Tata Aria Review & Pictures

Tata-Aria-Review.jpg

Tata Aria Review Synopsis: Tata Aria price tag is between Rs.10 – 15.43 Lakh (Ex.showroom, Delhi). It officially launched in India on 12th October 2010.

Not many of us are aware that originally the car named Aria was actually a sports car concept by Tata Motors which however never came into production, but now, Tata is using the same brand for their all new cross-over utility vehicle in India. Unveiled first a way back at Auto Expo 2010, New Delhi, Ever since then Tata Aria cross-over has always been the hot-talk of media, which also revived some expectations from Tata Motors and now, Finally after road testing one, we are confirmed to state that this car has road etiquettes as good as of an SUV and when it comes to comfort, this is no less than a luxury sedan. But what’s more does the Aria gets? Will it be able to perform well in the market with price tag which may get you a full-fledged SUV? Does it make worth to throw that money over? Let’s read on this review to find answers to all those questions.

Looks and Design.

Tata-Aria-Side-View.jpg

Once you look at the Aria, You can easily make out that this car belong to Tata family because Aria still uses that traditional cues which started with Indica years ago, wearing long vertical tail lamps, smiling front chrome grill and triangular’ish swept back style head lamps. Front looks, however, are class-apart and very modern but still, in some way, they keep reminding us of the recently launched Manza. The head lamps are classy looking, with projectors inside but front grill covered fully with chrome is again a Tata Motors trademark. The car appears as if it is sniffing and has heavy front stance, with big bumper and fog lamps which are placed slightly above than usual. Aria’s side profile may be confusing, although Tata calls it as a cross-over but this car is much alike to an MUV such as Toyota Innova but bulkier than that. Its rear glass ends in an inappropriate way, which designers at Tata could have well adjusted that extra flesh. The A-Pillar is seamlessly integrated well which climbs steep and travels straight above through B and C Pillars, and finally cutting down at the rear quarter D pillar. Those wheel arches which are bulged into huge proportions helps making it more muscular and ground clearance of 200 MM is absolutely sufficient enough. However, we were not very pleased rear design of the Tata Aria, and chances are that neither would you. This is where it shows the typical Tata character with vertical tail lamps of Indica added upside down. Nonetheless, rest is still much better though, as an example the rear windshield which is sized large to provide better rear view, neatly hidden reverse parking camera under chrome strip on boot, Also, the rear bumper accommodates a couple of stylish exhaust pipes too. :smile:

Tata-Aria-Front-Profile.jpg

Interiors and Comfort.

Tata-Aria-Front-Seat.jpg

Tata Aria is available in two interior color combinations: Beige with wooden finish and Black with Maroon combination, Needless to say, both are superbly appealing with latter option being a new idea. This heavy car comes with heavy doors and thus, it may take some effort to shut them correctly, but doubtlessly, all of them open very wide giving a warm welcome and resulting in absolutely easy ingress as well as egress, Especially if compared with other big utility vehicles. Being Tata’s flagship model, It feels way ahead and more comfortable than Safari, in which you require at least a ladder to climb up. Once sat inside, Aria promises to leave in many more surprises with lots and lots of features, and some of them being first in segment.

Front windshield is huge providing a clear panoramic view of world in front but the A-Pillar is not as thin as its competitors and leaves a small blind spot. Though, the ergonomics of Aria are not the best in class, but still better than previous Tata models. Quality of plastics has been apparently improved quite a lot but still there are some uninformed ones used inside throughout the car. For example, Cap of charging port feels cheap. Leather wrapped four spoke steering wheel is well designed and great to hold, It offers mounted controls of call receiving / disconnecting, Audio adjustment and even cruise control on top-end variant. You always ride high on Aria and the level of visibility is amazing which can be further adjusted by steering (reach and rake), manual seat height adjustment and lumbar support, long drives are all taken care of. Headroom, thigh support, lumbar support and knee room is all extravagant on the front, which even 6” footers can easily enjoy. But save it for the pedals position, which are placed somewhat closer and could obstruct the normal operation. You can’t also rest the left foot anywhere, because absence of dead pedal is just like adding oil to the flames.

Tata-Aria-Center-Console-Interior.jpg

The instrument cluster design feels little familiar with usage of various colors for different indicator icons, and offers other features like DIS which calculates lots of information including Average Fuel Efficiency, Instant Fuel Efficiency, Kilometers Covered, Trip Meter etc. The Air-conditioner with Climate Control proves to be really very effective; in fact the second and third rows also get their own separate vents. About the Audio System, it is nothing to write home about but for you - It's dual DIN unit which strictly offers average sound quality, and hence, don’t expect something like Outlander’s Rockford system. The integrated audio system features Aux-In, USB as well as Blue Tooth connectivity to make it simpler in every day use, Blue illuminated LCD display looks cool and provides information of the tracks being played in basic variants, where as the top end gets a complete GPS Navigation system, which is simply remarkable feature for India. And finally you won’t have to roll down the windows on every turn to ask on-goers “Rasta kidhar hai?” (Where's the way?), which is an everyday story in country like ours.

The glove box is cooled but small; Yet Magazine / bottle holders on doors are pretty big to hold 1.5 Liter cans easily. Front seat has different arm rests for passenger and driver, but as a result, handbrake hides under them. Also, Front Cup holders are hidden below the A/C controls and pops out as a charm at a press of button. The sun glass holder is positioned just at the ride hand side top of the driver’s seat. And that's not all; look out the roof for an array of compartments going till the last row, making total of 7+ compartments on the roof to store anything you want. The 2nd row seating is extremely comfortable, It is well reclined with good headroom and knee room. The seat is 60:40 split in second row; however, third row is strictly for average sized adults. Nevertheless, what’s always assured with Aria is that you would never complain about storage space, and boot sets as a right example which has lots of space still available, even with all three-rows up.

Tata-Aria-Rear-Seat.jpg

Engine and Gearbox.

Tata-Aria-Tyre.jpg

Generally, Tata SUVs have beast under their hood, and this time again with Aria it comes as a no surprise. The 2.2Liter Dicor Engine with variable turbine technology and twin overhead camshaft produces 140 BHP of raw power @ 4000 RPM and 320 Nm of torque @ 1700 - 2700 RPM. Crank the engine and you will be into a greater surprise, Gone are those days of vibration and jerky starts, Aria is way ahead of old generation diesel hearts and doesn't growls much like old generation Safari or Sumo. Once the engine is turned ON, You absolutely do not feel any vibrations inside the cabin and may rather doubt whether the engine is even ON or not.

Tata Aria can be maneuvered with ease, Move it on to bumper-to-bumper traffic or bury your pedals down in an open stretch, Engine is very Powerful, Smooth and quite sharp to understanding your inputs. The gear knob is light to hold and there is no vibration felt at any point of time. Slot in the 1st gear and just tap the accelerator, Now you are set to race. Aria red-line’s top speed of 40 kmph in 1st gear and pulls up close to 80 kmph in second gear, where as at third 3rd gear it clinches the 120+ kmph mark.

Advanced Dicor Engine is really mature to handle, Aria easily cruises at 20 kmph in 3rd gear. We tried pushing to the maximum extent on the city outskirts beyond more than 100KmPH, and yet there were no squeaks, rattles or body roll. Yes, this is perhaps the first Tata without body roll and we’re let impressed with its utter refinement.

Tata-Aria-Alloy-Wheel.jpg

Performance and Safety.

Tata-Aria-Instrument-Cluster.jpg

As we said earlier, probably the 2.2 Dicor which does its duty on Aria is one of the most refined Diesel engines in India till date. Now, when it comes to handling, this car stays ahead of league, starting from the 5.6mm turning radius which is equivalent to the sedans. This keeps you blaze through any tight traffic in City. The Gearing ratios are also greatly improved in comparison with Safari. Gear shifts aren't short throw, but well calculated mid throw helps you slotting in the gears perfectly. Gear knob is easy to hold but the level is placed a little down than which makes gear shifts tougher if your hand is on the armrest. Steering wheel returns positive feedback, especially 100 kmph, EPS cuts off and hydraulic steering comes into place. Also, with the help of Independent Double wishbone Front Suspension and 5-Link Rear Suspension along with firm chassis setup, Aria makes the journey a comfortable one.

Moreover, The first in class All Wheel Drive ‘4X4 Adapterra’ system is capable to handle almost any terrains of India and advanced traction control system adds as bonus. Rushing from 0 to100 is not class leading, but considering the size and weight of Aria which is 2720 Kgs, 20 seconds is fairly an ok-ok figure. Apart with this, all four wheels feature disc brakes along with Anti blockier system as well as EBD and TCS. Six airbags also do a good favor to safety of occupants inside.

Tata-Aria-Indicators-on-Side-Mirror.jpg

Fuel Efficiency and Verdict.

Mileage is not the biggest advantage of heavy utility vehicles, and with Aria, You can expect to achieve approx. 8 Kpl to 9 Kpl in City and 14 to 15 Kpl on the Highways. However, The 4X2 mode would help you getting slightly better than figures mentioned above, and considering large tank size of 60 Litres, You can push up to at least 750+ Kms in a single stretch without requiring to re-fuel again.

Tata-Aria-Vertical-Indicators.jpg

Overall Tata Aria makes a wonderful comprehensive package which is suitable for all type of buyers, from a family to businessmen or a travel junkie but when Tata Motors revealed the pricing of Aria, we happen to hear mixed reactions, those who thought it’d compete with Innova were disappointed, where as the others who believed it to be in Toyota Fortuner segment jumped with a joy. That is why; it would really make an interesting story to watch the sales figures of Aria in forthcoming months. But just in case, You were looking for a luxurious car like a sedan (Yes, sedan) which should also have character of an SUV to handle rugged Indian roads, You must check the Aria out, in person.

Likes, Dislikes and Ratings.

Tata-Aria-Rear-View.jpg

What We Like In Tata Aria? [thumbsup]

• Stylish Looks and Design.
  • Refined Diesel engine from Tata.
  • Decent ride and handling quality.
  • First in-class features like GPS, AWD etc.
  • Spacious cabin with loads of storage spaces.
What We Dis-Like In Tata Aria? [thumbsdown]

• In-consistence panel gaps at few places.
  • Third row's leg room is not adequate.
  • Low-positioned gear knob makes difficult to use armrest.
  • No dead pedal, and other pedals placed too close.
The Automotive India Star Ratings

• Design and Quality:
    (4.0/5)
  • Comfort Levels:
    (4.5/5)
  • Performance:
    (4.0/5)
  • Ride Quality:
    (4.5/5)
  • Handling:
    (4.0/5)
  • Fuel Efficiency:
    (3.5/5)
  • Safety:
    (5/5)
  • After Sales Service:
    (3.5/5)
  • Value For Money:
    (4.5/5)

Price and Specifications.

Tata-Aria-Head-Lamp.jpg

Price:

• Pleasure: Rs.12,90,900 (Ex. Showroom Delhi)
  • Prestige: Rs.14,13,000 (Ex. Showroom Delhi)
  • Pride: Rs.15,50,000 (Ex. Showroom Delhi)
Engine:
Max Power: 138BHP @ 4000 RPM
Max Torque: 320NM @2700 RPM
No. of Cylinders: 4

Transmission:

• 5 Speed Manual
Suspension:

• Front: Independent Double Wishbones
  • Rear: 5 Links with Coil Springs
Brakes:

• Front: Ventilated Discs
  • Rear: Discs
Wheels/Tires:

• Alloys, 235/65 R17

Dimensions:

• Length: 4780mm
  • Width: 1895mm
  • Height: 1780mm
  • Wheelbase: 2850mm
  • Ground Clearance: 200mm
  • Fuel Tank Capacity: 60 Liters

Pictures Speak.

Tata-Aria-Front-Quarter-View.jpg

Tata-Aria-Logo-On-Grill.jpg

Tata-Aria-12V-Charging-Point-with-Lamp.jpg

Tata-Aria-AC-Vent-on-Pillars.jpg

Tata-Aria-AC-Vents.jpg

Tata-Aria-Boot-Space.jpg

Tata-Aria-Front.jpg

Tata-Aria-Front-Door-Interior.jpg

Tata-Aria-Gear-Lever.jpg

Tata-Aria-Interior.jpg

Tata-Aria-Keys.jpg

Tata-Aria-Large-Boot-Space.jpg

Tata-Aria-Power-Window-Controls.jpg

Tata-Aria-Rear-Seat-AC-Vents.jpg

Tata-Aria-Rear-Seat-Armrest-Storage-&-Storage.jpg

Tata-Aria-Roof-Storage.jpg

Tata-Aria-Toolkit.jpg

Road Test Credits

• Road Test & Photography: Zinam
  • Text & Format: 350Z
(C) The Automotive India. All rights reserved. Our content such as reviews, images etc. can not be reproduced in any form without written permission of our authority.

@ Raj Ha ha but i knew this review is coming up here. Notice the Automotive India sticker at the rear glass of the car , Zinam TD this car just before me. After noticing the sticker i straightaway called Zinam and he said this is the best car from TATA motors till now and asked me to go ahead with the booking. Now do you understand why i was happy after the TD?:smile:

@ Zinam Great job bro and excellent photos. Panels gaps were there but still lot lesser when compared to Vista , Manza and Safari! The only thing i hated was the pedals in the car! They are placed too close and there is absolutely no space on the left of the clutch to rest the foot which can be pretty tiring in city traffic driving!

Excellent review again guys. Well done.

Since this is first Indian crossover, so there is no benchmark of pricing or sales figure. I am sure Tata must have done some basic research for Pricing Aria, why I am saying is because normally Tata prices its vehicles very nicely.

Yes this is indeed loaded with the features, I am still waiting to see one on-road.

Excellent report guys. I will be I am stil not sure about the plastic quality which has been used. In the pics itself some bit are looking cheap. But then the features it offers and that too at an unbelievable price makes it a complete VFM package. I am pretty happy with the safety features. 6airbags, awesome. With this, i think even Mahindra will bring its World SUV with equally competitive features although i know that its a different breed altogether.

Another great job guys, Congrats!

the features are good but have doubt for quality.

If i am not mistaking this is the outcome of the first concept of Tata in 4-wheelers,even before Indica... The Tata Indiva. It was displayed in 1997-98 at Frankfurt motor show(most probably)

But the design of Aria is a bit different than Indiva but features are similar