My First Maruti 800 [1996]

hello to all

This is Rajan
I joined TAI when i got a car which my dad bought[clap]
The Car is surprisingly M800 1996 model and in family all was amazed why he bought it. Well none of us knew driving 4 wheeler so it was funny.
we just using bikes all the time surprisingly all of ane company TVS from centra to victor to apache
Anyways now since we all know driving[lol] i started thinking to do some mods and restoration works on it.

but before that the condition of car
40000+ on odo
shockers almost dead
tyres [almost flatten
clutch Slips at 3rd gear
Engine is in good condition
Battery is quite new

Pics coming asap and updates about what is done

here are pics of car

C360_2014-03-15-11-10-35-204.jpg

C360_2014-03-15-11-11-00-592.jpg

C360_2014-03-15-11-09-22-352.jpg

C360_2014-03-15-11-09-38-051.jpg

C360_2014-03-15-11-09-56-196.jpg

Since the back lights and indicators were not working
i decided to check it and found some bulbs are fuse and some wires are cutten
wen i fixed it thn too it not worked
so decide to make leds and heres the pics
unfortunately that too not worked[frustration]

so went to electrician and replaced the front bumper lights and back lights
complete new set of a local brand laxmi
the cost with labour was around 1200 rs

C360_2014-03-15-11-11-38-162.jpg

C360_2014-03-15-11-11-56-556.jpg

the inside of car is basic

pics are here

it has the music player which i taken outside for the modification

C360_2014-03-15-11-13-52-752.jpg

C360_2014-03-15-11-14-14-444.jpg

Well the music player was in it but not the speaker

and i don't wanted to spend some bucks on speakers currently

so decided to use my old pc usb speaker
yes a pc speaker
i had a 2 channel usb speaker in which the subwoofer is actually a speaker of it.
things u need to know a usb pc speaker works on 5v dc
and our car battery is usually 12v dc so first we need to convert it to 5v
pics are there

Note:- i dont wanted to damage cars other electrical system so i used direct supply from battery.

If you wanna try then things you need is take 2 core 1.5 sq. mm cable or wire for the supply which is quite good for it [ i am b.tech electrical so i need such basic things [:D] ]

you need two capacitors and a voltage regulator 7805 which is in pic

capacitors are used to filter and this will help in distortion in speakers too
the outcome is really great which more then what i thought

Cheap yet best[clap]

capacitor 5rs each

voltage regulator 10 rs [ both is easily available at electronic shop ]

usb speaker new is almost 250 rs

sorry the ckt diagram is lil incorrect
here is the updated one

Guys suggest me

New tyres
Suspension work
clutch work

also should i go for ev transformation
which gonna need
batteries and charging system
motor and all
cost will be above 1 lac[confused]

Previous owner has note even maintained any thing i believe. As of my understanding the rework procees need to be done in almost all parts of the car.
As we all now Maruti 800 is a wonderful car in its segment with less maintanence. Hope you will get good Tinker and Mechanic to restore this Car.

Welcome to TAI brother. Happpy to see another member from punjab. Best of luck for your restoration of M800. Keep sharing the progress with lot of pictures .[:D]

Previous owner has note even maintained any thing i believe. As of my understanding the rework procees need to be done in almost all parts of the car.
As we all now Maruti 800 is a wonderful car in its segment with less maintanence. Hope you will get good Tinker and Mechanic to restore this Car.
hey amby
car was not in use for a long while by previous owner and i am trying to maintain this car to my best[:)]

Welcome to TAI brother. Happpy to see another member from punjab. Best of luck for your restoration of M800. Keep sharing the progress with lot of pictures .[:D]
thnx saroya veer
soon new updates with pics gonna come

If you try to restore completely, then i suggest to finish all the mechanical and small electrical fittings work before starting the Tinkering and Painting.
Concentrate on Interior dashboard looks..

Very nice car mate. Rather than USB speakers, Try Creative 2.1 speakers. They usually run off 12V if you bypass the transformer. Sound is good too.

I wish you try those LED tail lamps again mate. Very good try.

If you try to restore completely, then i suggest to finish all the mechanical and small electrical fittings work before starting the Tinkering and Painting.
Concentrate on Interior dashboard looks..
yes amby
m concentrating on interior work
trying to change all door pads and ceiling pads with some custom mods
searched alot bt nthing is satisfactory
guide me if anyone have knowledge about custom upholstery

Very nice car mate. Rather than USB speakers, Try Creative 2.1 speakers. They usually run off 12V if you bypass the transformer. Sound is good too.
I wish you try those LED tail lamps again mate. Very good try.
thnks bhvm
yes, you are right speakers but currently I am not getting any trouble with them
well about LED tail lamps i done a typical mistake
i chose red and yellow LEDs too which doesn't glow that much
White LEDs are good to use
btw those 1w single LED glows better
i recommend to use them [:D]

yes amby
m concentrating on interior work
trying to change all door pads and ceiling pads with some custom mods
searched alot bt nthing is satisfactory
guide me if anyone have knowledge about custom upholstery

thnx bhvm
yes u r ryt abt speakers bt currently m nt getting any trouble with thm
well abt LED tail lamps i done a typical mistake
i choosed red n yellow LEDs too which doesnt glow tht much
White LEDs are good to use
btw those 1w single LED glows better
i recommend to use thm[:D]
Sure, Try a couple of 1W LEDs and your tail casing is red anyways so it shall glow red. Try 4 LEDs in series (with proper Polarity) and they shall glow well.

However, do try to work upon your language. Such shortcut language is now allowed on this forum.

Rajan, glad to know you own a M800, a few suggestions from me.

Unless you invest about 30K or more, this car wont come back to its original shine

1. Something fishy about the car (front fender area) apart from the suspension issue
2. Dont repair a few things on the car, replace them for example = tail lamps, indicator lamps, bumpers (if required).
3. Fill coolant (if not atleast drinking water) in the container next to the battery and try to keep it covered
4. Approx breakup of restoration cost
> Clutch complete overhaul - 3K
> Tyres - 10K (for basic JK tyres)
> Rim Painting - 500
> Cleaning (water wash + seat cover cleaning) = 800
> Painting and denting = depends on garage (13K min)
> Suspension = 6000 flat expense (repairs are better avoided)
> Interiors = moulded roof, seat covers, basic ice = 10K
> Booster brakes = 4000

The above expenses wont make the car look awesome/feel superb as such, it just brings it back to drivable condition with neat interiors. I am just cautioning you about the kind of bills you are likely to see in future if you continue restoring the car.

I am never against restoration, especially if you love your car, but decide now itself, either you invest half a lac on this car to get it to a good condition or avoid investing on this and look for a better chassy with atleast lesser bills to see in the immediate future.

You can check my old and new threads to know more about DIY and cost of parts, feel free to ask anything you need to know about this car. All the best bro.

Rajan, glad to know you own a M800, a few suggestions from me.

Unless you invest about 30K or more, this car wont come back to its original shine

1. Something fishy about the car (front fender area) apart from the suspension issue
2. Dont repair a few things on the car, replace them for example = tail lamps, indicator lamps, bumpers (if required).
3. Fill coolant (if not atleast drinking water) in the container next to the battery and try to keep it covered
4. Approx breakup of restoration cost
> Clutch complete overhaul - 3K
> Tyres - 10K (for basic JK tyres)
> Rim Painting - 500
> Cleaning (water wash + seat cover cleaning) = 800
> Painting and denting = depends on garage (13K min)
> Suspension = 6000 flat expense (repairs are better avoided)
> Interiors = moulded roof, seat covers, basic ice = 10K
> Booster brakes = 4000

The above expenses wont make the car look awesome/feel superb as such, it just brings it back to drivable condition with neat interiors. I am just cautioning you about the kind of bills you are likely to see in future if you continue restoring the car.

I am never against restoration, especially if you love your car, but decide now itself, either you invest half a lac on this car to get it to a good condition or avoid investing on this and look for a better chassy with atleast lesser bills to see in the immediate future.

You can check my old and new threads to know more about DIY and cost of parts, feel free to ask anything you need to know about this car. All the best bro.
thanx anand for your concern
well this car is in gud working condition in respect of engine and other things
i am not planning to make it fully new and all
just some DIY which i can enjoy doing it [;)]
suspension n tyres are prime concern and later the interior
and what more i can do it
about denting panting dunno will do [roll]