The Beauty and the Beast: My Hyundai Fluidic Verna 1.6 SX VTVT

Thread Starter #1
Hello everyone.
Let me warn at the begining, this is my first time writing anything of this nature in a forum. This is going to be a lengthy and boring post to read.
[ Reader's discretion strictly advised ! ! ]

A little history :
Our first car is Maruti Swift Lxi [1.3] purchased in mid 2007.
There wasn't really any buying experience with that lovely frog car. Why? Because my father had learnt to drive just a month back in one of those driving schools and I was a minor.
So without any test drives [lol] we brought the car at that time.
I learnt to drive in this car and so did my father as he wasn't feeling very confident with the size of the car as he drove Maruti 800 in that school.
And the result was clutch plates had to be replaced within its first year.
The car is still going strong without any hassles after that and is a little over 25,000 KM right now. Except windows vibrating noise there is no problem with the car at all. Its on its original battery as well.
No wonder the car still is a hot seller.

Then came the Hyundai i 20 Magna (O) in the family.
And it has covered 15,000 KM's within its 1.5yrs due to my daily commute to college which is almost 60 KM.
No problems except the rattle from driver side dashboard. Returns around 18 KMPL on highway.

It was around March 2013 when father said he wants to upgrade to a new car as swift is more than 6yrs old [ Though with very little mileage].
So the hunt begins.
Budget was set around 8 lakh initially. There was no particular segment that we were targeting for.
Requirements were:
The car will stay with us for 5+yrs just like swift. Hence the following
Petrol engine.
Easy and fun to drive [ As most of our commute is within Pune city ].
Decent fuel economy.
Boot space.
Ground clearance.
Good after sale service.
Not heavy on pocket for servicing.

[I know Maruti is the only one who fulfill the above mentioned criteria.]