Maruti Ertiga ZXi: Buying and Ownership Experience

The search of a new car started after my humble Getz touched 60,000 KM.
It was Getz Prime GLE 1.1 ltr & purchased in 2008.

A great city car with good mileage. But lack of low end torque and not an expressway car. Getz was breathless after 80/90 KMPH.
With AC on, it was very frustrating to drive the car.But had an excellent reliability. Never spent a single penny other than Normal servicing. That GLE model was very basic with a Power steering and AC, that's it.

Before Getz i had a Santro XO 2005 model. From last 8 years i was a loyal Hyundai customer. Even in my family we have 2 more Hyundai car (i10 Era (2008) & an i20 Asta petrol 2012 model).

So this time I have already decided to skip Hyundai . My requirement also changed. I need a car for 6 people with at least ABS and a decent powered engine.

I am now a Proud Owner for Ertiga ZXI. I got the possession on July 11th 2013.

Till Date i have completed around 600 KM with the car. In 12 days 600 KM...not bad ..
One Pune-Mubai Expressway run also included in this mileage.

My initial driving experience and observation :

Before reading the below experience , just for your information my last car was a Hyundai Getz 1.1 (which is popular for worst low end torque). So I am comparing Ertiga with my previous car.

What I LUV:-

1) A car like real MPV.
2) Spacious 5+2 easy flexible seating.
3) 1.4 Petrol Engine with decent mileage.
4) Easy to drive with good handling & comfortable ride.
5) Separate & effective A/C vents for the rear rows.
6) A.B.S. With E.B.D.
7) Awesome integrated sound system & speakers.
8) Generous boot after folding 3rd row.
9) Good pulling power & cruising ability with 7 people on board.
10) Theatre like dimming lamps inside the car.
11) Decent headroom for all rows.

What I don’t LUV:-

1) Front view can’t differentiate Ertiga from other Maruti cars.
2) Horn is not easily accessible.
3) Inconvenient placement of fuel lid opener.
4) No remote boot lid opener.
5) Some beige interiors hard to keep clean.
6) Missed an armrest for driver.
7) No ACC.
8) Worst low beam (A big problem in night driving)
9) 60:40 split last row seat.

Interior :
----------

The dashboard is brown in color almost same as my Getz Prime. Due to mat finish the reflection is very negligible on the front windscreen.
Driving in sunlight not an issue. Though the real test will be in summer season. But I believe it should not reflect like my other car (i10 ERA with all beige dashboard).

The driver seat is height adjustable and i found the seat is very comfortable (i am 6 feet & medium build).
One can easily find the suitable driving position. I really miss a driver armrest in Ertiga. Maruti should provide this as factory fitted or at least in MGA.

Middle row is best for 2 adults with middle armrest ON. Without armrest 3rd passenger also welcome.
The last seat is strictly for kids or an adult for short trips. Legroom can be increased by adjusting the middle row but have a very poor under thigh support. Which is very less for an adult.

Maruti should provide the last row as 60:40 split. This combination will be great for Ertiga with 6 passengers and some luggage.

I found the AC is very effective . Nowadays the average temperature is around 24 to 25 C. So the real test will be in summer.

Ertiga has very less storage area inside. Behind the hand brake there is no place for a water bottle (I believe Dizer & SX4 have). Maruti should provide more premium console for this area in the top end model. An armrest with storage is a great idea for this car.

First 600 KM Driving Experience
-------------------------------

- Great Power (Better than my Getz with AC on)
- Smooth Engine (Getz engine also super smooth)
- Car like drive (City / Highway)
- Good ground clearance
- Excellent low end torque. Can drive in 2nd or 3rd gear in city traffic.
- Good all-round visibility from driver seat.
- Effective AC. (The real test will be in summer season)

The first long drive for Ertiga was Pune - Mumbai - Pune a total of 400 KM trip. Including some KMs in Mumbai city heavy traffic.

One simple line i can mention here is "I am satisfied with the Car".

The first test was on Lonavala / Khandala ghat section : Ertiga drive like a big sedan without any issue. I cross this section in 3rd & 4th gear without any issue. I had to put my Getz in 1st & 2nd gear previously in this section. With both the AC on I did not feel the power drop in the ghat section.

Second Test (Friday evening traffic in Mumbai) : I was entering Mumbai on Friday evening and it was raining heavily. The route was through belapur to my destination Gore Gaon East. Drove in the bumper to bumper traffic for around 2 hours. Petrol Ertiga is excellent for city driving as well. One can drive in 2 & 3rd gear in slow moving traffic without any issue.

One thing I really want to upgrade is head light. The low beam is worst. The high beam is acceptable .

Any suggestion?

The average mileage in console : 14.5 KMPL

I drove the car at 80 / 90 KMPH speed. Always keep the RPM lower than 2500. AC used 90% of the time.

Need to check the actual with thankful to tankful method. But I am sure the mileage should not be less than 13 KMPL. Very happy.....

Conclusion:-

Ertiga is a perfect vehicle for me(A family of 6). Ertiga is a MPV with Impressive versatility and space.
In my honest opinion, as far as compact SUV/MUV’s are concerned, It has no competition in the current Indian market within its price range till date.

More reviews & will follow soon

By...By..Getz

Re: Maruti ERTIGA ZXi:Buying and Ownership Experience

My Requirement in New Car:
---------------------------
- Should have safety feature (Airbag,ABS,EBD etc.)
- Space. It should seat at least 6 people comfortably.
- Decent amount of power. (With AC on)
- Refinement and Reliability.
- Comfortable on Highway.
- Budget of 8-9 lac (On Road)

My Usage:
----------
80% city Driving
20% Highway Drive

New Car options
---------------

Option 1 : Mahindra Xylo: E4 (ABS)
---------------------------------
+ Points:

- loads of space
- a true 7 seater
- Excellent Engine (Mhawlk)

- Slightly out of my strict budget
- Poor handling (My observation compare to Innova/Ertiga)
- Taxi image.

Option 2 : Mahindra Scorpio: SLE (ABS)
--------------------------------------
+ Points:
- Excellent Engine (Mhawlk)

- Seats are not comfortable (My observation compare to Innova/Ertiga)
- Even feel less space in middle row than my old Getz.

Option 3: Toyota Innova
------------------------
+ Points:

- Excellent Engine (D4D)
- Toyota Reliability
- Space
- Car like driving
- Excellent handling

Option 4: Maruti Ertiga (ZXi / ZDi)
------------------------
+ Points:

- Excellent Engine (Petrol / Diesel)
- Maruti Reliability
- Space
- Car like driving

- City Driving (Diesel)
- No 60:40 split rear seat
- No Armrest for driver.

Alternative also considered
-----------------------------
Used Innova : Even in used market this car commands a very high price tag. I got many car (G4 to V) used for 1 to 1.5 lac KM with price tag Rs.7 lac on wards.
Other used car i did not dare to consider were Scorpio / Xylo / Safari etc. due to obvious reasons.

Final Decision
---------------
After many discussion with family we had finalized the Ertiga Zxi (with Alloy).

The Search started for a dealer. I had called many dealer and "MY Car" wakad,Pune get back to me quickly. The SE "Alka Zalke" came home with a
Ertiga Zxi for test drive. We drove the car and impressed with low end torque and easy to drive nature. For my usage i found the car is excellent.

Car Booking
-----------
On Saturday 06/07/2013 we booked the car (Ertiga Zxi) with dealer "My Car". We choose the white color Ertiga.

Price of Ertiga Zxi (Pune)
--------------------------

Ertiga Zxi : 6,50,309.80
VAT @ 2 % : 81,288.72
--------------
Ex showroom: 7,31,599

Road TAx : 75,282
Insurance : 26,444 (Zero Dep)
ExtWarranty: 10,421 (3rd & 4th year )
LBT : 16,203
--------------
On Road : 8,59,949

Discount Included :

Consumer offer : 7,000
Exchange Bonus : 15,000
Corp. Discount : 2,000
Discount on EW : 2700

On 8th July 2013 applied for HDFC Loan. Loan processed in one day.
I got confirmation from bank on 9th july. On 10th july i have done the PDI of my car.
I got the June-2013 manufactured car with 7 KM on ODO. It's a fresh car..right..
I got the delivery on 11th july 2013. its really fast...as the dealer / SE was very supportive.

Dealer experience
------------------
I had a fantastic experience with this dealer during my purchase.
All this because of the SE "Alka Zalke". She had answered my thousand of questions and many more phone calls during the process. She helped me with my old car valuation to RTO registration. A Big Thanks to Her. The dealer has a very transparent process of all the commitment & transactions.

Now Pics time....

Photo during the time of car delivery :

Ertiga is available with the very limited color option. White looks good to me. But attracts dirt quicker than other dark color.

Now the time for pampering the car. The destination was 3M Car Care Baner (Pune).
They have done an excellent job with my car. I took the Color protection and the interior waxing package. The result was excellent.

Some snaps from 3M Baner (Pune) :

Following are the upgradation planned as of now.

1) Rear View Camera (First priority)
2) Seat Cover
3) Good Floor Mat. (Currently using MGA)
4) AC Filter
5) Door sill plate
5) Under body coating
6) Headlight upgradation.

==================================================

As per dealer MGA salesman, No accessories other than MGA should be added to the car. They are charging 10,000 for Rear view camera. 7000 for a worst PU seat cover. Which are quite expensive than after market accessory option.

===================================================

My "LUV" back from first Free service.
No issue till now. So my car service done very quickly. In 2 hrs they gave my car.
Bill was Rs 0.00

But the car wash was not upto the mark. After washing i found mud stain here & there.
So complain to SA he quickly arrange some washing guy to clean it.

One thing i do not understand why they do not do a work perfect at a time.
Why a secondary checking is required?
Why spend time / manpower for same work again?

I had the same experience with Hyundai A*S*S multiple time.

I came back home & clean + Dash polish + Tyre polish again.[:)]

==============================================

Ertiga First Expressway run in heavy rain. I really impressed with Ertiga dynamics.
I never felt, I was driving a big car on a tricky ghat section.

Congrats & welcome to the LUVly family on TAI. [:)] Nice write-up.
I hope you have joined 'Ertiga Owners Club' on face-book.

Great post. And congrats for your new LUV.
How much FE did it give you during the expressway drive?
Thank you DrivenByCars

Right now my car is 1700 KM old. I believe the KMPL is increasing gradually.
Now in the city it shows constantly 15.5 KMPL with 100% AC ON. It was previously 13.5 to 14 KMPL.

In Express Highway the DTE mileage was 17 KMPL with 80% AC ON. It was when the car was pretty new. Now I think it will give more KMPL. I will do a Mumbai drive this weekend. I will update the latest mileage of the car.

Congrats for your new LUV. I too have an Ertiga ZDI. I bought it last year. Your pictures are awesome. Especially the one on Mumbai Pune Highway.

Best of luck and more miles to come with your LUV

Congrats for your new LUV. I too have an Ertiga ZDI. I bought it last year. Your pictures are awesome. Especially the one on Mumbai Pune Highway.

Best of luck and more miles to come with your LUV
Thank you minubasil

Ortega is a good car for highway drive incomparision to Xylo or Scorpio.
I feel more planted in Ertiga.

Congrats KALINGA on your new Ertiga. How much did 3M guys charge for the work

I own Ertiga ZDI and took it in Jul 2013.
Thank you fzzd2x.

I paid around 3000 for the job.
Color protection & normal waxing / interior wax etc.