Things You Can Do Only On Indian Roads!. This is a discussion on Things You Can Do Only On Indian Roads! within Road Safety & Driving Sense. Part of The Rev Zone category; Quote:
Originally Posted by swadesh
I was thinking for a while, that how can he possibly see what's behind him ... |
22nd March 2016, 08:34 PM
|
#571 | V8
| Re: Things You Can Do Only On Indian Roads! Quote:
Originally Posted by swadesh I was thinking for a while, that how can he possibly see what's behind him !! | May be he had a reverse camera tucked in or fitted inside the Mahindra Logo. |
| |
23rd March 2016, 09:36 AM
|
#572 | V6
Originally Posted by nmm mithra May be he had a reverse camera tucked in or fitted inside the Mahindra Logo.  | That's a possibility, why to bother with looking in rear view, when you can watch it all live on Screen ! He was anyhow way to busy watching some dance number on a overhead LCD which was right at the place of rear view mirror ! |
| |
23rd March 2016, 10:00 AM
|
#573 | V8
Award Points: 10
Originally Posted by swadesh That's a possibility, why to bother with looking in rear view, when you can watch it all live on Screen ! He was anyhow way to busy watching some dance number on a overhead LCD which was right at the place of rear view mirror ! | So you guys meant to say rear view mirror IRVM is used only when someone is reversing their vehicle?  . A camera can't replace the whole purpose of having a rearview mirror IMHO. |
| |
23rd March 2016, 10:04 AM
|
#574 | V6
Originally Posted by Lameassonwheels So you guys meant to say rear view mirror IRVM is used only when someone is reversing their vehicle?  . A camera can't replace the whole purpose of having a rearview mirror IMHO. | Nope, that's a stupid idea to do. It was just a Pun, on part of the driver/ It's neither justified nor suggested/supported. |
| |
30th March 2016, 02:20 AM
|
#575 | V8
| Re: Things You Can Do Only On Indian Roads! Few random facts related to trucks came to my mind when I saw a too colorful long route truck the other day!. I think these can be done only on Indian roads.
1) A wedge shaped wooden block is kept on the acclerator pedal on long highways to give drivers some relief for their legs. Desi alternative for the "cruise control" function.
2) The hood part of the cabin and the trailer itself is made of wood in trucks.
3) The exterior of some of the trucks will be painted in bright carnival colors and the cabin interior will carry some colorful and intricate art work. |
| |
8th April 2016, 02:07 AM
|
#576 | V10
Award Points: 20
| Re: Things You Can Do Only On Indian Roads! Honk & yell at traffic to move at a red signal as an Ambulance is wailing behind you (hey maybe you can slip away with it too!)
2 minutes later you find the Ambulance driver on a side road drinking tender coconut!
This is a real incident which happened two weeks ago when my mother was at a signal at a narrow construction zone(Devegowda petrol pump,ring road). If it was me,I would have clicked a pic & posted it on Traffic police FB page. |
| |
12th April 2016, 09:26 AM
|
#577 | V6
| Re: Things You Can Do Only On Indian Roads! 1. Nobody will have the basic common sense to stop and wait when you reverse especially pedestrians.
2. Police will not care about the road side food vendor and his cart which is exactly on the place where you take a u turn, but if you hit and kill them media will make you famous, worse if you drive a bmw/audi/merc. |
| |
12th April 2016, 04:01 PM
|
#578 | V10
Originally Posted by chevrolet 1. Nobody will have the basic common sense to stop and wait when you reverse especially pedestrians.
2. Police will not care about the road side food vendor and his cart which is exactly on the place where you take a u turn, but if you hit and kill them media will make you famous, worse if you drive a bmw/audi/merc. | 1) I once saw this Skoda Rapid fellow wait almost 5 mins to reverse out of a spot as traffic was that bad,Just as he got a clearing two pedestrians(guys) forcibly rushed behind the car,and he was stuck again as traffic closed in,driver got out of his car & started yelling like crazy,pedestrians were making faces like puppy 
2) Yes the way media portrays high end German cars it gives you a feeling of a filthy rich fellow who is evil of society but sometimes as i saw a recent car accident it could be a worthless 8 to 10 year old used car. |
| |
20th May 2016, 05:24 PM
|
#579 | V8
| Re: Things You Can Do Only On Indian Roads! Half of the traffic jams in this country are caused by people who stop their vehicles in middle on roads to witness fights and on top of it asks "Bhaisaab, baat kya ho gayi?" (Whats the matter bro?) |
| |
21st May 2016, 11:06 AM
|
#580 | V8
| Re: Things You Can Do Only On Indian Roads! No offense meant to Pune-ites.
But i havent seen a worse city yet, like Pune, where traffic signals means nothing to most of them riding / driving around. And even worse, driving / riding wrong side of the road, even with Police around who seem not bothered by these activities.
And everybody wants to be on the going, even if there is a long traffic queue, second lane builds up, leading to utter chaos, nobody moving an inch. And when you try to intervene, foul languages and dirty looks come from all directions. Grow up people!
Heights of Educated illiteracy.   |
| |
21st May 2016, 05:33 PM
|
#581 | V6
Originally Posted by bReeze AkA brIo No offense meant to Pune-ites.
But i havent seen a worse city yet, like Pune    | I had the same reaction when I visited Pune. The way the 4-wheelers squeezed in the gaps and drove like maniacs was just ridiculous. In my city the same is done by 2-wheelers. But damn. Pune is in a different league.
I just returned from Konkan yesterday. Palghar to be exact. People were patient, drove nicely apart from the occasional rash teenager on a KTM. |
| |
21st May 2016, 09:11 PM
|
#582 | V8
| Re: Things You Can Do Only On Indian Roads! ^^^^ A little OT but the problem in Pune is probably more severe due to the lack of "ring roads" which are basically wide bypass roads in the form of circles outside the current outermost boundaries and highways to the city.
Right now the way I see it pretty much all the traffic coming or connecting from/to the highways Ahmednagar <==> Shirdi/Nasik(NH50) <==> Mumbai Expressway <==> Bangalore highway & any other highways, Pretty much everything wades/passes right through the city even if they have no business in the city and just in transit which adds to the chaos multifold I believe. Experienced it myself a few times so I know what its like.
Last edited by IndicaDLS2002; 21st May 2016 at 09:14 PM.
|
| |
22nd May 2016, 08:58 AM
|
#583 | V10
Award Points: 60
| Re: Things You Can Do Only On Indian Roads! ^ Agreed,
Pune city design is terribly outdated and overloaded. Road planning isn't proper.
There isn't place to build new or wider roads as everything is jam packed.
Ironic, as some of the most intelligent people are said to reside in pune.
Only solution is to Think High- Make Jetsons type Floating Bridges & Building to Building Roads/Walks. |
| |
22nd May 2016, 11:40 AM
|
#584 | V8
| Re: Things You Can Do Only On Indian Roads! ^^ Interesting, a simple google search led me to this below, its already in the works was approved in 2007 by the then CM and seems still stuck in survey stages, might take a decade or more to complete at earliest from what I have seen in other cities. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pune_Ring_Road
If you read the Introduction section on wikipedia it all makes sense to me now. http://72.78.249.126/SakaalTimesBeta...130970_Org.jpg
Last edited by IndicaDLS2002; 22nd May 2016 at 11:54 AM.
|
| |
22nd May 2016, 06:40 PM
|
#585 | V10
Award Points: 60
| Re: Things You Can Do Only On Indian Roads! 2007?
maybe they'll complete it when people are already using jetpacks or teleportation to get around! |
| | Thread Tools | Search Thread | | | All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:16 PM. |