"The Best Thing Ever Made by God is Two Wheels With an Engine Fitted Between Them.."
![Glasses [glasses] [glasses]](https://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/images/smilies/Glasses.gif)
Following the above mentioned word, though slowly but I have turned to motorcycling. Why motorcycling? C'mon yaar it has no A/C and can make me bite dust, face sun and rain and of course nothing like a metal cocoon to keep me safe from the outside elements. But then why the hell should I keep safe when I can live on the edge? No car is as much agile nor it is by any ways as much involving to drive as the two wheeled thing is. But then, animals move on 4 legs, men on two and I chose to be a man. "I am bored of cars!!"
Black Horse - My older P220 was working fine with around 40k kms on odo one day refused to start. I joined my hands, kissed him and even gave him the 'dhoop batti' treatment but still he was stubborn enough not to start at any cost. Finally I came down, engaged the second gear, caught the handle and started pushing it...ahh..I released the clutch and it started.
![Angel [angel] [angel]](https://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/images/smilies/Angel.gif)
Issue: It has started once, but will I do it daily..what in front of my friends, clients, father and above all..'her'
So Black Horse was tied in stable awaiting for a day to come when I'll be free and get him a brand new dry battery but that day never came.
Yet an another day at my home: Came my friend and within the talks he said "Yaar I want to buy a big bike, aren't you selling yours"? I refused straight ahead. Then came the night, I was sleeping and thinking "It is 40k kms old, it is older model, it was bought used, it's engine has leakage, both tyres need replacement etc etc". In other words, 'the Black Horse which was looking perfect to me till morning was now looking like it is filled with issues'.
Decision: Black Horse will be sold and even before I could change my decision, I sold it instantly and started the hunt for a replacement.
What motorcycle to go for? My requirements were:
- Displacement - Because it has no replacement!!
- Powerful engine.
- Rev happy engine.
- Moderate FE.
- Comfort.
- Performance.
- Reliability.
- Strong headlight for night rides.
- Good ride quality.
Vehicles Considered:
Bajaj Avenger: Comfortable cruiser and offers everything I needed but what about the confidence factor? I was never confident in riding it anywhere above 70-80 kph. The front disc loves locking and the switches felt old school Nothing else to complain, still the most comfy bike available under 1 lac.
Hero Karizma ZMR: First of all where has the word 'Honda' gone? Eh, will I buy a motorcycle whose name sounds so much weird? Still TDed it and found that the bike is very comfy and capable too. Confident and is dynamically very good. But what about that as-thin-as-of-cycle rear tyre and only 17 horses!! Naa...not the bike for me.
TVS Apache RTR 180 ABS: Only two things I liked in this motorcycle are confident handling and sharp brakes with an advantage of ABS. Father was shown this motorcycle and he was like "Isn't anything missing"? Out goes the Apache from the list.
Honda CBR 250 ABS: Comfortable, good performer, handling and brakes were just fantastic. Totally impressed and got ready to book one.
KTM Duke 200: I liked it but when showed to father he wasn't even ready to hear a word of favor for this motorcycle..'no means no'. Else it was the bike which impressed me most overall.
Bajaj Pulsar 200 NS: Hmm, it has nearly everything I needed - ride, handling, performance, rev happy with a smashing top end, grip and fantastic brakes. Then why not buy one? Just 4 days back the best friend bought one and already there are 3 in circle. Naa, I wanted something else, also the styling was not exactly as per my taste.
Bajaj Pulsar 220 F: Why the hell should I buy a Pulsar 220 again? Eh, still it ticked most of the boxes. Though CBR was most impressive but then it costs just double of what the P220 costs. It has got a headlight which is straight ahead comparable to cars and after looking at the red colored bike, all my father said was "arey yaar, isse le le...cost bhi theek hai and lag bhi acchi rahi hai(Buddy, buy this one..cost is also okay and looking good too)".
Okay, these lines added much more to 220, 'she' liked CBR but then 'she' is free to go to hell. I'll buy a Pulsar 220, that's it.
Went to dealership and inquired about price and all. Booked one with a promise that I'll take delivery on 16th(Birthday of someone) but then again came in father and said "13th is Akshay Tritiya, why not buy then"?
Finalized: A Red Pulsar 220 will be bought on 13th - Akshay Tritiya.
Let some pics speak now:
The name that is a brand in itself:
Transformer...
137 kms covered on day 1 itself:
One should be slow during run-in period hence no 125+ speeds!!!