Coverage: Volvo XC40 Compact SUV Launched

Volvo Cars India shall launch their Compact SUV, the XC40, in India in mid-2018 as per their Official Website.

shot-20171215-24317-iwvg4u.jpeg

Re: Volvo XC40 Compact SUV Launching in Mid-2018

We will be attending the Official Launch of the Volvo XC40 on 04th July @ Delhi. Detailed Coverage of the launch assured as always[:)]

We attended the Official Launch of the Volvo XC40 today in New Delhi. The XC40 is launched at Rs. 39.9 Lakhs Ex-Showroom. Here is the Official Coverage of the launch event by The Automotive India.

20180704_114644.jpg

IMG_4184.JPG

IMG_4185.JPG

IMG_4192.JPG

IMG_4211.JPG

IMG_4216.JPG

IMG_4217.JPG

IMG_4218.JPG

IMG_4221.JPG

Brand & Product Presentation

20180704_125335.jpg

20180704_125357.jpg

20180704_125445.jpg

20180704_125458.jpg

20180704_125520.jpg

20180704_125528.jpg

IMG_4188.JPG

IMG_4200.JPG

IMG_4201.JPG

IMG_4202.JPG

Sharing of these pics needs full credit to The Automotive India.​

*Videos coming soon.

I cant believe what I am seeing here. They have confused length of the vehicle for width, and width of the vehicle for wheelbase. What the heck was going on??

Videos from the Launch Event of XC 40

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MdGeKq5lXVA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7b703OTnBNk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpcKrmcgp8Q

Sharing of the Videos needs full credit to The Automotive India​

I cant believe what I am seeing here. They have confused...... width of the vehicle for wheelbase. What the heck was going on??
Correct and that is there in all 3 comparo slides. This is a mistake from marketing team I guess. For reference, I am attaching the pic of the dimensions of XC40 from the brochure

20180705_142319.jpg

@Akash, This is Volvo, for goodness sake, not a jugaad Tractor company. Totally unprofessional and not expected. Whats the rush in putting up a show, before carefully reviewing anything? I wonder how their European bosses would look at it.

I am with you on it bro. What's more baffling to me is the fact that this serious error got overlooked even in the rehearsals prior to the actual media launch. Thanks for bringing it up bro. I have noted it as well.

This is a CBU right? So the Ex showroom is competitively priced but I guess due to being a CBU, there would be quite a high road tax slapped on this? I mean a 39 ex car will come to 47-48 on road I guess..

The fully electric XC40 SUV – Volvo’s first electric car and one of the safest on the road

Sep 25, 2019 ID: 257570
The advance of electric cars constitutes the biggest change in the history of the automobile. For the first time in over a century, cars move without a petrol or diesel engine in the engine bay and have a battery in the floor, changing the car at its core.

With the introduction of the forthcoming fully electric Volvo XC40 SUV next month, Volvo Cars is not just launching its first fully electric car – in true Volvo tradition, it is also introducing one of the safest cars on the road, despite a fresh set of challenges presented by the absence of an internal combustion engine.

“Regardless of what drives a car forward, be it an electric machine or combustion engine, a Volvo must be safe,” says Malin Ekholm, head of safety at Volvo Cars. “The fully electric XC40 will be one of the safest cars we have ever built.”

While building on the excellent safety standards of the original XC40, Volvo Cars safety engineers had to completely redesign and reinforce the frontal structure to deal with the absence of an engine, meet Volvo Cars’ high safety requirements and help keep occupants as safe as in any other Volvo.

“The fundamentals around safety are the same for this car as for any other Volvo. People are inside, and the car needs to be designed to be safe for them,” says Malin Ekholm.

To help keep passengers safe and the battery intact in the event of a collision, Volvo Cars also developed a new and unique safety structure for passengers and battery alike in the XC40. The battery is protected by a safety cage which consists of a frame of extruded aluminum and has been embedded in the middle of the car’s body structure, creating a built-in crumple zone around the battery.

The battery’s placement in the floor of the car also has the benefit of lowering the center of gravity of the car, for better protection against roll-overs.

Meanwhile, the car’s body structure has not just been reinforced in the front, but also at the rear. Here, the electric powertrain has been integrated in the body structure to realise a better distribution of collision forces away from the cabin and reduce the strain on people inside the car.

In terms of active safety systems, the battery-powered XC40 also introduces new technology. It is the first Volvo model equipped with a new Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS) sensor platform with software developed by Zenuity, the joint venture company owned by Volvo Cars and Veoneer.

The new ADAS platform is a modern, scalable active safety system that consists of an array of radars, cameras and ultrasonic sensors. Because of its scalable nature it can easily be developed further and lays the foundation for the future introduction of autonomous drive technology.

Volvo Cars will reveal more details about the fully electric XC40 in the coming weeks, before it will be first shown to the public on October 16.