Car Detailing - Help For Beginner in Limited Budget

Thread Starter #1
Something about myself
1 i am a student and am strictly on a budget as my fatherwill never be willing to spend a lot on "car wash" according to him
2 I have 2 cars - a silky silver 2013 ritz , a golden city 6 years old. Both are light colours.
3 both cars have covered parking and the usage is less than 500kms individually for both cars in a month.
4 I recently started reading about detailing aaand found it quite confusing.At last I came across 5 detailing steps by meguiars and following this i started building my detailing kit.

these are the products i have or have ordered till now

1 wash - a local car wash shampoo ( although some iso 9001:2008 certified company ) - used it and it is ok . after applying you have to waiy for sometime and then scrub to remove dirt
-plan to buy amway shampoo costs just 250/- and have read good reviews

2 clay - have ordered clay from notorious for 300/-

3 paint correction - wurth rubbing compound - used it it only removes small scratches
waxpol finishing compound - used it and totally useless
stain remover again local company - excellent in removing scratches but harms paint
4 polish - meguiars ultimate polish - used it and am not impressed at all
5 turtle hard shell premium wax - excellent product till now
6 armorall extreme tyreshine gel - excellent again
7 some MF cloths and some banyan cloths
8 diesel,petrol,colin,toothbrush etc.
9 armorall carpet& uphol foam - used it ok product
10 stp sun of a gun protectant - used it ok product again
11 onr wash nd wax - ordered still havnt used

Gurus any suggestions ( which are vfm ) Am i going the right way??

and some particular questions -
1 why megs ultimate polish doesnt show much improvement im my car ( is it becoz they are light coloured ). What should i get for light coloured cars .
2 is there any better products in my budget ( in any category )