My Red Arrow - Honda City V MT

Thread Starter #1
[:D] I cant help but start with a smiley.. On 22nd Oct I took delivery of a Honday City VMT model. Within a week the car has literally grown on me and the amount of excitement it generates while driving & or even when stationary is something which am not able to explain in words. In short it brings out the child in me [embarass]. Color is Carnelian Red Pearl and I have named it "Red Arrow".

Pardon me for any mistakes as its my first ownership thread.

Search...

Search for a new car started almost 6 months back. I have been driving a Santro for the past 8 years and it has served me & my family well to the core all these days.. Absolutely no complaints.. Car never let me down even during my numerous long drives to Kerala. But being a hatchback it has its limitations, not so confidence inspiring at speeds above 100, not-so-great suspension, luggage space ("Travel Light" is not in my family's dictionary), back seat comfort and leg space. Suddenly the seed of desire was sown in my mind and I started seriously thinking about a bigger & powerful car. Wifey and my parents tried to remove this seed right from the beginning, well they were successul only to the extent of postponing my decision by 5 months.

Now came the million dollar question - Diesel or Petrol? Did some calculations based on my current usage and arrived at a figure of around 1000 KMs running per month ..Thought I will stick with Petrol and for a diesel I will have to stretch my budget.

My priorities were
1) Good engine (Smooth & Stable at speeds above 100-120). Excellent drivability in the city as well.
2) Comfort (Driver & Backseat)
3) Good looking
4) After Sales Service
5) Creature Comforts

Cars shortlisted and test driven (entirely my views)

VW Vento

+ ves
a) Solid build
b) Superb handling and brakes
c) Interior space
- ves
a) Not so inspiring engine. Petrol engine on offer not a patch of its diesel sibling.
b) Interiors too bland for my taste.