Met with a Small Accident.

Thread Starter #1
I originally came here discussing this http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...g-sense/16374-met-accident-quite-serious.html . But not I am glad to say this issue is resolved.

I know some of you must be thinking I'm a bad driver and quite a few said I should get a driver because driving in India is "not easy" implying that I don't have driving skills. (Although people from developed countries would disagree and say that driving without following the rules as many do in India is due to a lack of driving skills and to be skilled is to follow the rules). Anyway since that thread previously I have not had any major incidents and have had only 2 collisions in addition to those mentioned in my old thread. One was a long time back and one just yesterday.

The 1st one, I failed to brake in time and hit a car that had just turned in front of me. This is settled now and it was a very small collision.

Yesterday, I was driving and wanted to turn into the left most lane from a center lane. At the side of the road there were parked cars (at a 45 degree angle to the road). I checked for traffic and found it clear and turned in the lane. However as soon as I turned in, there was a car reversing backwards from the parking into the lane right in front of my car. I hit the back corner of the car and the car got pushed forward into another parked car.

Considering that my car was completely in the lane at the instant of impact and the other guy's car was not (it was partially in the parking), whose fault is it? The driver of the completely parked car that was stationary said she believed that the guy who was reversing was at fault. But the guy reversing says its my fault. Advice please? Is it better to pay for damage or go through insurance.

Thread Starter #2
Any opinions on fault. I think its better to go with insurance anyway. I was completely in the lane before impact and had entered the lane maybe 5 seconds before the collision.