Isuzu D-Max V-Cross Review & Pictures: Maximus Cross-Tourer

“Maximus Cross-Tourer”

Isuzu-D-Max-V-Cross-Front-Shot.jpg

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross Review Synopsis:
  • Isuzu D-Max V-Cross price starts at Rs.13.30 Lakh (Ex.showroom, Delhi).
  • The D-Max V-Cross rolled out in India on 4th May 2016. It's manufactured in Sri City, Andhra Pradesh.
  • This pickup is equipped with a 2.5L Diesel engine, producing 134 BHP and 320 Nm torque. ARAI claimed mileage: 12.4 Kpl.
  • Mammoth road presence, tough build, low-ratio gearbox, large cargo and highly comfortable cabin are some of its prime USPs.

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross: Introduction

Isuzu-D-Max-V-Cross-Scenic-Shot.jpg

The concept of pickup trucks isn’t as new to Indian market as it appears to be. Tata initiated it way back with options like Tata Mobile crew cab. Still, the pickups never gained any considerable acceptance in the private car market, while the commercial market found them to be the tool they had been looking for, for intra-city transportation of goods. What it resulted in? The private market was at complete ignorance, at least till beginning of 2006; when Mahindra took this bold step of launching the Mahindra Bolero Camper, 5-seats, power steering and AC (and that silver color). Although this offering gained near ignorable attention, it was actually the Mahindra Scorpio Getaway (launched in 2007) which was the first sincere attempt from any manufacturer to crack open this segment. Good engine, power, reliability and decent flexibility; all available at a price lower than Scorpio – still it never took off.

Come 2009 and Tata joined the bandwagon with the Xenon XT; it looked brilliant on paper and even better on the roads. What a head turner it was (and is). You bet? Enthusiasts rejoiced looking at some serious offering finally felling in, but the pickups with white plate fell in the niche category of our market. Xenon found buyers, a good number of them; but still remained in niche category – we can make out, Indian market isn’t yet matured to that level after all. It’s the Isuzu, which entered Indian market with high hopes. They launched D-Max in 2014 (and what a quick truck it was, in fact the most un-truck truck it was in our market) but it’s a single cab (space cab with slight space for luggage) and available only with yellow plates. In Auto Expo 2016, Isuzu showcased their new offering; the D-Max V-Cross.

Where the older D-Max used to look old and utilitarian, it’s the D-Max V-Cross that looks contemporary and has a breath of fresh air associated to it. It’s squarely targeted at the enthusiasts, rich farmers or small business owners; it indeed makes a lot of sense for all of them (Enthusiasts? Everything they love makes sense for them). It’s an Isuzu and Isuzu is a diesel engine specialist, their ladder frame diesels are no lesser than Toyotas’ when it comes to reputation, robustness and durability. So, with the same thoughts, we spent around 1,000 kilometers with this handsome pickup truck in varying conditions from city to highways to hills to off road. Did we come out impressed? Read on to find out.

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross: Exteriors Design

Isuzu-D-Max-V-Cross-Front-Quarter.jpg

“Yeh kaun si gaadi hai bhai (Which vehicle is this, brother)?” Asked the puzzled sub-inspector at Delhi-UP border, while we were getting our baggage checked (its election time). He stood up from his chair, walked to the pickup, looked around and said, “Private hi hogi, commercial toh nahi hoti aisi (It must be private, commercial vehicles aren’t like this)?” Impressed, he went back and waved us to leave. First impression, this pickup takes a lot of people by surprise. One look at the D-Max V-Cross, either you will love it or hate but you will look back again and won’t be able to ignore it. If there is anything under Rs.25 Lakh that can give you presence, substantiality, durability, off-road capability and turns heads wherever it goes, this is it. Within 30 minutes of our drive in Delhi, we had already lost the count of the heads which turned towards this pickup and equal was the number of stares we were getting (I may sound feminine, but I can now feel you girls).

The front is dominated by the large chrome grille with a large size ‘ISUZU’ badge sitting smack in the centre of it. High bonnet, XL size chrome grille, huge headlamps with projectors inside them, a well-sculpted bonnet, large and well shaped front bumper, large ORVM’s shod with chrome and a decent fit and finish. Look at the D-Max V-Cross and the Getaway or Xenon XT gets blown out of water in no time. This pickup makes its rivals looks obsolete in no time. So it looks like a modern pakka SUV? Well, it does. Side profile is where one makes out that this is not a full fledged seven seat SUV but is a pickup, albeit an appealing one. The first thing you notice is length, it simply won’t fit even tightly in the parking space designed to fit a Fortuner.

Isuzu-D-Max-V-Cross-Side-View-1.jpg

The front door is large while the rear door width is what you will notice. Yes, it looks small in width, but is still any ways usable. Although the pickup has flair of solidity associated to it and it shouts ‘adventure’ whichever way you look at it, it’s the long rear overhang that clearly tells you where the limitation lies, and it loves kissing the ground while off the road. Alloy wheels are rather simplistic but the bulky flared wheel arches give it a very masculine look. Although our test car didn’t have a boot lid, but its one addition that makes the D-Max V-Cross more versatile and even better looking in my personal opinion.

Rear is rather plain; I particularly like the rear view of Tata Xenon XT more than that of Isuzu D-Max V-Cross. The tail lamps extrude a bit out of the body and are rather a simple design with headlamps, reversing lights and indicators stacked over each other. The high mounted brake light is on the cab, the rear door get an XL-size ‘ISUZU’ sticker though, along with the vehicle name and engine capacity decals. What’s different from commercial ones is the presence of a proper rear bumper, which is basically made of steel with plastic on the top of it. There is no park assist and rear is high, don’t ask me how I know that a Hero Splendor parked behind your D-Max V-Cross won’t be visible to you. What shocked us was the omission of a rear tow hook though; this may make rescuing in some off-road situations, an impossible task. The tailgate is not light, nor has it got soft opening functioning like in the variants on sale in foreign lands. What we get here is a sturdy tailgate which is connected to the central locking of pickup. Open the tailgate, you will be surprised (You will be anyways, even without opening it), there is a good quality and well built bed liner all over the loading bay. Isuzu has taken care to cover entire loading bay and even the top portion at sides along with the tailgate. Additionally sturdy hooks are provided on all four corners of the loading bay for holding your load.

Isuzu-D-Max-V-Cross-Rear-Quarter.jpg

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross: Interiors Design

Isuzu-D-Max-V-Cross-Dashboard.jpg

Open the front door and this is where the surprise lies. If the exterior shouts adventure, the interior shouts ‘comfort’. The chrome door handles are nice to operate, pull them and the heavy door will open in a triple stage action. The footboard may look narrow (which it is) but it very sturdy. Grab the A-Pillar mounted handle and climb into the cabin. Overall, the ingress and egress are not an easy task, especially for elderly. Once in the driver’s seat, the first two things you notice are the steering wheel and the seat in itself. Both are nice, the height adjustable driver’s seat is well sized, shaped and cushioned. The seat may look a bit on the thinner side while looking from the sides, but it is surprisingly supportive for any medium size adult like I am. The steering wheel also has that robust feel, the rim is covered into the leather and the horn boss is sized just right. On the left hand side are the audio and Bluetooth telephone controls, while the right side has nothing. What I particularly liked is the way horn boss is put; you don’t need to stretch at all to make your thumb reach the boss while holding the steering rim.

The dashboard is finished in black and beige (I really don’t know why we need even a square inch of beige in an adventure vehicle) and is very identical to what we get in Chevrolet Trailblazer (Good for D-Max V-Cross). The plastic quality all around is definitely good and so is the fit and finish, compare it to the previous gen Toyota Fortuner, the fit and finish is comparable; easily better than the SUVs (no pseudo ones please) available at same or upto Rs.5 lakh higher price range. What I particularly appreciate are the ergonomics, everything is placed just right and you literally are comfortable reaching anything that the driver is supposed to reach. ICE is not standard, but Isuzu offers a decent touch screen ICE, which is covered in the pictorial review section.

Isuzu-D-Max-V-Cross-Steering-Wheel.jpg

The rear door is thinner as compared to the front one. It also opens and closes in a triple stage action and feels equally solid, but the issue is the size of the door. The door is less in width and doesn’t open fully too (also it is thick) and there are no grab handles to help you get in either, asking an elderly to get in and out will be a torture, I tell you. Don’t get scared, if you are young and healthy, there is enough of the space for you to slide in and out of the rear seats. That said, once you are inside, there is absolutely nothing to complaint of. The seat is well shaped and cushioned, well set too and there is ample headroom and legroom. What you won’t like though is that the seatback can’t be adjusted for backrest recline angle at all. You sit a bit upright, everything else is good enough. Overall with the choice of lighter textures for doorpads, lower dash, seats, roofline and pillars, along with a large window area makes for an airy cabin that no one will feel claustrophobic inside.

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross: Engine Performance

Isuzu-D-Max-V-Cross-Engine.jpg

As in Isuzu D-Max, the V-Cross too is equipped with the 2499cc in-line 4 cylinder engine which is BS-IV compliant in terms of emissions. The peak power output of this engine is 134 BHP @ 3600 RPM with the peak torque being 320 Nm spread from 1800-2800 RPM. Now coupled to the hefty kerb weight of 1,905 kilos, the power to weight ratio comes out to be 70.34 BHP/Ton while the torque to weight ratio comes out at 167.97 Nm/Ton. This translates into an adequate on the road performance, the D-Max V-Cross has got enough muscle to keep up with the fast moving traffic on the expressway, it’s only when you try to overtake an already fast moving XUV with an egoistic driver, the D-Max V-Cross gets caught (though he will let you overtake once, just to take a look at V-Cross from all angles).

Like any other ladder frame SUV or pickup, starting the D-Max V-Cross is also a shaky affair. Everything shakes for a second and then settles down. The engine definitely doesn’t sound as refined as say Mahindra 2.2 or Tata 2.2, but once the windows are rolled up, the NVH levels are well under control and you won’t have anything to complain of. Moving off from the standstill is when you discover that what this added kerb weight of over 210 kilos has done to the performance of the D-Max V-Cross. Since I have already driven the previous D-Max, it was well evident that this one is at least 2 seconds slower to 100 kph from a standstill. So, expect the D-Max V-Cross to touch 100 kph in the vicinity of 15 seconds (our time went past 15.4 with 4 on board). I attribute 1 second to the gearbox itself for its long throws and notchy action. The clutch is on a lighter side and is easy to live with; it is the gearbox which feels like it’s moving in a rubber box. Don’t get me wrong, it still shifts better than that of Xenon XT, but it’s not finger light to use, you always have to apply some force to slot into gears and the longer throws just make things worse, still, gearshift quality can be lived with. What will annoy many of the owners is the jerky nature of the gear lever, release the accelerator and press it again, you can notice a jerk at the gear lever – since I drive a lot with left hand holding the gear lever, and it was an annoyance for me at least. Overall, there is nothing major to complain about; it’s just that we would have liked it a bit better.

Isuzu-D-Max-V-Cross-Rear-Scenic.jpg

In terms of performance, power delivery is smooth. There's no sudden wave of torque, it's a very gentle shove you get and power delivery is overall linear. The meat of the power band lies between 1800 - 3500 RPM, in fact it’s at 1500 RPM that power starts building up and starts tailing off only after you have crossed 3500 RPM mark. That said, this engine is not rev happy at all and sounds quite strained once past 3500 RPM mark. Low end is just adequate, definitely not what you call as a strong low end (I drove this and a Thar back to back). Low end is enough to keep propelling the pickup even at 1000 RPM in any gear. You can engage third at 20 kph, fourth at 30-35 kph and fifth at 45 kph, the truck will keep on moving and will even pull away when you press the accelerator without any drama, on a flat surface; try the same on even 10 degree incline and it gets caught. Overall, the higher section of low end is where you have adequate power, on a hilly route; I could easily maintain the pace in 3rd gear itself keeping the speeds between 30-50 kph with crank spinning between 1500 - 2500 RPM. Up shift and the progress was again down and downshift meant only revs, so uphill drivers (I'm talking of lower Himalayas), the 3rd gear is the one you need to engage and keep driving on like an automatic.

On the highways, it is a relaxed cruiser and will be happy to stay in the fast lane. You can maintain anything above 75 kph in fifth gear itself, that is when your rev needle is a shade above 1500 RPM and 100 kph comes at a shade above 2000 RPM. In the fourth gear, you will have the rev needle holding on to 110 at around 3000 RPM (it does 55 at exactly 1500) with less revs to play but the Isuzu ready to jump like a wild cat. So, it is basically a vehicle which demands a relaxed foot overall, better opt for moderate to high speed cruising than trying to get into a sprint. NVH at this point, when you are doing 100 kph in fifth cog, is very good and you won’t have anything to complaint of, video attached for reference in video review section.

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross: Safety, Braking, Ride & Handling

Isuzu-D-Max-V-Cross-Front-Scenic.jpg

Doing duty up front is the independent double wishbone suspension with coil springs, while the rear is taken care by the leaf springs. We agree that leaf springs provide a robust load carrying capability, but with such a small payload capacity and considering the private users the vehicle is targeted at; a better setup could have been provided. That said, since there are leaf springs at the back, so the characteristic bumpiness in ride is also present at the back, especially when the loading bay is empty (but how many owners will roam around with 200 kilos of load?) That means, if you’ve the load then you have to compromise on performance and FE, or you will have to move around with the bumpy ride.

Up front, the suspension does its job quite well; rear is the one which even gets unsettled at times when you go past large bumps at speed. With large 245 section tyres and a GC of 225 mm, the Isuzu is literally capable of going over any kind of surface, it’s just that no matter what size the irregularity is, you feel it inside the cabin – ride quality is nowhere close to the plush ride that the likes of even Scorpio and XUV offer, Safari Storme is in a different league altogether. Straight line stability is really strong and you won’t feel even on the north of 100 kph while on a highway, in fact the handling overall is decent for a vehicle this size and weight; we can attribute a bit of it to the wide rubber any ways. Yes, this truck is tail happy and throwing the tail out while rallying on country roads is really easy, so better to drive this truck with a light to medium foot while taking corners on country roads or low grip surfaces.

Overall, driving it keeping the limitations in your mind and you are all safe and okay trying to push it to limits and you are definitely calling for trouble. Steering wheel is heavy, no two ways about that. I had to take a U-turn at a busy intersection in Rishikesh and I was literally pissed off. First, the vehicle itself is long, secondly the steering wheel is heavy, thirdly there is no reversing assistance and fourth is a w-i-d-e turning radius. So if you are trapped in a crowded area, just wish God that either you get a clean section, else taking a U turn will be a nightmare for sure.

Brakes are nothing exceptional; they are just acceptable and do the job. In fact I noticed that ABS kicks in very quickly (perhaps due to sharpness of brakes). While doing around 110 Kph around 5:30 am on NH-58, we encountered a broken down truck just next to a turn, with truck itself in the right lane and its spare tyre covering half of the left lane too. This is when I gave a hard input and steered right, I tell you guys; the handling is what saved us that day, the vehicle literally maintained its composure really well in spite of a sudden lane change at high speeds. Brakes, better you don’t rely on them completely while doing highway speeds – this is a 2 tonne vehicle after all, expecting the brakes to offer a hard bite is nothing but injustice. The pedal feel doesn’t help either, it will travel a bit long before it bites and when it bites, it bites in a way that ABS will get activated leaving you thinking if you really stomped that hard. Overall we found the braking performance to be good, if it isn’t exceptional; it is better than average anyways, but not excellent at least.

Kitna deti hai? Well, I personally was a bit disappointed is with the puny 55 liter fuel tank and overall FE wasn’t impressive either. Just for the sake of numbers, we got the vehicle with around 40 liters of fuel in the tank and we filled around 50 liters in it while undertaking a long journey. Total distance covered was around 940 kms and the range left while we returned the vehicle was around 50 kms. This consisted a total of early morning highway drive (this disappointed me) in eco mode, city drives, off road driving, rallying on country roads, hilly drive of around 100 kilometers and a short highway drive. So around 11 kilometers per liter was the figure we were able to churn out. Rest going by MID numbers, we managed to get the following figures:
  • City: 6-8 Kpl under different driving styles
  • Highways: 8 Kpl under hard drive, 12-14 kpl in eco mode early morning drive
  • Hills: Around 9.5 Kpl with uphill and downhill included.

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross: 4x4 and Off-Road Performance

Isuzu-D-Max-V-Cross-Off-Road-2.jpg

In terms of off-roading hardware, the Isuzu D-Max V-Cross comes equipped with a shift on fly 4x4 system that offers 3 switchable modes:
  • 2H: In this mode, the power will be transferred to only the rear wheels. This mode should be used to drive on regular surfaces like highways, streets or even the broken tarmac.
  • 4H (High range): In this mode, the power will be transferred to all four wheels. This mode should be used for driving on sand, gravel, mud etc low grip surfaces.
  • 4L (Low Range): This is the range with multiplied torque with low speed. To be used only in extreme off-road conditions or for jobs like towing something off road etc (we had to tow out the Thar from a situation, 4L simply did it all without any accelerator input). Oh yes, this is when we were literally pissed off over the missing rear tow hook.
Note: The above information can be found on driver side sun visor for reference.

2H to 4H and vice versa shift can be done on the fly up to a speed of 100 kmh, while in case you want to shift to 4L, then you need to stop the truck, get into neutral and then turn the knob to 4L by slightly pushing it, in a second the shifting will be done with 4L being displayed on the MID. That said, you get the display of the drive mode you are into, on the MID with a symbol for 4WD engagement. Although the overall visibility is brilliant, but it’s the long wheelbase and heavy kerb weight that make things a bit tricky for the D-Max V-Cross off the road. Unavailability of a limited slip differential or differential lock (like Xenon and Thar respectively) coupled to a long rear overhang makes the matter worse. So overall, if one plans to go off road in a D-Max V-Cross, the M/T tyres are a must (A/T too are fine, but M/T will make it competitive to some more extent) along with some other modifications like addition of lockers etc. Overall, Isuzu D-Max V-Cross is more suited for being an expedition or camping vehicle as compared to being a serious off-roader.

So, are we impressed? Well, if you need style and attitude - this is the vehicle for you, if you need flexibility - this is the vehicle for you, if you want heads turn to look at you - this is the vehicle for you. Well, if you need comfort and FE; it's better that you look somewhere else. Overall, we liked what this vehicle offers for the money it asks. I really can't demand anything more. This pickup from Isuzu is indeed a better alternative to likes of Tata Xenon or Mahindra Getaway, but buying it as your primary vehicle or for off-road adventures can be a wrong decision. What D-Max V-Cross is built for, it does that in a way like nothing else can, ask it to offer you the comfort of a full size SUV and you are in for being proven wrong. We would strongly suggest people look at this vehicle in case they are searching for a partner for their adventures or a vehicle that can help them transport small business items, still keeping them comfortable. So, are we impressed? Well, we regret handing back the keys of V-Cross to Isuzu, and we still have talk about it in every automotive discussion. Do I need to say more?

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross: You'll Love, You'll Loathe & Star Ratings

You’ll Love:[thumbsup]
  • Practical and tractable 2.5L engine with adequate performance and NVH.
  • Reasonable 4x4 hardware available like a proper low-range transmission.
  • Robust build quality. Arguably the best among pick-up trucks and betters some SUVs too.
  • Head turning ability. Macho styling and brilliant road presence. Love it or hate it, you can't ignore it.
  • Decent quality interior, fit, finish and features. It's spacious too and can comfortably seat 5 passengers.

You’ll Loathe: [thumbsdown]
  • Bumpy ride quality. Particularly for the rear passengers.
  • Nearly non-existent Isuzu after-sales network. On top of it, short service intervals of 5,000 Kms.
  • Cumbersome to drive in city. Very long, heavy steering and wide turning radius. No reverse assist either.
  • Limited off-road capability with heavy kerb weight, long wheelbase, open differentials and a l-o-n-g rear overhang.
  • Isuzus are usually reliable but our test car had rear suspension noise and airbag malfunction warning light on at just 8000 Kms.

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross Star Ratings:
  • Design and Quality.................:
  • Comfort and Features............:
  • Engine and Performance.........:
  • Handling and Ride Quality.......:
  • Safety and Security Levels.....:
  • Overall Fuel Consumption.......:
  • Sales and Service Network.....:
  • Value For Money Factor.........:
  • The Automotive India's Verdict:
Here's how to interpret above ratings: The Automotive India Reviews Star Ratings Explained.

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross: Price, Specifications, Comparison & Brochure

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross Price:
  • Rs.13,30,000 (Ex.showroom, Delhi)
  • Rs.13,40,000 (Ex.showroom, Mumbai)
  • Rs.13,50,000 (Ex.showroom, Chennai)
Isuzu D-Max V-Cross: Specifications:
  • Engine: 2499 CC
  • Power: 134 BHP @ 3600 RPM
  • Torque: 320 Nm @ 1800 - 2800 RPM
  • Transmission: 5 Speed Manual
  • Fuel Efficiency: 12.4 Kpl
General Specifications
  • Front Brakes: Disc
  • Rear Brakes: Drum
  • Front Suspension: Double Wishbone
  • Rear Suspension: Leaf springs
  • Fuel Tank: 55 Liters
  • Length: 5295 mm
  • Width: 1860 mm
  • Height: 1840 mm
  • Wheelbase: 3095 mm
  • Tyre Size: 245/70 R16
  • Turning Radius: 6.3 m
Isuzu D-Max V-Cross Exterior Colors:
  • Orchid Brown*
  • Cosmic Black*
  • Titanium Silver
  • Obsidian Grey*
  • Splash White
Note: Asterisk (*) denotes our preferred choice of colors.

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross: Videos Review

The NVH is indeed appreciable. Very less noise filters into the cabin from engine or suspension. Also notice the airbag malfunction warning light.

This truck is definitely not suited for hardcore off-roading, rest it performs good enough when taken from light to medium level off-roading.
Also notice the disadvantage of tall rear overhang. It's the bumper grazing the ground. Picture attached for reference.

That's how the obstacle got grazed while the rear came in contact with it.

This caused rear bumper to bend (it was anyways bent the moment we got keys). Here's a quick way to get it back into shape:

Climbing steep inclines off-road is easy. Even under medium grip situations.
Where it fails is when the departure angles are steep. Thanks to long wheel base as well as long rear overhang.

Rallying over bad surface is a cakewalk for the V-Cross

We love burnouts, don't we? Don't try this on tarmac!

Instrument cluster performs a self-check upon turning on. Here's a quick peek into MID features.

Isuzu D-Max V-Cross: Pictorial Review

No matter what angle, the Isuzu D-Max V-Cross looks handsome.

It’s a l-o-n-g vehicle. Maneuvering it in tight premises is a tough task.

But, adventure is what this pickup is meant for, it will take you to beautiful locations with ease.

Rather simplistic looking six spoke alloy wheels. They anyways carry a good strength.

With a lot of brake dust on them.

These large projector headlamps help giving a mean look, rest we wish the light throw was a bit better.

Good round fog lamps. Observe the screw slot above foglamp.

Taillamp design is rather simplistic. Brake light, turn indicator and reverse light stacked over each other, no rear fog lamps provided.

Stop lamp is mounted on the cab instead of the tailgate, unlike the Tata Xenon.

Regular wipers with twin-jet washer are functional.

Biker friendly ORVMs.

Chrome door handles feel robust and high quality. In fact; what doesn't feel robust on this pickup?

View with tail-gate shut.

Tail-gate handle is also chrome-coated. It works in sync with central locking.

The deck-area is huge.

Adventure spirit? Look at those cup-holders. For having some tea / coffee at a high mountain pass. :smile:

Inside the loading bay, you get proper robust hooks for tying up your luggage.

And yes, that tailgate is robustly put in place too. That's me, a 67 kilo guy sitting on it.

The rear overhang is l-o-n-g, limits the departure angle, also notice rear leaf springs.

Robust underbody. Spare is a steel wheel. Shocking omission is the absence of any type of rear tow hooks

Good metal engine guard is provided up front. Twin tow-hooks also provided but without a thought.

Now if the D-Max V-Cross is trapped in deep mud or slush, how will one locate them?

Metal rear bumper has upper section covered with plastic. It's a solid bumper.

Lower section was bent from the moment we got keys. Thanks to the long overhang + this bumper that it's prone to damage while going off road.

Roof is ribbed to provide additional strength.

Metallic roof rails and a long radio antenna.

Decent paint quality, still a lot of orange peel. We believe that Tata Xenon is best when it comes to paint quality.

Doorpads are full beige. We wish they were black at the bottom.

Driver-side buttons are backlit. Only driver’s window is auto-down. Auto-up feature is equally necessary IMO.

Unlike outside, no chrome over here. Only brushed silver finish - with robust build; like everything else.

On the right behind the steering wheel, you get ORVM and headlamp beam adjuster. ORVMs are electrically retractable too.

Steering gets audio and telephone controls on the left, that volume adjuster feels nice to operate.

Stalks don't feel very robust, they are exactly like what we get in other Indian cars.

The button on the right stalk at the end is for MID controls while the one on the left is a dummy.

Storage space is sufficient across the car.

Door pockets can hold the slim 1-liter bottles or half liter cold drink bottles easily.

ICE is not standard, but the one available as an add-on is a cool touch screen head unit which can play via CD, USB, Aux and Bluetooth.

USB and Aux-in ports

The V-Cross comes equipped with Automatic Climate Control. It's exactly same as the one we get on Chevrolet Trailblazer.

Scuff plates are illuminated in red, all four doors get them. They are also well integrated.

The armrest isn't padded. There's a storage space under armrest

Roof lamps are provided only at the front, with a sunglasses holder affixed with felt lining.

Roof lamps, press the light itself on the outer side to switch it on. Neat touch.

None of the gloveboxes are deep yet spacious enough. The upper one holds a tablet and lower one for docs, CD's etc. It's lockable too.

Chrome finished ORVM's have small turn indicators integrated.

No auto dimming for IRVM, but the view at back is fine. Still you won't spot a splendor parked close behind the D-Max V-Cross. Don't ask how I know.

Storage pockets on front seat-back.

This storage space can easily hold your smartphone, just below the steering wheel. Also notice the OBD port.

I had an issue with this cubby though, it's used to foul with my leg while operating the pedals.

Grab handles at rear get nifty coat hooks too.

Air conditioning is effective. What we dislike is that you can't completely close any of the vents. Also, no rear AC vents are provided.

Front passenger side sun-visor gets a vanity mirror. Additionally, driver side sunvisor gets 4WD system info, attached in off road pictorial review section.

Six way adjustable driver seat is comfortable and supportive, cushioning is a bit on the softer side though.

Pedals are well placed and well spaced. Dead-pedal is near useless.

Tall gear lever loves shaking, it gets a 5 speed manual unit.

Well shaped rear seat, like front ones; is soft in cushioning and supportive. Armrest is placed just right and seatbase is also shaped and sized right, with seat height also being fine. We wish, there was slightly more relaxed backrest angle though. Also notice the rear cup holders at the base of front armrest.

Rear seats get ISOFIX anchorage, this was indeed needed, will help keep child seat in place while going over rough surfaces, other than the safety it offers.

Child lock is key operated

This is indeed the machine of explorers.

Where the Mahindra Thar looks and feels butch, the Isuzu D-Max V-Cross looks comfortable, modern and more practical.

Thar developed a minor snag and required to be towed out of the off road ground. This is when we discovered the massive torque in first cog in 4L, D-Max V-Cross pulled the Thar all the way from minor inclines to some craters without even touching the accelerator in 1st gear in 4L. What is bad is the missing rear tow hook, we were forced to connect the towing cable to leaf spring mounting point with it wrapped around a couple of chassis components and then going to Thar.

Drive mode selector is located besides the handbrake. Push to select 4L. One can shift from 2H to 4H while on fly up to 100 kph, for selecting the 4L; you need to bring the vehicle to complete stop and shift to neutral.

Driver side sunvisor has info about 4WD system.

Long wheelbase limits the off-road credentials.

In spite of having 225 mm ground clearance, look how close the belly went to the edge (which is already softened).

Long rear overhang badly effects the departure angle...

...which can result in a damage to the rear bumper

Rear tyres offer a good amount of articulation.

You'll find lots of badges on all sides.

Now I am visible...[glasses]

Now I am not!

And...goodbye! [:)]

© TheAutomotiveIndia.com. Republishing the text or pictures anyway without prior consent of our authorities is strictly forbidden.​