Using Used Car Parts For Restoration Project

Thread Starter #1
hello guys,
Received a warm welcome from you guys and i want to start off with a boost.
The reason i have named this thread as used car parts thread is to find out a few ideas as to what you guys feel about used car parts when it comes to restoration.
I have been doing my research on this field for the past 6 months and when it comes to antique restoration parts is the greatest test.
So guys feel free to talk about your restoration and i would like to be of some help.
I strongly believe in personalization and when it comes to rebuild/restoration i use my mechanics as my vehicle growth drivers whereas the rest 80% is prue planning and to industrial standards.Feel free to discuss the various drawback we face with the mechanics and i have developed a few steps to make sure the mechanic-client relationship is a smooth one and at the same time we can discuss the pro's and cons of putting used car parts.[:)]

Hi Ruthvik

Happy to be the first person to reply in this thread[:)] As far as use car parts is concerned there is many +ves and also it has its own fair share of problems. I got this experience while restoring my uncle's 1973 Fiat. It was Mysore state (Karnataka) registration MEE ! He bought it from Mangalore in 1995. My uncle was the second owner. The guy maintained the car well for about 22 years. Initially the car was running with the original Fiat Petrol engine. My uncle also used it with gas. Its engine was pretty silent and performed well for 3 years. One fine morning in 1998, its engine totally gone!

Since his usage was frequent, he thought of fitting a diesel engine to it. During those days, conversion of diesel engine was so popular. He proceeded with engine conversion work at Pollachi. (A small town in Coimbatore district.)

The positives and negatives were as follows after the conversion:

+ves:

* We got a used Mazda diesel engine with turbo[lol] for a reasonable price for about 40000.