Maruti Suzuki Swift Performance: Petrol (85 BHP) vs Diesel (75 BHP)

Thread Starter #1
this is the never ending debate of petrol vs diesel engine
but i want to know the performance of petrol vs diesel engines of swift
3 months before
here one of my friend is having a taxi tavera, one day some emergency happend to some one and rushed to hospital
Doctor told them to go to hyderabad city for immediate medical attention so they called my friend(he is a good driver)
and asked for his help,there is no time to think,and the uncle who is in emergency is having a swift vdi
and my friend chose that for faster driving and he is in Hyderabad only in 3 hours,total distance 270 kms(160km 2lane road lotsof overtaking+110 km 4lane road)
and that uncle is ok and saved and thanked my driver friend
#so swift diesel is powerful and good torque
but how is it comparable to swift petrol
and swift petrol torque is very low compared to diesel
does it effect in highway performance ??
im a noob in this bhp and torque topics
so please explain!!

Last edited:
Re: 85hp vs75hp or petrol vs diesel engine in swift

SWIFT Diesel has a turbocharger which when kicks in gives a sudden lift to vehicle to gain a good speed on accelerating. If you know about how turbocharger works then it is quite simple to understand the diesel performance over petrol. And SWIFT driving dynamics has always impressed the crowd.

SWIFT diesel is long time proven car on INDIAN roads. There are many other cars which performs great on INDIAN roads. And last its not car which win the race, its the driver.

Thread Starter #3
yeah its the driver [:)]
i know about turbocharger,saw a video and some docs
in 5th gear when overtaking accelerating from 40kmph to 80kmph whick one will be quicker
compared with turbocharged diesel how the petrol stands
because im buying petrol swift thats why im curious about it
[thinking]

yeah its the driver [:)]
i know about turbocharger,saw a video and some docs