Maruti 800 (2004) Restoration Advice

Thread Starter #1
My fellow TAI'ians,

This is Kashif from Bangalore. I am 36 years old. I am a Mechanical Engineer by education and now work as a Service Delivery Manager with an ICT firm. I have just returned back to India after a 4 year stint working in Johannesburg, South Africa. I used to drive a 2008 FIAT Palio SDX which I sold prior to my departure in Sep 2011.

Now that I'm back to my home base, I don't have a car handy other than my late father's 2004 M800. I'm planning an extensive rejuvenation/ modification program keeping a budget of around 1.5 lakhs initially with a further leeway of around Rs. 50k to rectify anything which might present itself after a couple of months of the upgrade.

I stay at Nagawara (opp. Manyata Tech Park) on the outer ring road and I'm looking for advice on a trusted service centre /workshop where I can carry out some of the upgrades/servicing of the car as well as a parts store where I can source genuine M800 parts needed.

These are some of the things that I plan to address off the top of my mind:

1. Complete Mechanical & Electrical overhaul - Engine, Gearbox, Differential, Suspension, AC, Wiring, etc
2. Tyre upgrade - Wider width tyres but on the original re-chromed/new rims
3. Painting - Same red shade
4. Power windows installation
5. Upholstery - Faux leather seats, door pads and gear lever gaiter
6. Reverse parking sensor
7. Headlight lamps upgrade
8. Changing the headlights, rear lights and indicators as they are "fogged-up" with condensation
9. Gear lever length increase and gear lever knob upgrade
10. OVRMs upgrade to ones with integrated blinkers/Alto 800
11. Side sills/scuff plates
12. Rear body coloured spoiler
13. Remote fuel-lid opening mechanism
14. Remote boot opening mechanism
15. Rear windshield washer/wiper installation
16. Once the above are done, I'm hoping of going through any others that may be suggested by you & the others who have trudged this same path earlier