Hyundai Fluidic Verna CRDi SX (O) 1.6

Thread Starter #1
Hola, señores!

WHY DID WE WANT A NEW CAR?

We bought a Hyundai Santro (the pre-Xing model) in 2001 and the car is still going strong eleven years later. In recent months, however, it had begun to show its age. Furthermore, a single car was no longer meeting our needs, so a new car was definitely an urgent need. I am an interior designer, and the car will primary serve as my workhorse vehicle. I drive around 1,000 kilometres per month, most of which is within the city limits. We will also occasionally go on long drives up the hills of Darjeeling, Sikkim and Bhutan.

WHAT DID WE WANT FROM IT?

One of the decisions made early on was that it would be a sedan. My father was quite fascinated with the Honda City and had made up his mind years ago that that would be our next car. And while a small car is far more practical in a small city like Siliguri, the heart is sometimes more influential than the brain.

The budget was set at around ₹10 lac and the list of requirements was pretty short: it had to be a Honda City. This is how the Santro was bought years ago (when I was too young to have any say in the matter), market research be damned, and this is how he wanted it to be this time.

But for me, the priorities were roughly in the following order:
  1. Equipment list
  2. Power
  3. Ease of city driving
  4. Seating comfort
  5. Mileage
  6. Handling
  7. Reliability
  8. After sales service

WHICH ONES DID WE CONSIDER?

My brother’s mind was set on the Chevrolet Cruze, which was significantly outside our budget. However, we had heard that it was possible to get the test driven vehicle from the dealer at steeply discounted prices and were expecting it to fall within our budget.

So that’s where we started…