Air Conditioner and Overheating Problem!

Thread Starter #1
Friends,

Recently I have started noticing that the AC stops functioning after a run of 50-60 kms on my 2010 Ford Figo. This is followed by overheating warning, which goes away after I switch off the air conditioner. Yesterday, I tried turning on the AC again and within a span of 2-3 minutes the overheating warning came up again. I turned off the AC and soon the warning light went off.

The Air conditioner works perfectly fine in short drives, irrespective of the outside temperature. This makes me believe that there is no issue with the compressor and the overall Air con system must be fine.

I think the issue is somehow related to the heating up of car and there is some part that stops functioning at higher temperature. I am a novice with very limited technical knowledge of automobiles. I request the fellow members to provide their insights on this.

allhyundaicars

Honoured Member
Just open the bonnet of your car. Ask someone else to start the car and then after a minute turn on the AC.

The fan should start and you will hear it's noise. Like gaddam said if it's not working car will overheat.

Also check the level and quality of coolant. If it's low then top up and if you feel it's just water then refill.

Reasons for fan not working.
*Getting stuck somewhere.
*The motor that starts the fan has gone kapoot.

If the fan is working properly get the thermostat valve checked.

Thread Starter #5
Thanks friends for your advice.

I have checked the coolant level and it is fine. Will check the AC condensor fan today.

Same issue happened with one of my friend's SX4 Diesel.

The culprit was there was no coolant in the coolant tank. Service centre guys forgot to refill the coolant after draining.

Whenever the AC cuts off, the Engine heat needles shoots up.

Thread Starter #7
Dear TAIgers, Many thanks for your valuable inputs.