Our 'LUV' Maruti Ertiga ZDi 30,000 Kms & Counting

Our 'LUV' Ertiga ZDi 30,000 Kms & Counting

***We are closing to 30,000 kms in our ERTIGA ZDI(purchased in jan 2015). here is an overall experience of buying and owning***

1.CHOICE - After using 2 scorpio's from past 5 years decide to go with a big car as well with fuel efficiency. As our monthly run is close to 4000 kms (aprox 2500 kms in highway and 1500 kms locally) we need a diesel motor. Hence considered ERTIGA zdi which would be perfect match for our requirement and went for a test drive and we are very impressed with ride quality,handling & braking. But space and comfort levels are less compared to scorpio.

2.BOOKING & DELIVERY - On the same day of test drive (14th dec 2014) we book our ERTIGA zdi silver colour in jaya lakshmi automobiles in our town(ongole). Price quote is around 10.5 lacks with bumper to bumper zero dep^ insurence and they offered with a year end discount of 30k and accessories worth 10k for free. after ten days of booking (on 24th dec) our car arrived to the showroom and done a quick PDI. Car is perfect with out any defects and issues and manufactured in dec as well.
IMG_20141225_130011.jpg

On 26th we took the delivery and drove our new machine home and did a pooja in near by hanuman temple next day. The overall delivey experience was smooth.
IMG_20141226_141147.jpg
IMG_20141226_141222.jpg

Because of our business in vizag and hyderabd we used to travel to these places once in a month for a stay of 5 to 6 days. After using ertiga for 8 months which included 5 to 6 highway trips from ongole-vizag which is around 600 kms one side and 5 to 6 times ongole-hyderabad which is around 350 kms one side and we went to tirupathi balaji temple twice and chennai and recently to godavari puskharalu etc.. and our stays in vizag and hyderabad give us a chance to check out the behaviour of ertiga in city conditions.
IMG_20141230_114825.jpg
IMG_20150521_155150.jpg

OBSERVATIONS-
1. ENGINE – Refined, rev happy diesel plus very impressive mileage. It has wonderful highway behaviour. You will be hard pressed to make out that this is a diesel engine given the peppiness. There is hardly any noise and the only time you realise there is a diesel is the slight shudder when switching it off.

2.CABIN SPACE – it is an amazing use of space. All seats have good knee room, shoulder space and outside visibility. The flexibility of 60:40, the full flat feature is good.

3. AC- The AC unit works well and effectively cools the cabin across. In ANDHRA at temperatures of 42-43 (summer) the AC was effective.It would be nice if it is automatic as in swift dezire. Middle row ac vents are very usefull

4.DRIVEABILITY – It is an easy drive, the drive sits at a high driving position, good responsive steering, light clutch and good acceleration

5.GEAR SHIFT – This is smooth. Short throw and slots well. The clutch is light. The 4 th gear is able to take speeds from as low as 30 to 100 plus.

6. BRAKES – This is the really nice part. ABS with EBD makes a significant difference to braking. The good part is ABS is now standard in all variants. The braking is assured, no fuss, effective and tension free.

7.FUEL ECONOMY – A full tank gives us about 620-625 kms. Overall average of our's is around 17. On highway it is around 18 and 16 in city

8.SOUND SYSTEM – With 6 speaker the OEM sound system (in ZDI) is pretty impressive. The lightweight Nippon speakers do a good job. The USB and aux work very well. And CD also works well. The remote even works pretty neat.

9.STEERING-Steering is very light and it offer good confidence in triple digit speeds. Because of light clutch and steering it is easy to drive in city traffic

10.BOOT SPACE-Boot space is very limited with the third row(135 lts). But when we fold the third row there is sufficient space. We can foold second middle row too.
IMG_20150811_182406.jpg

PRO'S

1-Very spacious car( great amount of headroom for front 5 passengers and average for rear 2)
2-You will get Airbags+Abs+Ebd+Good stereo and alloys
3- Good re-sale value
4-Maruti A.S.S
5- Decent mileage in both Petrol & Diesel.
6-Good ac with middle row vents.

CON'S

1- 135 lts boot with 7 passengers
2- Diesel Ertiga is sluggish untill 1800rpm
3-Leg room with 7 people is a issue

ACCESSORIES ADDED-Reverse camera and 7' inch screen with bluetooth connectivity costed around 6k and parking sensors costed around 2.5k and RTA approved garware sunfilm. From the showroom itself we added seat coverS and body cover for as they promise accessories worth 10k for free. And after 6 months we added front and back bumpers and corner protectors and door protectors costed around 10k.
IMG_20150901_142609.jpg
IMG_20150901_142517.jpg
IMG-20150523-WA0005.jpg

To sum up, ERTIGA is a good family car from well known maruti suzuki brand with suv like space and comfort(5 seats) and sedan like price, milage, maintainence and especially drivability. Car is very light and fun to drive.

Re: OUR 'LUV'-MARUTHI ERTIGA ZDI 30000 kms & counting

Welcome to the Ertiga club ji.
Great to know that your Luv has clocked so much in such short term.
It's a gem of a car. I would suggest you to remove those front bull bars since it will hamper the functioning of airbag in the event of collision and will render the feature useless. Such metal bull bars will also do high levels of damage to the chassis and severely reduces safety and will make you spend a lot more money for repair. The stock bumpers are designed to absorb the accident force without transferring into the cabin. These metal bars will make them useless. So I suggest you to remove atleast the front bars for maximum safety. Also remember to fasten your seat belts. Not only the front passengers but everyone in the car must. Airbags are useful only wen seatbelts are fastened.
Wishing you more thousands of Luvly miles! You have made a great choice!