Meet My Pal - Volkswagen Polo 1.2 Petrol Highline

Thread Starter #1
Volkswagen Polo 1.2 Petrol Highline

Humble submission first: In the field of motoring, I am not an enthusiast, but I wish of becoming so. I have tried to explain my ownership in simple, non-technical words. All I can say is that I love driving and every part of it.

Background: I had been driving dad's Wagon-R for 4 years satisfactorily. Though a few issues of alignment and balancing used to pop up now and then, for which I blame the roads of my city. Everything was fine till October 2011 when I got a big reason for getting a new car- Marriage!
I wanted something that would upgrade me from the current vehicle within budget of 6 lakhs, suitable for a small family that I was about to start and of course appear brand new for a brand new life.

From the starting itself, I was not inclined towards a diesel vehicle. I expected running to be too low to draw advantages of diesel engine; and high maintenance, the diesel odor, noise etc. did belong to my perception about diesel ones.

So petrol hatches that were on my mind (at the start) in order of preference:
Honda Jazz -> Hyundai i20 -> Maruti Swift -> Ford Figo -> Fiat Punto -> VOlkswagen POLO

Test Drives:

Jazz: Straight away I was denied of any expected delivery of Jazz by March 2012. I Tried Brio but didn’t like it coz of less pick up, less space and flat rear appearance.

Figo: I had a TD of Figo earlier while deciding for my friend’s car. I knew I wanted something better than Figo’s interiors and better acceleration. Figo's low pick-up and bland interiors made me pass it.

Swift: I had already driven a friend’s swift, and I quite liked it. But too many of them on road. Why not try others?

Polo: I took slots for test drive of i20 and Polo in Noida, as both the showrooms were nearby.