1986 Maruti SB308 Restoration: My Little Green Submarine

Thread Starter #1
A big hello to everybody.

Its my first time at Automotive India. I'm from Bangalore and have been driving a 1986 Emerald Green Maruti SB308 for over 12 years now. We bought this little green submarine back in 2000 from an owner who wanted to get rid of an old broken down maruti. I also have a story for naming it like I have but its a story for another day.

IMG_20140502_113314652.jpg

IMG_20140502_113300137.jpg

At that time when the purchase was made, the reason was merely utilitarian in nature; a cheap Indian car to take us from one place to another. We bought it for 40 thousand rupees and put in another 20 to get the tyres and other replacements put in so that it would function well. At that time, it pretty much had all the original parts. I'm no expert but my driver at that time, who used to ferry my father to office, told me that it was a "100% original" or whatever it means. For me, there was no affection, the kind that I have for it now. It was just another car that I drove around when my Santro had very little fuel. (My father always kept the fuel talk full [;)])

IMG_20140502_113346427.jpg

IMG_20140502_113354967.jpg

We have been taking things out and throwing in some as and when our mechanic felt that some parts was due for replacement. The changes were numerous and it would be difficult to list out all the important and rare spares that we might have lost in the process. I do feel a sense of regret to write this simply because it just drive home the phrase "you never know what you have lost until its gone." The original engine was replaced for a newer engine in 2006 or 07 which is my biggest regret. But I have moved on and am trying to bring back this little wonder of a car to its original glory days to whatever extent that I can.

IMG_20140502_113248293.jpg