How To: Accident Third Party Claims & Insurance etc.

Thread Starter #1
This is an article I wrote long back, when I was still a law student. Though I have now revised many sections of the article based on present knowledge. Still scope for improvements etc. :)
This article covers what you should do in an emergency road accident situation - especially when death/injuries are involved.

I also work in the insurance industry in legal department though I am not in motor third-party claims. So feel free to ask questions and I will try to answer to the best of my ability and knowledge, though I cannot guarantee the correctness and validity of answers and I don't want to answer anything specific to any particular incident. Please take your lawyer's help in all accident situations.

Above all, it is mandatory to inform the police and your insurance company ASAP whenever third party injury / death or property damage is involved.

Any suggestions/corrections always welcome!

Full article here:
Hari's Corner - Road accident cases - how to deal with emergencies

Last edited:
Let's me input a scenario.

An SUV "X" hits an sedan "Y" with turning in a road. Y was in a main road and X was coming in a cross road. Since X had crash guard, nothing was damaged except few scratches on crash guard. Where Y had a ruptured bumper, broken headlight and dent in fender. X's driver agrees that it's his fault.

In the above scenario, Is it possible to claim via 3rd party insurance for Y ?
Is it compulsory to get an FIR for claiming 3rd party ?
Since X's driver is agreeing it's his mistake, Can't we just take written statement and X's insurance details from X's driver and submit to Y's insurance ?

@ harishankar