What Are Our Rights on the Road When Pulled Over By Traffic Police?

Thread Starter #1
I am new to the Indian roads. I find the condition to be very unruly for all, be it a two wheeler or light motor vehicle or heavy duty vehicles. Add to this problem, when we go as correctly as possible, there are the occasional police officers who stop the vehicle and pretend to do their job.

Once, in Coimbatore, near the Ramanathapuram Junction, a traffic police officer pulled me over and went on with some strange rules whose authenticity i cannot verify at that point of time. To quote an example, he said i did not stop where he told me to. In fact, I put the indicator and pulled the car safely to the shoulder where i could park it just 1 meter ahead of the point he was standing. He termed this as an offence based on defiance. [frustration]

Given this unpleasant experience, i want to know the rights we have on the roads as drivers which we can exercise when a cop pulls us over. What papers should we show and is there a time frame to abide by? What do we not need to present? Is there an emergency contact 24/7 to call and seek help before paying the fine if it is on spot? What should be furnished by the traffic police in return for a fine? Can we video tape the incident? What proof can a common citizen have in hand if he is being unfairly treated? Does police officers have the right to pull us over or is it only the traffic police?[confused]

Please share your comments for the awareness of all. Thanks.[:)]

You will get the info you need, from this link here. Summary is:

• If you have not violated any traffic law, the traffic police cannot stop you just to ''check your documents.
  • As per law, a traffic constable cannot check your documents, it has to be done by an ASI rank officer or above.