeping in mind the climate of Delhi.

The engine is fine since it hasn't run much and as I understand this model is so good that people have been driving over 150K without any problem. Now every once a while we get a problem in the car and my dad asks me to look at it. Recently we had the radiator changed, engine oil changed, air filters changed. Suspension has also been changed. But every now and then we get some problem or the other and we end up paying 2K-5k to the mechanic on every visit. If you people could help me with what exactly should I get changed and replaced and what all should I ask the mechanic to check up. In Delhi, most mechanics are a rip off and when we gave it to Honda Service they ripped us off with a bill of 20K without even changing the spark plugs.