Renault Kwid 1.0 AMT

Renault Kwid 1.0 AMT details

renault-kwid-10-amt-to-debut-early-next-year-video-photo-gallery-97907_1.jpg
170448236.jpg

Renault recently introduced a 68hp 1.0-litre petrol engine on the Kwid that gave the entry-level hatchback a much needed spring in its step. Come November 9, 2016, the Kwid 1.0 will be launched with the option of a five-speed automated manual transmission (AMT) also known as, in Renault speak, an 'Easy-R' gearbox. With this, the Kwid will become the only rival to the Alto K10 AMT, with the other rivals being the smaller Nano and the Celerio above. Unlike the manual version of the Kwid 1.0 – offered on the RxT and RxT(O) variants – the AMT gearbox will be available only on the fully loaded RxT(O) variant. As a result, it will come with a driver-side airbag as standard.

Here’s a look at the Kwid 1.0-litre Easy-R’s equipment list:

• Touchscreen infotainment system with navigation, USB, Bluetooth audio streaming and aux-in
• 12V power socket
• Remote keyless entry with central locking
• Front power windows
• Foldable backrest
• Rear parcel tray
• Front fog lamps
• Passenger-side ORVMs

Besides the touchscreen infotainment system, which has been one of the highlights of the Kwid, a unique feature of the Easy-R version is the dash-mounted rotary knob controller for the AMT gearbox. It has three modes – Drive (D), Neutral (N) and Reverse (R). This is unlike any of the other AMT gearboxes seen on cars so far in India, that are controlled via gear stalks offered on automatics. The AMT Kwid also gets an additional storage recess in the place where the gearlever would reside.

When it comes to pricing, there is nearly a Rs 45,000 difference between the Maruti Alto K10 and its AMT-equipped variants. Hence, it's safe to say that the Renault Kwid 1.0 Easy-R will be costlier than the regular Kwid 1.0 RxT(O). Expect its ex-showroom, Delhi price to be around the Rs 4.5 lac mark. To know more about the Renault Kwid AMT

Nice car and nice gear shifting in gears[:)]

The biggest concern is the placement on the knob as it is inconvenient to reach out to the knob to change gear/mode every time. If it would have been placed where the conventional gear levers are or as a stack behind the steering, it would be more convenient (my personal thinking and feedback).

The second is as there is no creep function available, the roll back on inclines would be a challenge in AMT avatar.

my main concern is lack of manual mode in kwid AMT [anger] im wondering how well it controlls at inclines.

im waiting for kwid AMT for a while but im dissappointed lack of manual controls [cry]

2016 Renault Kwid AMT review, test drive

The Kwid’s success came as no surprise. In a segment full of bland cars, it stood out with its SUV-like looks, its good list of features, especially the much-coveted touchscreen, and unlike what was expected from a small car, it offered space and a decent ride as well. Not one to take it slow, in just 11 months since the car's launch, Renault added a 1.0-litre engine option to the line-up as well.

The Kwid has won over 90,000 customers since its launch in September 2015, and has vaulted itself into the league of market leader Maruti. To further strengthen its appeal, the carmaker has now introduced an automatic gearbox on the 1.0-litre variant. Once the preserve of only higher-segment cars, automatic gearboxes are now sought after in the budget segment too, thanks to the affordable AMT technology.

On the styling front, the Kwid 1.0 AMT looks just like the regular car, except for a small ‘EASY-R’ logo at the rear. The AMT is also only offered on the top-end RXT (O) trim which offers a driver airbag as standard.

What's it like on the inside

What sticks out, or rather does not, is the lack of a gear lever. In its place is a fairly deep storage space. Where all other AMTs have a gear lever to select the driving mode, the Kwid has a dash-mounted rotary knob instead. The next surprise is the inability to manually influence a gearshift, as there is no lever to tip or paddles to flip, and the knob only offers three choices, forward, backward or neutral. The AMT tuning then had better be spot on. Renault has given the Kwid AMT a setup unlike others and a lot of the work has been done in-house working closely with Bosch for the hardware and FEV for the software. While the other setups use two ECMs (one for the engine and one for the gearbox) in the interests of costs, the Kwid has one ECM for both the engine and the gearbox and this makes the communication and control quicker and smoother.

Coming to the rest of the cabin, the AMT variant is similar to the manual car, which is a good thing as you get that ample room and usable storage spaces like the twin gloveboxes and the large 300-litre boot. There is also the unique touchscreen and the digital speedometer unit.

What’s it like to drive

By not offering any manual gear change option, Renault seems to be very confident about the AMT’s gear-shifting abilities. So, how does it take off from rest? For starters there is no creep function, so you can take your foot off the brake pedal and the car remains stationary in neutral. While this may be convenient, it’s not very safe as you can roll back on an incline or if someone rear ends you, you could end up hitting the car in front of you. According to Renault, this function has been given a miss due to feedback from AMT car owners. We would have preferred the function as it is quite handy. But having said that, most AMTs fail to get it right and the creep feels more like a jump or leap.

Once you press the accelerator, the clutch engages smoothly and offers you a controlled and progressive start. Of course it would have been smoother with a manual, but as far as AMTs go, this one makes quite an impression. We began our drive on open roads, and shifting through the gears does take a fraction of a second, but the ‘head-nod’ so typical of AMTs is very minimal. It’s only when you open up the throttle that the nod gets more noticeable and some gear changes will be accompanied by a clunky noise. But everyday driving situations with part throttle won't really be a hassle. Renault’s decision to use only one ECM seems to be paying off. The gearbox also does not second-guess that often, and the shifts, in most cases, are exactly what you would expect.

Every AMT requires the use of the handbrake on inclines and so does the Kwid. There is some amount of rollback before the car can move forward, but here too it is far lower than typical. We’ve tested some AMTs that require so much throttle input that it moves straight into wheelspin. With the Kwid, however, there is no such drama.

The 1.0-litre engine is unchanged and outputs the same 68hp at 5,500rpm and 91Nm of torque at 4,250rpm as in the manual. So there is adequate power for most overtaking moves and highway cruising.

Should I buy one

There are times when you'll miss having the option of shifting gears manually, like when you’re in a hurry and would like a greater degree of control. But Renault’s AMT is still the one of the best 'boxes we have tested. It doesn't have the drawbacks typical of AMTs, the clutch engagement is smooth and progressive offering you a well-controlled start, and there is very little ‘head-nod’ between shifts. Additionally, the AMT-equipped Kwid will offer better mileage than the manual car. So, with what is probably the best AMT in the business, and strengths like cabin space, good feature list and excellent ride, we certainly recommend this version of the Kwid.

Renault Kwid 1.0L AMT launched in India at INR 4.25 Lakhs

Only available in the top-end RxT (O) grade.

Renault has silently launched the third variant of the Kwid today – the 1.0L Easy-R AMT. It is only available in the top-end RxT (O) grade and priced at INR 4.25 Lakhs (ex-showroom Delhi), which is nearly INR 29,000 more than the RxT (O) manual variant.

Under the hood is a 999 cc (1.0L) three cylinder SCe engine paired with a 5-speed Easy-R AMT unit. It produces 68 PS at 5,500 rpm and 91 Nm at 4,250 rpm, and capable of averaging a fuel mileage of 24.04 km/L (ARAI-certified), making it slightly more fuel efficient than the manual variant.

In Kwid AMT, the R, N and D gears are selected via a circular dial located beside the window controls on the center console. Unlike its nearest rival, it lacks the option to shift manually, so you’ll have to completely rely on its electronics to serve up the next gear.

There are no changes to the equipment list. The Kwid AMT RxT (O) comes equipped with a 7-inch MEDIANAV touchscreen system, bluetooth connectivity and GPS-guided navigation, a multi-info display under the digital speedometer, driver’s airbag and front ‘Pro-Sense’ seat-belt pre-tensioners, and remote central locking

Seems to be nice new option for relaxed drives. I ALWAYS use the handbrake while on an incline; be it the Matiz or the Verna. Never felt anything wrong in the method. Rather it gives lot more confidence and ensures smoooooth movement of car; up as well as down the incline.

Here's wishing this car too reaches more Indian homes.