SX4 Overheated; Service Center Says Engine Head Damaged

Thread Starter #1
I have a Mumbai registered SX4 ZXi. Normally I stay in Gujarat and give the car there for service to a small Maruti authorised station.
Last week the car came back from 50K service. After a couple of days, on the way to Mumbai I suddenly noticed the temperature gauge at H and immediately took car on the side and the engine just stopped. On opening bonett, the radiator cap had come off (was on the side) and coolant was spilled all over, there was smoke from radiator. I let the car cool, later added a little coolant I had and managed to start car after a few tries. parked at nearest dhaba and called for tow truck and took to Mumbai to a reputed Maruti authorised service center. The car was also purchased from them but only the free services done there, rest in Gujarat. Car is almost 3 years old and I had got Lovato kit fitted by their distributor last year, passed by RTO.
Now, after keeping the car for 5 days, the service center guy tells me the head is damaged and needs replacement. He says the car seems to have run without coolant and hence this problem.
Total estimate is almost 94K!!! Of this 82K is for head, gasket, oil seal, replacement etc and other are smaller things.
I was going pretty fast on the highway and unfortunately did not glance at the temperature gauge early. But can this cause so much damage?
The service center also tells me that since I have fitted CNG outside, warranty is void, is this true?
Can we trust their word for it? Do have any option other than getting the head replaced?

Re: SX4 overheated, Service center says engine head damaged

Hi jesrani,
Sad to hear that. My Zen had the same complaints and was diagnosed late,I had to shell out 25000 to change the head gasket.CNG if not factory fitted will void warranty. My FNG will let me know the approximate costs involved by tomorrow.
Regards,
Aneesh.

Re: SX4 overheated, Service center says engine head damaged