Maruti Wagon-R Front Suspension Overhaul

Thread Starter #1
Hi,
I have a Wagon R 2008 vxi. Its preowned two different mechanics & the service center told me that the front suspension needs work. Being a new driver, i cant really tell. But the car does wobble a bit at very low speeds & the ride is a bit noisy. My regular mechanic told me the job is not urgent. So my question is, how do i know when its time to update the suspension?

Ameyam

Dose the suspension make any noise when you turn the steering to full lock while driving? Does it make any noise when the wheels go in a pothole? Does the car track straight on a straight road when you take your hands off the steering wheel? Are the front tyres wearing out evenly? Put the car on the jack so that the front wheels are off the ground and try to yank the wheel(s) forwards and backwards - if there is a significant motion then yes the car needs a suspension job.

How many km has your car covered? You are saying that you are a new driver, so assuming that yours is a new car, a suspension job seems highly unlikely.

Answer all the above questions and then we shall proceed further.

Thread Starter #3
The suspension makes a grunting sound when taking the car out of full lock, especially during parking. It also makes a bit of rattle going over pot holes. At about 70kmpl the left front starts to vibrate. Something also rattles around on rough roads but I am not entirely sure where that sound is coming from. The car does drive straight though and the wheels seen to have even wear

My car is nearing 40K km. Its not new, its 2nd hand. I bought it last November but only got the confidence to take it out on the highway in May. Thats why I am not sure. But my mechanic is sure it needs the suspension overhauled.