1995 Maruti 800 Restoration - Seeking Assistance

Thread Starter #1
Hi guys,

First, I am completely new to the four wheels while still enjoying two wheels. Recently bagged a 95 M800 for mastering the driving skills. Initial idea was to learn and to scrap it after 6 months but somehow developed a liking for this wonderful mill. So decided to restore it to the best possible condition.

Initial Issues in observed in the car

1. Steering not stable. Have to tilt it slightly left to keep the car running straight. Also the steering is very tight and difficult to handle.
2. Absolutely no brakes.
3. Headlights completely useless in illumination.
4. Highly tight clutch.
5. LHS front door not closing completely. A inch of gap is there on top of the door.
6. Several leakages in the front seat area of the car and esp literally water is pouring below the dashboard during rains but cant find any holes over there.
7. The Self starter is making too much noise while starting.
8. The temperature and fuel gauge is working but the the speedometer is not working.
9. Rusting on several places of the car.
10. Lots of free play from the gear stick.
11. Terribly bad interiors.
12. All glasses are dull and not so clear.
13. Engine is in good condition but the performance is not up to the mark.
14. But can find slight traces of white smoke while accelerating too much in neutral.
15. Lots of noise during ride in the interiors.
16. Parking brakes not working.
17. Main door lock is not working properly.
18. Ride is little bumpy.
19. Low FE, close to 10kmpl.

The problem is I cannot find a proper mechanic in Chennai to fix up the things and they are too pricey. For instance, the mechanics are quoting 3000RS for rectifying brakes as it has lathe work to be done. I am sure this will cost within 1000RS.

I would also like to repaint the car so that to make it brand new.