My 'X' Comes Home! Pre-owned BMW X3 Ownership Review. This is a discussion on My 'X' Comes Home! Pre-owned BMW X3 Ownership Review within Ownership Reviews. Part of The Automotive Reviews category; Quote:
Originally Posted by bhvm
Fantastic review and pics CLJ,
31 Lac is quite a steep price you paid, But ... |
9th March 2015, 12:54 PM
|
#16 | V6
| Re: My 'X' Comes Home! Pre-owned BMW X3 Ownership Review Quote:
Originally Posted by bhvm Fantastic review and pics CLJ,
31 Lac is quite a steep price you paid, But you guess its totally worth it!
1>Since you also own an XUV 500,
I am very interested in the difference between Indian made vehicle and a German.
How's the performance? Can by any means a slighty Modified (ECU remap, Susp upgrade, FFE) XUV 500 come close to the x3 performance?
2>How about the gadgets?
I've seen that many lower BMW models skip the touch screen, GPS and mobile app. XUV has all that for HALF the price.
3>Are there any niggling issues or service problems with Such a premium brand?
4> What FE you're getting?
5>Any plans to replace the runflats with regular tubless?
6> I see some very sweet deals on Used 3 or 5 series 6 litre sedans around 15~20 lacs. Any reason to stay away? |
Dear bhvm, I will be most happy to answer your queries. Just one thing my friend, who told you that I own an Xuv? But anyways since I have extensively test driven Xuv I can answer all your questions
The major differences are- quality,engine,looks,badge,the zf transmission and the list is endless buddy. Seriously you really can't compare a 45 lakh car to a 15 lakh car.
Modify the xuv all you want friend. The X3 will always run circles around it, always.
No BMW comes with touchscreen. And most variants come with navigation and there is a mobile app called connected drive. Does xuv come with driving modes? DRLS? The LEDs are parking lamps.
Dual projectors? Traction control? Bro don't think that xuv is more equipped than a X3, if you spend the money then I assure you that the car does redeem it in all ways be it engine , features or anything else you can think of.
We are yet to see about the long term ASS but when we got X3 checked, the staff was very helpful and friendly from the SA TO THE GM.
Bro, don't buy a BMW if you care about FE. This will hurt your heart if you have never driven a big car but I can safely say that the FE won't surprise since you also have a Fortuner. City is around 10 kmpl and on decent highway driving will give you 19 kmpl. I have also recorded that mileage.
No plans to change the runflats to tubeless because we won't be putting a tubeless spare tyre so if we do put tubeless and there is a puncture then we are really stuck s no changing to tubeless.
My friend do plz pm me the deals so that I can check the car. If you are getting some great deals then my only request would be to get it checked by BMW. They will charge you 6500 and will give you a final OK for the car. Then proceed with the deal. Like I sad pm me the deals so that I can tell you whether you should go for it or not. I will also search for some deals and inform you about the same. |
| |
9th March 2015, 01:30 PM
|
#17 | V6
Originally Posted by vijay_968 Congrats CLJ. A great car and what a passionate ownership review  . Your X3 cost you 31.5L with not even 10,000 km on the Odo. Compare THAT with the ~ 50L price for the facelift.This is the sweetest of the deals, I'd say. I wish you and your family many a great, happy & safe miles on this fantastic ride. BTW, is that a padded Glove Box ? How thoughtful.
Just my 2 cents on mods. Rising Stars need to arrive at a party wearing Green Pants, Red Shirts, Blue Shoes, Yellow Glasses etc to catch attention. Big B (pun intended) doesn't need THAT. Cutting a polished Diamond diminishes the value. | Thanks a ton vijay! Yes the glovebox is padded with high quality foam. And we aren't proceeding with any modifications for now. Thanks. |
| |
9th March 2015, 02:59 PM
|
#18 | V6
| Re: My 'X' Comes Home! Pre-owned BMW X3 Ownership Review Now the time for the vote of thanks( for people who gave suggestions and helped me purchase X3)-
raj_5004
Amitpshelke
karthick raja
Bump_that
dhoom9
HARI GANGADHARAN
bharathbigb
nmm mithra
kinshuk.arya
TAUREAN CZAR
CarCar
vijay
Special thanks to- TSIVipul( who was always there to patiently answer my questions and didn't mind me bugging him)
bhvm(who patiently answered my PM's for any info needed on XUV)
Akash1886(who also answered all my queries promptly)
Thanks a lot guys, I owe a thumbs up to all of you
Last edited by CarLoverJosh; 9th March 2015 at 03:00 PM.
|
| |
9th March 2015, 04:18 PM
|
#19 | Moderator
Award Points: 20
| Re: My 'X' Comes Home! Pre-owned BMW X3 Ownership Review Heartiest congratulations on your X3 CLJ and wishing you and your family many happy miles with it.
Thats a good deal you got for your x3 with not even driven much from the previous owner.White is which you dont feel to buy firstly but looking at it grows on you with the majestic looks. |
| |
9th March 2015, 08:07 PM
|
#20 | V6
Originally Posted by vijay Heartiest congratulations on your X3 CLJ and wishing you and your family many happy miles with it.
Thats a good deal you got for your x3 with not even driven much from the previous owner.White is which you dont feel to buy firstly but looking at it grows on you with the majestic looks. | Thanks a lot mr. Vijay! Actually a silver X3 was our first choice but when we saw it in flesh it didn't really show the shape of the car clearly and weirdly had a yellowish tune to it. Again, weirdly white, which usually doesn't allow many curves and cuts to show, highlighted all the curves and cuts. I Don't know why but the White on X3 is different. It looks quite good and I can safely state the its the best white I have ever seen on any vehicle.
Last edited by CarLoverJosh; 9th March 2015 at 08:08 PM.
Reason: Typo
|
| |
10th March 2015, 12:12 AM
|
#21 | V10
Award Points: 30
Originally Posted by CarLoverJosh Bro, don't buy a BMW if you care about FE. This will hurt your heart if you have never driven a big car but I can safely say that the FE won't surprise since you also have a Fortuner. City is around 10 kmpl and on decent highway driving will give you 19 kmpl. I have also recorded that mileage. | The above mentioned mileage is very decent. The highway figure is extra decent. Another Fortuner owner here. Fortuner mileage is 10.6 only (4x2AT Variant). |
| |
10th March 2015, 01:07 AM
|
#22 | V6
| Re: My 'X' Comes Home! Pre-owned BMW X3 Ownership Review Cordial congratulations on the 'X'. And superfine is deal with <10K ODO.
Do post regularly. That will might help who wanna purchase used vehicles. |
| |
10th March 2015, 04:17 PM
|
#23 | V10
Award Points: 60
Originally Posted by CarLoverJosh Dear bhvm, I will be most happy to answer your queries. Just one thing my friend, who told you that I own an Xuv? But anyways since I have extensively test driven Xuv I can answer all your questions
The major differences are- quality,engine,looks,badge,the zf transmission and the list is endless buddy. Seriously you really can't compare a 45 lakh car to a 15 lakh car.
Modify the xuv all you want friend. The X3 will always run circles around it, always.
No BMW comes with touchscreen. And most variants come with navigation and there is a mobile app called connected drive. Does xuv come with driving modes? DRLS? The LEDs are parking lamps.
Dual projectors? Traction control? Bro don't think that xuv is more equipped than a X3, if you spend the money then I assure you that the car does redeem it in all ways be it engine , features or anything else you can think of.
We are yet to see about the long term ASS but when we got X3 checked, the staff was very helpful and friendly from the SA TO THE GM.
Bro, don't buy a BMW if you care about FE. This will hurt your heart if you have never driven a big car but I can safely say that the FE won't surprise since you also have a Fortuner. City is around 10 kmpl and on decent highway driving will give you 19 kmpl. I have also recorded that mileage.
My friend do plz pm me the deals so that I can check. | 1) I read your review all over again on my laptop at leisure. Very Nice deal you got there. Congrats again Bro!
2) Seeing your participation on XUV thread I got an impression that you already have one. I dug up your old Thread about XUV vs Fortuner vs X3 and now I remember.
3) I guess Its Tomfoolery to compare a 50 lac vs 16 lac car. However it makes me proud how Indian brands have stepped up the game. Maybe 5 years down the lane we will see Indian cars that stand shoulder to shoulder to Germans. See how tata Bolt has 3 Driving modes. There's a sports version coming with 120 HP and 17 inch wheels. Its all healthy competition Now on.
4) I would love to learn more about Dual xenons. How do they work? Is it like one Projector is for High beam and One for low beam? or its something different? How's the Output ? Are these adaptive ones that move with ride height and steering?
5) I sure will let you know about used beemers. I am not in a hurry at the moment, will buy only if I get a mouth watering deal. Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathew The above mentioned mileage is very decent. The highway figure is extra decent. Another Fortuner owner here. Fortuner mileage is 10.6 only (4x2AT Variant). | Thats a very nice FE you have considering yours is AT. My Fortuner 3.0 MT 4x4 gets 9.8 KMPL. |
| |
10th March 2015, 09:24 PM
|
#24 | V6
Originally Posted by Mathew The above mentioned mileage is very decent. The highway figure is extra decent. Another Fortuner owner here. Fortuner mileage is 10.6 only (4x2AT Variant). | Well, I think the contributing factors are that the kerb weight is lower, the drivetrain is more efficient and the engine has lesser CC but more horsepower i.e. its faster than your Fortuner  . Just kidding bro, but don't you own fortuner 4x4? Quote:
Originally Posted by dhoom9 Cordial congratulations on the 'X'. And superfine is deal with <10K ODO.
Do post regularly. That will might help who wanna purchase used vehicles. | Thanks a lot, I will always be active no matter what. I personally don't like threads which are left unupdated for a long time. Quote:
Originally Posted by bhvm 1) I read your review all over again on my laptop at leisure. Very Nice deal you got there. Congrats again Bro!
2) Seeing your participation on XUV thread I got an impression that you already have one. I dug up your old Thread about XUV vs Fortuner vs X3 and now I remember.
3) I guess Its Tomfoolery to compare a 50 lac vs 16 lac car. However it makes me proud how Indian brands have stepped up the game. Maybe 5 years down the lane we will see Indian cars that stand shoulder to shoulder to Germans. See how tata Bolt has 3 Driving modes. There's a sports version coming with 120 HP and 17 inch wheels. Its all healthy competition Now on.
4) I would love to learn more about Dual xenons. How do they work? Is it like one Projector is for High beam and One for low beam? or its something different? How's the Output ? Are these adaptive ones that move with ride height and steering?
5) I sure will let you know about used beemers. I am not in a hurry at the moment, will buy only if I get a mouth watering deal.
Thats a very nice FE you have considering yours is AT. My Fortuner 3.0 MT 4x4 gets 9.8 KMPL. | Yes, I stated the above reasons in reply to Mathew for the high FE. Only the first bulb works, the inner bulb doesn't work. Yes they are adaptive. But don't move with ride height. |
| |
11th March 2015, 07:24 AM
|
#25 | V10
Award Points: 60
| Re: My 'X' Comes Home! Pre-owned BMW X3 Ownership Review inner bulb doesn't work? what purpose it serves then?
does it have seperate fog lamps? if not the inner bulb could be an integrated fog lamp.
also that means that illumination is so-so. about 3200 lumens per side from a standard d2s bulb. and solenoid actuated high beam. |
| |
11th March 2015, 11:38 AM
|
#26 | V6
Originally Posted by bhvm inner bulb doesn't work? what purpose it serves then?
does it have seperate fog lamps? if not the inner bulb could be an integrated fog lamp.
also that means that illumination is so-so. about 3200 lumens per side from a standard d2s bulb. and solenoid actuated high beam. | Don't really know the purpose but it does have a separate fog lamp. BRO! The illumination is AWESOME! ITs much better than Q5 in illumination. The clarity is absolutely awesome. It illuminates things really far. |
| |
12th March 2015, 08:57 PM
|
#27 | V6
| Re: My 'X' Comes Home! Pre-owned BMW X3 Ownership Review Congrats buddy   wish you millions of happy miles with the bimmer. Great pictures too perfect. |
| |
12th March 2015, 09:03 PM
|
#28 | V6
| Re: My 'X' Comes Home! Pre-owned BMW X3 Ownership Review Guys can anyone really solve my problem? I don't know how to turn on the inner headlamp and since bhvm asked me how it switches on its been really bugging me. Nowhere is it posted on the internet how the light works. Guys i would really appreciate it anyone could guide me for the same. Quote:
Originally Posted by Bump_that Congrats buddy   wish you millions of happy miles with the bimmer. Great pictures too perfect. | Thanks a lot man. Really appreciate it. I was waiting for a long time to click these pictures so I guess all that enthusiasm paid off  . |
| |
12th March 2015, 09:10 PM
|
#29 | Honoured Member
Award Points: 110
Originally Posted by CarLoverJosh Guys can anyone really solve my problem? I don't know how to turn on the inner headlamp and since bhvm asked me how it switches on its been really bugging me. Nowhere is it posted on the internet how the light works. Guys i would really appreciate it anyone could guide me for the same. | They are dummy CLJ! Quote:
Starting in about 2007 or so with the newer xenons (not the E83, rather E70, E92, etc...), the bi-xenons have the ability to act as flash-to-pass so the inner headlamp serves no actual function for vehicles so-equipped.
| Source
Akash |
| |
12th March 2015, 10:12 PM
|
#30 | V6
Originally Posted by Akash1886 They are dummy CLJ! Source
Akash | Looks like BMW got me there  . It would have been better if the inner lamps were for low beam or something  . I just went and check the lamp only to see all the fuses. Sigh, a waste. |
| | Thread Tools | Search Thread | | | All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:28 PM. |