My New Honda City in White - The Albus

Dr MUDHAN

“Dr. MUDHAN, Let me start off by conveying my appreciation and joy that your review has given me.
The detailing of how you went about touching up your car with a little modification here & a minor change there, and the thought process behind it is simply humbling.
Your appreciation for the rupee also makes your thread one of the most grounded threads or perhaps the most grounded thread I have read.
I joined this forum only to say that you are an inspiration and I pray many others too to use your thread as a base on how one goes about stating to the world their love for cars.
In too many other threads in other forums I find that beyond a point either the thread starter loses the plot about the car being the reason for people reading such threads and tend to use the thread as a forum to display literary writing skills or show love for the car through blatant and at times painful spending!
Yours though my dear Dr is the best one till date. Has everything ironic humor, genuine useful information and a purity of purpose that shines ever so brightly from page 1 to this page 26…

It’s been an honor to read your thread so far ” Mr. Swamy @ 10th April 2014, 05:47 PM

I can’t say that I belong to a rich family or a family of silver spoon legacy. I may be between a middle class and an upper middle class, managed to get with the basic need.

I work as a Senior Executive Specialist in one of our PSU Insurance companies and for me buying a car is not that difficult. But buying a HONDA CITY can only be in a dream. Many of my colleagues those who got elevated in the year 2011 to Top Management cadres were fortunate to buy a Honda city as the budget provided by the company could match the price level as Honda India came down to discount almost one lac rupees to their S version as they had to phase out the original 2009 model before 2012.

I had Fiat, Premier Padminis and a Matiz in the past and I never thought of that one day I would own a Premium Sedan. When I got promoted last year, I and my wife decided to give fair well with pain to our 11 year old Matiz who, of course was still glistening as a show room model. Decided to go for the MARUTHI DEZIRE as Honda City has again gone out of the budget and no more such discounts for the 2012-13 models. But, my wife insisted that at least one time in life we should own one bigger car like Honda city [drive], and it became difficult to erase the same from our minds.

We contacted the local dealers, the response of Ms Sundaram Honda was not welcoming and Ms Olympia Honda was overwhelming. We had decided to spend extra from our savings and went to choose CE version. But somehow my wife preferred the beige interior and we had no other choice but to go for next version EMT. We wanted silver but no silver, only white was available, OK we agreed.

After customary procedures and prayers the Big Beast came to our place. I am yet to enjoy the pleasure of this car as driving every day in an extremely indiscipline city like Chennai makes terrible. Of course, the behavior is different; it is not like a small car like Matiz. I made, within a month, a costly mistake of an accident which resulted changing of rear right door skin and tinkering. It made me to realize that how it would be expensive if we never drive a bigger car safely.[frustration]

I always wanted to be unique and thus my car too.

What would be interesting to you from my thread?
How did I make some small changes, how did I find the best car antenna, best perfume & many new extra fittings, how did I get the good shiner and also how did I waste my money ..... I would like to share with you all in my next write up, and equally I am eager to learn from you.

SMILE.png

animated-update-image-0025.gif
UPDATED 2020

BROWSE & FIND FAST:
Consolidated page numbers of commonly searched topics in this thread are denoted. The recent page numbers may give you the latest information. However, please note down the page numbers and browse all to get the best overall information. I could not provide direct links for want of data space, please bear with me.

I have redesigned the first page so that to help through INDEX page, as many readers come to this thread searching for some information. That's the reason, there's a need for an update to provide them maximum possible information through these page numbers for easy browsing.

Made 2020 UPDATE as on date, including all the relevant information of both positive and negative factors appeared in our postings & interactions

I reiterate, the information provided here by me and our well-wishers are purely of our feelings, our experience, with a good intention to help each other. It's my request that if anyone likes to adopt any DIY should never compromise the safety of driving.[drive]

ANDROID HEAD UNITS & OTHERS 3, 33, 15, 30, 31 ,32, 35, 36, 48, 74, 95,101,102, 126
AC RELATED ISSUES
26, 75, 122, 123, 130
AC KNOBS 3, 52
ACCIDENT EXPERIENCE - ALBUS INJURED
ANHC BULBS SPECIFICATIONS 24 ,25
ALLOY WHEEL
12, 13, 38
AIR FILTER 34, 41, 108, 117, 121,
ANTI CORROSIVE PAINT
ARM REST 101
BRAKE PADS 112, 117, 128, 130
BRAKE LIGHT FLASH 22, 54
BATTERY 14, 41, 53 ,131 & (Please also check in the specific thread)**
BLU-TOOTH RECEIVER 7
BOOT LAMP 29, 58
BLIND SPOT MIRROR
90, 131
CAR COVERS
13, 94
CAR CLEANING
2 (Please also check in the specific thread)*
CLUTCH PLATE 110, 108
CHROME PARTS
1, 10 ,33 ,65
DASH DOLLS
DOUBLE SIDE TAPES 29
DOOR SILLS SCUFF PLATES
21, 120
DRL 5, 93, 125
DASH CLOCKS 102
DASH CAM 115
DOOR OPENED WARNING LIGHTS 127
ECU / ELM 327 -OBD II SCANNER 39
ENGINE OIL 37,38, 39,117,121
FASTAG 126
FOOT MAT
53, 124, 114 ,124
FOOTWEL LIGHTS
6, 108 ,110
FOG LAMP 1, 37,39, 104
FLIP KEYS 20, 116
FUSE @ FUSE BOX 19, 59, 62, 115,127
GEAR KNOB 4
GEAR SHIFT BOOT 43
GPS NAVIGATOR 51
KEY POUCH 44, 122
HEAD LIGHT BULBS
4, 9, 25, 26, 31, 105, 106, 107
HL PROJECTOR
HEADS UP DISPLAY 103 ,106
HONDA JDM RED LOGO
101 ,102
HORNS AFTER MARKET 19, 21, 120,
HONDA WARRANTY 3
HONDA SERVICE 1, 37,38
HONDA CONNECT 97
IGNITION KEY ISSUES 58, 108,
IGNITION KEY RING
58, 118
IONIZER 80
BE WISE WHILE MAKING AN INSURANCE CLAIM 130 ,131
JAPOSU DUSTER 57
LED BULBS 25, 29, 37, 50, 51, 54, 57,106,
LED PARKING BULB 7, 95, 121
LED NUMBER PLATE BULB 26, 38, 43,102
LED DOOM BULB 5, 9, 11, 16, 22
LED FOG LAMP BULB 4, 9, 12, 25,26, 51, 53
LED SIDE INDICATOR BULB 110
LIMITED EDITION BADGE 125
PERFUMES & FRAGRANCE 1, 8, 52, 111, 119
POWER WINDOW ISSUES 124
POLLUTION CERTIFICATE 115
PARKED CAR ISSUES 41
PAINTING FULL 123,124
PHILIPS EV BULB 4, 106
REAR CAMERA & SENSORS 17,18, 33,42,49, 76, 104
ROAD TRIP PREPARATION 56
REAR SPOILER 9 ,10, 51
REMOTE LOCK 1, 2, 19
SIDE VIEW MIRROR LED 2
SILENCER MUFFLER COVER 11, 113
SHARK FIN ANTENNA 1, 3, 17, 50, 51, 71,74, 104
STARRY ROOF LIGHT 125
SEAT COVERS 33, 101
STEERING WHEEL COVER 24, 63, 127
SUN VISOR MIRROR 92
SPORTY FRONT GRILL SPLITTER 125
SUSPENSION 103
TYRE UPGRADE 54, 55, 67, 99,100,105,109, 110, 111,130
TYRE POLISH 2
TYRE VALVE CAP 95
WHEEL CENTER LOGO 124
WINDOWS SUN SHADE 34, 114, 120,126,127
WIPER BLADES 28, 101,103, 114,117, 119, 120, 132
USB CHARGER 30, 126
USER MANUAL /BULBS SPECIFICATION 24, 25,124
VOLT / THERMO METER 30, 92,115

OTHERS:
ALBUS AT HOME
ANHC FRONT GRILL 2009 vs 2012 MODELS 41, 42, 102
WHY I NAMED MY CAR ALBUS 15
ANHC INDIA vs PAK 126
CAR CLEANING @ MEDITATION 2 (Please also check in the specific thread)*
MY PREVIOUS CAR 4
AVOID DASHBOARD REFLECTION ON WINDSCREEN 11
TRANSFORMER LOGO 14
INCONSISTENT SOUND QUALITY FROM STOCK ICE (FIGO) 15
SOMETHING ABOUT SURGICAL SPIRIT
ANHC TORQUE ISSUES 19
CAR CARE TIPS - PARKING UNDER HOT SUN 26
HYUNDAI VERNA NUMBER PLATE LED BULBS 26
BULBS LUMEN vs WATT 25
CAR WAX SPONGES 37 (Please also check in the specific thread)*
HOW TO REMOVE UNDER BODY COVER TO ACCESS FOG LIGHT BULB 37
AUTO ELECTRICIAN & PAINTER @ CHENNAI 41
CAR PAINTING AT PUNE 123
FRONT BUMPER CHASSIS HOLDERS RUST MANAGEMENT 37
RUSTING UNDER COWL PANEL OF HONDA CITY 107
CHOOSING A CAR CLAY 52 (Please also check in the specific thread)*
FOG LAMP IN OLDER 3RD GEN ANHC 104
AFTER MARKET CRUISE CONTROL SYSTEMS 107
LED- SIDE VIEW MIRRORS FOR OTHER CARS 2
WHEEL NOISE & SOUNDS 27 & 29
AFTER MARKET AUTO FOLDING ORVM 21, 114
PAINT TOUCH UP 17

ALSO, please go through the following specific articles if relevant.

THREAD POSTINGS:

1 to 10

PART I: MY AFTER SALES & SERVICE STORY - P1
PART II: MY CAR SHARK FIN ANTENNA STORY - P1
PART III: MY FOG LAMP STORY - P1
PART IV: MY CAR PERFUME STORY - P1
PART V: MY REMOTE LOCK STORY- P1
PART VI: MY CHROME PARTS STORY- P1
PART VII: THE STORY OF MY LED SIDE VIEW MIRRORS – P2
PART VIII: THE TYRE SHINER- P2
PART IX: MY CARS & THE CROWS – P2
PART X: HONDA CITY CUSTOM A/C DASH PANEL CONTROL KNOBS / DIALS – P3

11 to 20

PART XI: THE MISTAKES I DID IT IN MY CAR WHICH I DON’T WANT YOU TO DO IT – P4
PART XII: THE GEAR KNOB STORY – P4
PART XIII: SHALL WE GO FOR PHILIPS X-TREME VISION BULBS – P4
PART XIV: MY CAR’S L.E.D LIGHTS – P4
PART XV: DOME / FESTOON L.E.Ds – P5
PART XVI: DO YOU NEED THOSE DRLs? – P5
PART XVII: ONLINE SHOPPING ABROAD & CUSTOMS FORMALITIES - P5
PART XVIII: WHAT ABOUT THOSE COURTESY LIGHTS? - P6
PART XIX: HOW DID I OVERCOME THE BLUES WHEN I BOUGHT MY CAR’S BLUE TOOTH RECEIVER? - P7
PART XX: SOMETHING ABOUT 'THE SPOILERS' - P 9

21 to 30

PART XXI: MEET MY ALBUS WITH ‘DUCK TAIL SPOILER’ - P 10
PART XXII: THE BEST DOME / FESTOON L.E.Ds WHAT I FOUND - P 11
PART XXIII: MORE ABOUT SILENCER MUFFLER CHROME TIPS- P 11
PART XXIV: MY ALBUS GETS ALLOYS!- P 12
PART XXV: MY ALBUS ALLOYS GET JEWELS!- P 13
PART XXVI: ANHC BATTERY - HOW TO MAKE IT ON & ON! – P 14
PART XXVII: TO GET BEST SQ OUT OF ANHC HEAD UNIT PLAYER -P 15
PART XXVIII: HOW DO I MAKE MY WHITE CAR SHINE? – P 15
PART XXIX: THE NEED FOR REVERSE PARKING SYSTEMS - P 17
PART XXX: MY ALBUS TOUCHED UP!(How I managed to hide bumper scratches?)- P 17

31 to 40

PART XXXI: MY ALBUS HORN SOUNDS BETTER! - P 18
PART XXXII: SIMPLE DOOR SILL SCUFF PLATES FOR HONDA CITY IVTEC- P 21
PART XXXIII: MY ALBUS GETS FLASH STROBE THIRD BRAKE LIGHT! –P 22
PART XXXIV: MY ALBUS: DASHBOARD DOLLS - P 24
PART XXXV: MY ALBUS: STEERING WHEEL COVER STORY - P 24
PART XXXVI: MY ALBUS: HOW I RESOLVED THE MUSTY AC / BLOWER ODOUR! - P 26
PART XXXVII: MY ALBUS GETS NEW & NEWER TYPE WIPER BLADES! - P 28
PART XXXVIII: CARS & RATS - HOW DID I OVERCOME THE MENACE? - P 29
PART XXXIX: MY ALBUS: CIGARETTE LIGHTER SOCKET GADGETS - P 30
PART XL: MY ALBUS GETS STYLISH HAND BREAK COVER - P 30

41 to 50

PART: XLI: BUYING A CAR STEREO HEAD UNIT - FACTORS TO BE CONSIDERED – P 33
PART: XLII: SOMETHING ABOUT CAR SEAT COVERS - P 33
PART: XLIII: MY ALBUS: CHROME DOOR HANDLE PLUS! – P 33
PART: XLIV: SERVICE @ DEALER! P-38
PART: XLV: MY ALBUS ALLOY SPOKES - IT’S DIFFERENT! - P 38
PART: XLVI: ANHC - WHY THE RIGHT ENGINE OIL MATTERS? - P 38
PART: XLVII: ANHC ECU - HOW BEST WE CAN MONITOR? - P 39
PART: XLVIII: ANTI-CORROSIVE UNDERBODY TREATMENT – NECESSARY OR UNNECESSARY?- P 41
PART: XLIX: DOs & DON’Ts - FOR THE PERMANENTLY PARKED CARS! - P 41
PART: L : MY ALBUS GETS NEW & THE BEST BATTERY! – P 41

51 to 60

PART: LI: BUY THE BEST- CAR REVERSE PARKING CAMERA! - P 42
PART: LII : MY ALBUS: GOT THE RIGHT REAR LICENSE PLATE BULBS - P 43
PART: LIII : ANHC - CHANGING THE GEAR SHIFT BOOT – P 43
PART: LIV : MY ALBUS: GETS A NEW KEY POUCH! - P 44
PART: LV : MY ALBUS GETS A NEW ICE- In Car Entertainment! - P 48
PART: LVI : MY ALBUS : NEW STEERING WHEEL REMOTE CONTROL – P 48
PART: LVII : CAR REAR VIEW CAMERA - THINK TWICE & CHECK BEFORE YOU CHOOSE ! –P 49
PART: LVIII : MY ALBUS: GETS GPS NAVIGATOR – P 51
PART: LIX : MY ALBUS: BIRTH DAY GIFTS - Areon Ken Car Black Crystal AIR FRESHENER - P 52
PART: LX : MY ALBUS: BIRTH DAY GIFTS - 3D KAGU FOOT MATS - P 53

61 to 70

PART: LXI : MY ALBUS: TYRE UPSIZING = 195/60/15 for 6j x 15 - (OR) - 195/65/15 for 5.5j x 15 ? - P 54
PART: LXII : MY ALBUS: BLINKING BRAKE LIGHTS - P 54
PART: LXIII : SIMPLE TIPS FOR A BETTER ROAD TRIP - P 56
PART: LXIV: JOPASU DUSTER IS DEBILITATING & DISAPPOINTING !- P 57
PART: LXV : MY ALBUS GETS DOOR LOCK BUCKLE COVERS - P 57
PART: LXVI : MY ALBUS GETS A BRIGHTER BOOT - P 58
PART: LXVII : MY ALBUS: HOW DID I GET OUT THE "STUCK" IGNITION KEY! - P 58
PART: LXIX : MY ALBUS: IGNITION SWITCH DECORATIVE RING - P 58
PART: LXX: ANHC: HOW TO IDENTIFY AND REPLACE A BLOWN FUSE! – P 59

71 to 80

PART: LXXI : ANHC: MY CHROME STORY PART II (SAD! )- P 65
PART: LXXII : ANHC: MY CHROME STORY – RESOLVED - P 65
PART: LXXIII : MY ALBUS: NEW CAR CIGARETTE SOCKET SPLITTER ADAPTER - P 66
PART: LXXV : MICHEL N : ENERGY XM2 - Vs - PRIMACY 3 ST - P 67
PART: LXXVI : MY ALBUS: THE DICKEY SOUND THAT TAUGHT ME A LESSON! - P72
PART: LXXVII : HONDA - WE ARE PROUD OF YOU, PLEASE PRESERVE IT!(The true & honest feelings about my Indian Honda City) - P 74
PART: LXXVIII : MY ALBUS: TWEETERS, MAKE A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE! -P 74
PART: LXXIX : MY ALBUS: A SIMPLE SOLUTION FOR A BETTER AC & DISPLAY! -P 75
PART: LXXX : MY ALBUS: GOT THE BEST REAR VIEW CAMERA P 76

81 to 90

PART: LXXXI: WHY YOU SHOULDN’T BUY OZONE-GENERATING CAR IONIZER-AIR PURIFIER ! -P 80
PART: LXXXII : ALBUS: DOOR CHECK ARM PROTECTION COVER -P 89
PART: LXXXIII : ALBUS: BLIND SPOT MIRROR ( YES or NO !) -P 90
PART: LXXXIV : MY ALBUS: GETS DUAL DISPLAY VOLTMETER -P 92
PART: LXXXV : MY ALBUS: SUN VISOR VANITY MIRROR -P 92
PART: LXXXVI : MY ALBUS: DRL DREAM CAME TRUE --P 93
PART: LXXXVII : MY ALBUS: CAR BODY COVER -P 94
PART: LXXXVIII INSURANCE PROTECTION : AFTER MARKET HEAD UNIT & AVN SYSTEM -P 95
PART: LXXXIX : MY ALBUS: GOT THE RIGHT PARKING BULBS -P 95
PART: XC : METAL TIRE VALVE DUST PROOF CAPS – YES OR NO? -P 95

91 to 100

PART: XCI : MORE ABOUT DOUBLE SIDE TAPES- P 97
PART: XCII : HONDA CONNECT- P 97
PART: XCIII : MY ALBUS: NON-SLIP INTERIOR CUP CUSHION DOOR MAT COVERS- 3D & REFLECTIVE! -P 98
PART: XCIV : MY ALBUS: HONDA JDM RED EMBLEM -P 101
PART: XCV : MY ALBUS : HOME MADE ARMREST -P 101
PART: XCV : MY ALBUS : NEW AVATAR -P 101
PART: XCVII : SEAT COVERS: CHOOSE A STUNNING DESIGN -P 101
PART: XCVIII : MY ALBUS: DASH CLOCK -P102
PART: XCIX : CAR HUD - HEADS UP DISPLAY -P 103
PART: C (100) : MY ALBUS: NEW SHARKFIN ANTENNA -P 104

101 to 110

PART: 101 MY ALBUS: GOT THE BEST HUD APP - P 106
PART: 102 FOOTWELL LIGHT / COURTESY LIGHT / AMBILIGHT / MOOD LIGHT – P 108
PART: 103 MY SHALDAN CAR AIR FRESHENER: INDIA Vs ABROAD -P 111
PART: 104 MY ALBUS GETS NEW WIPER BLADES AGAIN!-P 114
PART: 105 ALBUS: NEW PARKING & SIDE INDICATOR LED BULBS -P 121
PART: 106 ALBUS GETS SPORTY FRONT GRILL SPLITTER –P 125
PART: 107 ALBUS – LIMITED EDITION METAL BADGE –P 125
PART: 108 ALBUS gets AUDI TYPE DRL / SEQUENTIAL TURNING LIGHTS – P 125
PART: 109 ALBUS BIRTH DAY, COMPLETES 7 YEARS – P 125
PART: 110 ALBUS GETS – FASTag – P 126

110 to 120

PART: 111 ALBUS ANOTHER BROTHER-P 126
PART: 112 WHAT SHOULD YOU LOOK IN A BEST CAR MOBILE CHARGER? –P 126
PART: 113 ALL ABOUT ANDROID HEAD UNIT
PART: 114 ALBUS GETS WINDOW SUN SHADE

VISIT MY OTHER THREADS TOO :

Please do make a visit to my following threads and I am sure, you will find many interesting information which would be useful & applicable to your interest.

Exhaustive Guide: Car Detailing Basics*
Guide: Online Shopping Abroad & Customs Formalities
Guide: How To Make Your Car Battery Go On & On!**
Cars in Flood – Insurance and More!

Hope, the new UPDATE will help you all in getting some information for taking a right decision.[:D]

Dr MUDHAN
ANHC.gif

Dr MUDHAN

PART I:*
MY AFTER SALES & SERVICE STORY:

My after sale service experience was unexpected and I reproduce here the letter sent to the Dealer, which is self-explanatory.

To:
The Management of Olympia Honda
Plat no.21, Industrial Estate.
Ambattur,
Chennai-600 058

SUB: AFTER SALES SERVICE -GRIEVANCE & SUGGESTIONS

I am one of your customers owning a New Honda City, bearing RN: --------- which is 6 months old. I am the one who motivated my colleagues to get ANHC from your dealership and we got more than 10 cars, now being serviced by you. Our company owns more than 65 ANHC cars including Accord across the country.
I would like to share my experience with Olympia Honda which I hope you will note for our mutual benefits.

MY FIRST SERVICE- was excellent as you neatly cleaned the car and delivered. The car gave me a good mileage.

MY SECOND SERVICE- was really bad as you did nothing- neither had you changed the oil nor checked up the tyre nitrogen pressure, & not even cleaned the car properly. My car was there for about a week for body shop work on an insurance claim. They spoiled my new car by not properly protecting the car’s other areas before painting. Door beading, tail lamp cluster assay, other doors inside, the steering wheel and even the front radiator black fiber grill had paint marks. The left rear wheel arch was totally spoilt and my anti rust black color gone. The car was given tank filled, 30-40% of petrol was missing but the car had not run and the reason was given to me that the workers would have used AC when the car was idle while undergoing accidental repairs. I expressed my feeling during the feedback with a hope that you will take care in future.

MY RECENT THIRD SERVICE- I gave my car spic and span because I use world class polish and protectant but the car came back with uncleaned window glasses, oily black patches on some areas of the body and dirty hand marks inside beige door handles and with the signs of rough handling. My rear windows sun shade cover mesh visor shield PVC suction cup missing and lost. Waxing on fiber/rubber parts was not done properly and dried flakes were there all. Car delivered with a very dirty foot paper at driver’s side, of course, can be removed and throne but leaves a bad impression that how would you all care the customer.

MY SUGGESTIONS:

You may be coming across two different types of customers, for some customer the car is just a metal and machine, whether it is interior or exterior, that would always be dirty and any service rendered by you would be ‘excellent’ for them. For the other, the car is a symbol, everything would be spic and span and they would expect a little bit of perfection. That’s why we have gone with Honda.

First time, when I took delivery of my car, your team had introduced me a service supervisor, leaving me an impression that Olympia will give me a personalized attention on after sales service. But in reality, a person calls me when car gets inside to tell the bill and another person calls before delivery. When I want to check up the job card, I get an answer ‘would have done’!!!

Why don’t you make things systematic and some responsible person to take care of our needs sincerely?

Why don’t they supervise the condition that how a car is given and how the same car is delivered back?

When something is very neat and shiny then why would you want to remove it by unnecessary cleaning? For example my dashboard and ICE/HU front when it is already very neat and shinning , you put some other cleaner and my tyres were shinning as I use ‘Formula one tyre shinner’ but your people removed, why all these?

Why don’t you control / teach your labour boys to do neat work? For example, using clean cloth, polishing the tyres at last.

Kindly note that the Honda owners are not second grade citizens, they pay a hefty premium for Honda mark and please respect their feeling.

Thanks & Regards
Dr. Mudhan
I thought there would not be any response but I received a reply from their Service Head regretting for the inconvenience and an assurance that it would not repeat. This time during my fourth, first paid service I have decided to go in person as I used to send the car through their drivers. I was overwhelmed by their endearing response and they took care of my vehicle very well and even rectified the paint blemishes.
Hats off to Olympia, keep it up! [clap]

I was hunting for some good and special extra fitting. I did make some changes. Every one item I bought has its own story. I will share with you one by one.
Certain things I made with the dealer. Something in my car greatly disappointed me. Even after spending so much in the EMT model, no rear speakers, not even a remote control for the factory fitted audio head units. Forget about steering control. I don’t know how much Honda going to save by not providing a remote for a car model sold for almost 8 to 9 lacs. Otherwise the quality of the HU is same as higher versions. I bought the original Honda tweeters (Rs.3500/-) as it nicely fit into the A pillars- no double side tape business. One mistake I did. I have bought side protectors from Honda which I felt the price Rs.6500/- is very much higher side and also they could not give me the latest silver line embedded one. I wanted the fog lamps for the new type of bumpers but after knowing the price, I started thinking whether I did a mistake of buying a Honda city car. Of course any one will feel that it is atrocious, the price is Rs.20000/-. It seems that once I started to own an ANHC, I am rich (virtually) and should not bother about money or price.

I started exploring something good, cheaper from outside. But getting good quality which suits ANHC was not that easy. I purchase certain things from ebay.in but could not use it. For example a universal gear knob but not suited for ANHC gear lever rod. A steering wheel cover but the rubber smell was hell. But certain things from US ebay worked well. Original type fog lamps, beautiful AC knobs about which I will share with you later. I am really happy after finding an online Chinese web side ‘AliExpress’ and most of them are honest sellers. But one should have so much patient before receiving it- it would take 20 to 60 days; should do some research before placing an order.
Now I will start my Car Antenna story.

PART II:
MY CAR SHARK FIN ANTENNA STORY:

Somehow I did not like the original external car antenna which is not aesthetic, could easily be stolen. I am fond of shark fin antenna but only dummy antenna were available and one can import the functional type from US (like VG or Beatsonic) but costs you a castle, around 100 dollars. So I made my first purchase from Deal Extreme a smaller than the original - type Vehicle Car Aluminum Alloy Antenna for Rs.$ 6.7. It looked good but reception was only good but not as original. I got attracted to the original BMV type shark fin antenna but the price is expensive.

It became unbelievable to note online at AliExpress site, Chinese have produced a functional replica of BMW type (of Couse only for FM reception but not for GPS) and costs only $13. It was affordable and I took risk. I ordered from the original manufacturer as it was cheaper from other sellers, waited patiently and got it. The quality is so good as well as the reception and my car looks different see it now. I am going to share many more of my experience, but with a word of ‘disclaimer’ that it is no way a sales promotion. If you like it take a risk and go for it or try to find a better one and share your experience to others. Thanks.

1.jpg

2.jpg

34926.jpg

20130615_131202.jpg

20130907_160731.jpg

20130907_160738.jpg

Dr MUDHAN

PART III:

MY FOG LAMP STORY:

The new bumper design is sporty and without a fog lamp it would not be complete. But I don’t think so that any other fog lamp set is so expensive than Honda’s. I did some research for aftermarket, third party quality accessory. Some Chinese online sites have it but no mention about quality standards. Luckily I found out a good one from ebay.com. The price was $115, with E6-E-Mark stamped on the lens, complete kit, made in Taiwan and appeared to be an OE type.

I have decided to purchase. Even though they supply to India, I was afraid of exorbitant custom duty so I requested my daughter in Dubai to get it and bring it to India when she comes. But she had to pay the same custom duty there also around 30%, but still it worked out for 50% Honda’s cost, including fitting charges. I did not want others to fiddle my electrical circuit so I requested the dealer and they fixed it @ Rs. 1200 charges.

Now car had a luxurious look. You can see the pictures here – The original bumper without fog lamp assay, bumber after fog lamp assay fitment and one more you can notice that the changes in the fog lamp bulb. The fog lamp kit came with H11 halogen bulbs. But I thought, I can save battery by replacing it with a LED bulb. I did some analysis at AliExpress and ordered @ $15, this lamp - 7.5W Super Bright SMD H11 Car LED White Day Driving Fog Light Lamp Bulb and replaced it myself. Now it serves me in two ways - as a day light as well as a fog lamp but the power consumption is 7.5 instead 55 watts each bulb. I am happy.

I would suggest you more on fog lights as the technology getting better every day. You can just fit a Hi- tech Philips LED assay into the car’s fog lamp bracket, which has got motion sensors like Mercedes /AUDI. OR You can go far just like me, but replace the halogen bulb with a latest technology cree led type which also cost you around $15.

Wait for my next story, of course a true story.

PART IV:

MY CAR PERFUME STORY:
Somehow I was never keen in keeping a perfume in the earlier cars and I spray home freshener only whenever needed. I still remember how I spoiled the interior by keeping an Odonil on the floor of my Premier Padmini and the chemical reaction there happened. I tried ‘Ambi Pur’ once or twice but the fragrance was over powering and was afraid of their reaction with dashboard plastics after reading the experience of some of the thread members. I want to buy some good Indian product which can be kept in the cup holder.

I bought ‘ Invovle-Wishlist Fresh Lime’ and I was made to explore whether any smell is coming and became waste of money. I tried Air Wick Solid Gel Based Air Freshener Perfume (Crisp Breeze) and it made to feel the worst. Perfumes like Glide (Rose) became no good. Hanging trees will hang you with some unusual chemical fragrance. I have read that the ‘My Shaldan’ products are the best but I did not try them as it was said that lot of fake products are floated.

It was when I bought a Pioneer rear speaker the shop man gave me a gift ‘My Shaldan- Squash’, I felt the real need for a car perfume. The fresh welcoming smell when you get it to the car every day morning and the evening refreshing smell when you get back home was mesmerizing. Everyone got into the car was appreciating the wonderful fresh fruit fragrance. When it was about to finish I wanted to try one more perfume as acclaimed by some thread members, the Dr Marcos brand. Snap Deal gave a better discount and I bought the Jasmine (air vent clip on) and Ocean flavors (gel). I had to remove the Jasmine as I did not like the smell even though it was mild. Ocean was mild & good but not noticeable as MS.

Hmmm… I wasted money for these research and decided to settle only with MS. The two flavors which I liked is Squash & Peach. No more online purchase as it was expensive (Max MRP Price Rs.250 to 300/-) and not sure about the genuinity as I have found out some good shops at Chennai where I get the original Matrix imported one for Rs.195/- now.

Dr MUDHAN

I am yet to get responses for my thread from our TAI members and I don’t know why not I got it, let me wait for some more days.

The very purpose of this thread is to share my best and worst with ANHC lovers. I was actually struggling to get ideas and guidance from fellow owners of ANHC, as most of the thread available on net pertain to comparison with the other makes. I sincerely decided to help others to make them to get the best and to avoid unnecessary waste of money on trial and error as I did. I would be really happy if someone of my wavelength get benefitted out of my postings, OK!
I continue to share…

PART V:
MY REMOTE LOCK STORY:

My EMT version has manual central locking & engine immobilizer but doesn’t come with a remote lock but it has something special, whether useful or not, that is both the front doors have the key holes. I felt the need for a basic remote lock to avoid damages to lock and key in the manual process.
My search began. I have decided to choose one from Autocop / Xenos or Minda. I went to the so called ‘Auto Spares Street’, the GP Road at Chennai. Most of the vendors had the Piranha model ,the Autocop old design, the same what I bought for my Matiz 11 years before. I did not like it. Many local auto electricians came forward to fit but I was afraid of any damage to the electrical circuit. I wanted a company trained professional who will not unnecessarily explore. I did some research to get a basic lock and unlock model, a single door type to connect to the manual lever which will make other doors to close automatically. I found the one which I wanted from this site- CIA - Shop for Branded and Affordable Car Accessories Online in India and ordered the car specific Minda model (EK 8452). I was overwhelmed by an endearing response & their step by step follow up. The Minda electrician did a neat and professional job in my place, and he also disabled the horrible reverse siren which I never wanted.

Congrats doc. White looks classy on sedans; and esp. on a majestic family cruiser one like Honda City. Can you please update on your daily mileage and fuel efficiency figures after service ?

I agree with you - reverse sirens are a nuisance and good riddance there.

I see Mugen badging in the very first pic. Did you actually purchase any Mugen branded accessories (quite expensive), or the dealer just pasted it as advertizement ?

Do you really need fog lamps in Chennai ?

Congratulations, Doc on your new Honda City. Its really a matter to pride to own a Honda. [clap]

Did you consider any other cars such as Verna, New Ford Fiesta etc during your search? If so I would like to hear about it. Please post the interior pictures too.

congratulations sir on your purchase.
Very well written.
Love the shark fin antenna.
Fellow ANHC owner :)
Please check my review too
The biggest coincidence being even my dad works for a psu owns an ANHC and was born in 57 as u [clap][lol]

Dr MUDHAN

Congrats doc. White looks classy on sedans; and esp. on a majestic family cruiser one like Honda City. Can you please update on your daily mileage and fuel efficiency figures after service ?

I agree with you - reverse sirens are a nuisance and good riddance there.

I see Mugen badging in the very first pic. Did you actually purchase any Mugen branded accessories (quite expensive), or the dealer just pasted it as advertizement ?

Do you really need fog lamps in Chennai ?
Thanks Bopanna for your response and nice words.

Honestly the mileage I get is 8.5 to 9 KMs while I go to office, covering 3 KMs every day ; 9 to 10 KMs while covering 6 to 8 KMs when we go to temple occasionally. When we go to the Dealer covering 20 to 25 KMs, we get 11.5 to 12 KMs. All within the congested Chennai city with AC on, loaded with one or two persons. Unfortunately I am afraid of taking off my foot from the clutch. I am waiting for a day to enjoy the pleasure and mileage. The car has run only around 1200 KMs so far & hope it will improve.

The ‘Mugen’ batch was bought for me by my daughter in Dubai. I did not buy any ‘Mugen’ accessories. I liked it and fitted, of course not for any advertisement.

Regarding Fog lamps, if you want me to tell the truth that most of the extra fitting are actually not required to run a vehicle. Take it whether the day led lights or shark fin antenna or chrome fittings. We do it on our emotional decisions to personalize the car. If you want an intelligent answer from me, it may be useful when I return to my native place Coimbatore/ Ooty.[:D]

Dr MUDHAN

Congratulations, Doc on your new Honda City. Its really a matter to pride to own a Honda. [clap]

Did you consider any other cars such as Verna, New Ford Fiesta etc during your search? If so I would like to hear about it. Please post the interior pictures too.
Thanks for your kind words Mr INDIAN

We went to see Verna but the show room response was not good. Moreover I learnt from other threads 1.6 version is the best and not the 1.4 one. My budget never matched and the New Ford Fiesta was also expensive. I wanted only a Maruthi or Honda brand for better service. Sure, I will post the interior pictures to share with you all about the minor modifications/ personalisation I made.[:)]

Dr MUDHAN

congratulations sir on your purchase.
Very well written.
Love the shark fin antenna.
Fellow ANHC owner :)
Please check my review too
The biggest coincidence being even my dad works for a psu owns an ANHC and was born in 57 as u [clap][lol]
Dear Ravib, I am so happy about your response. Convey my regards to Dad. He must be a very good dad.

I went through your thread, nice car and nice color. You won’t believe my wife always says that color UT shade is excellent. Make it glistening by regular polishing. There are some similarity between our articles. Keep writing more.

You liked the shark fin antenna- good, Thanks.[:)]

Very nice , detailed and passionate review from you sir enjoyed a lot [clap]. Wish you many many happy miles with it .

Dr MUDHAN

Very nice , detailed and passionate review from you sir enjoyed a lot [clap]. Wish you many many happy miles with it .
Thank you very much Raja for your encouraging words and good wishes.
I will keep writing.
I really liked the tag line (John Wooden's) of your message . God Bless You.

Wishes for your New Purchase and made your Ambition to come true.
At the price point, honda should include some more features to enrich this car.

Dr MUDHAN

Thank you RK (Gurrala74) for your endearing welcome & wishes. I am really proud to be with you all at TAI.[:)]
Thank you dear AmbyLovers for your good wishes and I agree with you that Honda India should give a value for money as they give in other countries like Malaysia, Philippines & Thailand.[glasses]

I continue my stories…

PART VI:
MY CHROME STORY:

Who said that chrome is only good in dark color car? I wanted to have chrome door handles as seen in the high end models. But, wanted a very good quality, made of ABS plastic and of durable chrome coating. Nowhere was it available for ANHC and I could see some Indian online site like ‘vicky.in’ but they are not showing the real stuff in their web page. ‘AliExpress’ came to my help. Many vendors... Two types were available - One direct replacement for handle, priced more than 30 $ and the other just fit over original handle, priced @ 15 $. I didn’t want to fiddle & remove the original handle and the lock. So I ordered the second one and got it. How to paste it, I read through YouTube DIY clips. Did it, but with a mistake! My car has two key locks on both the side. The chrome covers had only one hole. While placing the chrome covers I pasted the key hole part to the left side and only when pasting the driver entry side I realized the mistake…he.. he! The key hole got closed. Ok, I left it as I can manage with the remote key.

Somehow I did not like the black sticker I pasted on the petrol lid. I ordered one chrome type for 9 $ from the same site and placed.

My brother wanted me to get a ‘1.5cm x 15M Decorative Ribbon Roll chrome Sticker DIY Car Decoration Trim Line’ for his Toyota Etios. I got a piece and fixed on the front black grill, below the number plate and also below the rear number plate, to make my car look little different, which you would have noticed from my first photos.