Tips and Experiences on Riding a Motorbike Safely

Thread Starter #1
I have had some experience with two wheelers myself (Bajaj Spirit - 3 Yrs; 16000 kms & Bajaj Pulsar 150 DTSi - 5 and half years; 72,710kms and still counting)

Based on my experience, I would like to classify one person's motorcycle riding into 5 phases:

1) Learning Phase - We learn, so we have fear, we respect the bike, respect the rules, stay away from crowd, speed, congestion and try to get acquainted with the bike

2) Acquaintance Phase - We get confident about our driving, expose ourselves a bit courageously to the roads with traffic , we take friends with us. But still we follow the rules and we donot try to drive fast. Not yet says the mind!. We also think that we have gotten acquainted with the vehicle, but the process has not even started to be true!

3) Practice Phase - This is when we have nearly completed around 4 to 5K kms in our rides. Time to show-off says the heart! The mind sometimes takes the other stand but Heart always wins and there you go, SPEEDING, WHEELIES, STOPPIES, RACING, HAPAZARD TURNS; we get time to think about our bike and it's place in the crowd but we are not mature enough to think about the position/reaction of others on the road. We take less care about traffic signals/rules at this point in time

Doing such things at this point in one's riding cycle have high risk of accidents, self and collateral damage and also attracts highest degree of attention both positive and negative ways[evil]

guys and friends at college hail you girls and few others call you a mere show-off

4) Real Acquaintance Phase - This is when you and your bike have been with each other for say an year and half or nearly 20000kms (depends highly on the mindset of the person)