30th December 2012, 01:37 PM
|
#421 | V4
| Re: Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero Quote:
Originally Posted by Tornado @dr_d esai , you too , seems to be believer of above mentioned thought.
@ drdesai, It seems that you were unsatisfied with the power and torque of existing storme for the price during TD.Can you please give details on Storme road test review thread,where exactly you felt it inadequte apart from brochure?
And it will be OT here to discuss Gold vs storme vs fortuner, if you want to discuss it please start a new thread. | The storme is absolutely superb. There is no doubt about it. But if you have option of same car with more power and more torque naturally choice would be for higher power.
Now a days body over frame design is used for SUVs with big engine size.Diesel engine with 2 to 2.2 L capacity the prefered choice is unibody.Certainly high speed handling is better in suv with unibody design.
Fortuner has massive 3 litre engine and very much suitable for serious off roading with body over frame design. It has a reputation of Landrover and special edition of it ( namely FORTUNER HEAVY DUTY ) is very popular in African countries.
Yes for on road use MUV like Gold and Innova gives very supple ride than the fortuner.Fortuner is extremely rugged in all aspects. |
| |
30th December 2012, 01:41 PM
|
#422 | V12
Originally Posted by dr_desai The storme is absolutely superb. There is no doubt about it. But if you have option of same car with more power and more torque naturally choice would be for higher power.
Now a days body over frame design is used for SUVs with big engine size.Diesel engine with 2 to 2.2 L capacity the prefered choice is unibody.Certainly high speed handling is better in suv with unibody design.
Fortuner has massive 3 litre engine and very much suitable for serious off roading with body over frame design. It has a reputation of Landrover and special edition of it ( namely FORTUNER HEAVY DUTY ) is very popular in African countries.
Yes for on road use MUV like Gold and Innova gives very supple ride than the fortuner.Fortuner is extremely rugged in all aspects. | Dr Saab ,
Did you drive the storme ? If yes can you kindly post your view here http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/fo...tml#post242211 |
| |
30th December 2012, 04:45 PM
|
#423 | V10
Award Points: 20
Originally Posted by dr_desai
Yes for on road use MUV like Gold and Innova gives very supple ride than the fortuner.Fortuner is extremely rugged in all aspects. | Please , provide a link , if possible. if at all there is any. |
| |
30th December 2012, 06:22 PM
|
#424 | V10
Originally Posted by Tornado Please , provide a link , if possible. if at all there is any. | Buddy,what about your UV purchase decision:Bolero or GOLD? |
| |
30th December 2012, 06:43 PM
|
#425 | V10
| Re: Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero @xover , answered you at # 381. |
| |
30th December 2012, 06:45 PM
|
#426 | V10
Originally Posted by Tornado @xover , answered you at # 381. | LOL...I do remember that.What I want to know is any progress in the decision process? |
| |
30th December 2012, 07:11 PM
|
#427 | V10
| Re: Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero Got distracted by storme , culprit : brutally thought pricebracket , dad is not in hurry.
Last edited by Tornado; 30th December 2012 at 07:14 PM.
|
| |
3rd January 2013, 08:45 PM
|
#428 | V4
| Re: Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero Tata Sumo sale for the month of November 2012 was 2959 and now within one month the sale is dropped to just 1451 units in December 2012. A heavy drop of over 50 % .
I think that the look of this SUV is not attracting buyes. Even the heavy discount offer has not worked ! |
| |
3rd January 2013, 09:23 PM
|
#429 | V12
| Re: Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero Dr.Desai
Sumo is most seen as a TAXI by everybody !! so either TATA has to name is as a Taxi something like Dzire Tour or do a good amount of facelift and keep it under a 6 to 8 lakhs bracket as a MUV |
| |
4th January 2013, 06:26 AM
|
#430 | Moderator
Originally Posted by dr_desai Tata Sumo sale for the month of November 2012 was 2959 and now within one month the sale is dropped to just 1451 units in December 2012. A heavy drop of over 50 % .
I think that the look of this SUV is not attracting buyes. Even the heavy discount offer has not worked ! | I too am surprised with the numbers it has given for the month of December, It was constant in 3k mark and was serving the market well, though it is December, but this kind of fall isn't expected.
Meanwhile Bolero takes 4th place which was occupied by Wagon-R by 9~k units. |
| |
4th January 2013, 08:07 AM
|
#431 | V4
| Re: Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero car sales traditionally drop in december as most people put off buying for the new year
One of the reasons could probably be to get the new year as the manufacturing year on the chasis, I had myself asked for this but was told that if I want a 2013 vehicle, I need to wait till mid march or april
The sales guy that I booked my vehicle from sells an average of 11-14 sumo gold in a month
This december would see good sales for maruti as they have officially announced upto 25000 increase in price across all models from january
by the way I kind of like the boxy plain looks of the sumo
Last edited by brijeshpillai; 4th January 2013 at 08:10 AM.
|
| |
5th January 2013, 10:36 PM
|
#432 | Moderator
Originally Posted by brijeshpillai by the way I kind of like the boxy plain looks of the sumo | So did my dad today when he sat inside the car, he's inclined towards it while i am forcing him to Bolero! Another confusion |
| |
5th January 2013, 10:38 PM
|
#433 | V4
| Re: Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero your dad seems to be a connoisseur
Last edited by brijeshpillai; 5th January 2013 at 10:41 PM.
|
| |
5th January 2013, 10:43 PM
|
#434 | Moderator
Originally Posted by brijeshpillai your dad seems to be a conneseiur | That's the right word for it. Yep he's fond of spacious interiors in cars as well. |
| |
8th January 2013, 02:40 PM
|
#435 | V10
Originally Posted by Vishwas That's the right word for it. Yep he's fond of spacious interiors in cars as well. | So did you TD GOLD?If yes,then what's your likes and dislikes about the vehicle,especially when compared with Bolero? |
| | Thread Tools | Search Thread | | | All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:10 PM. |