Is High Speed Driving OK For Tube Type Tyres?

Thread Starter #1
Hello everybody. I have been using tubeless tyre since last two years and problem is that front right side tyre becomes half flat after every two three days. I checked at tyre shop and was told that rim is slight bent and that was causing air leakage. I dont know where to repair this bent rim and also the stepene tyre rim is bent. Any way i dont want to irritate myself wasting time in repairng these bents and all. So finally i have decided to replace these tubeless tyres with tube tyres (ony front two tyres). Ok now problem is that i have heard that tube tyres are not ok with high speeds especially in summer season and also on concrete roads. Is that true? [confused]. Usually i drive at 70kmph speed but some time i go for 90 and above at long drives. It is said that 80 kmph speed is ok for tubetyres under any conditions. So please some body expert tell me whether high speed is ok for tube tyres? will they burst above 80 kmph speed? (especially in summer season)

Re: Is high speed ok for tube tyres?

Running on bent rims with tube type or tubeless tires is not recommended. Why do you want to compromise with your safety by not repairing those rims. You can easily get them repaired at local workshop. It wont take much of time.
As for driving speeds for tube type tires, 90kmph is definitely safely achievable however you shouldnt try it with those bent rims.

Last edited:

allhyundaicars

Honoured Member

I agree with akash, get the rims fixed. Will cost 150-200 rupees max per tyre if you get it done with a machine.

And if you buy tube , put those tyres at the rear and not in the front.

Yes getting it repaired is better or get a new set of rims.
regarding the speed , i feel any speed above 100 is not safe for our roads.

Thread Starter #6