My Tryst with the Toyota LC200

Hi Folks,

I had a chance to go visit Toyota showroom today for an inquiry on Toyota Innova for my colleague. As i stepped into the showroom, parked right into the center was monstrous Toyota LC200. Even though went their for checking out Innova, i completely forgot about it on seeing this beast. LC200 has the best road presence in an SUV i have ever seen (Mind you i have had chance to travel in Land Rover, Cayenne and soft roaders like BMW X5 and Audi Q7). No suv that i have seen till date came cloase to LC200 if you consider just it's road presence. SA promptly brought be the broucher and once i read the broucher i knew why i felt this monster has such road presence.

Dimensions:-

Length-: 4,950mm (Woow that's 5metres OMG:eek:)

Width:- 1,970mm

Height:- 1,865mm

Then read on about the engine. Under the hood like the monstrous exteriors an equally huge 4.5L V8 diesel. Engine displaces 4461cc and outputs 285 odd horses. LC200 needs such a big heart considering it has to haul nearlt 3.3 tonnes.

They don't have a single TD vehicle across Kerala. SA told me no one has a TD LC200 in India which is a bit hard to believe IMHO. I countered him by asking who will buy this vehicle without a TD? He replies confidently - "Sir one LC200 costs 1.45crore and we can't afford one for TD[:D]. A customer of LC200 just books one and never ask for TD." I am little bit convinced now. So we move on to next topic of cost breakup. LC200 is brought to India as CBU and will be imported only aftera firm booking as per the SA and has OTR of 1.45crore. Road tax alone costs about 11lakhs i have a mild heart attack and don't ask him for further details.

Regarding features LC200 is equipped with everything one can find in a luxury car. Couldn't take a close look at the interiors but managed to take couple of exterior and interior pics.

Some of the pics:-

IMG_20130725_175151.jpg

IMG_20130725_175206.jpg

IMG_20130725_175451.jpg

IMG_20130725_175351.jpg

IMG_20130725_175341.jpg

Interior pics. Sorry couldn't get a chance to feel the interiors.

IMG_20130725_175247.jpg

IMG_20130725_175306.jpg

LC is equipped with 4 camera(one in front, one each in rear view mirror and one in rear). Pics of camera.

IMG_20130725_175215.jpg

IMG_20130725_175234.jpg

Tire size Yokohama 285/60 R18 awesome.

IMG_20130725_175428.jpg

Just for comparisons to normal sedan that we own here, LC200 fog lamps is much bigger than my car's headlights. This truly is an awesome vehicle and if i had 1.45crores would surely buy it just to have that feel of driving such a monster. Will start saving up for this monster from today onwards. [:D]

Sankar

Re: Short review on Toyota LC200

Toyota LC is my all time favorite SUV., I had driven Merc ML, GL and some other SUVs but in terms of road presence. This is the final word

Re: Short Review on Toyota LC200

Nice review. I had a sneak peek of LC200 at Auto Expo 2010. The mammoth size and a mighty 285 BHP V8 engine makes it obvious that this is a no innocent machine. Perhaps one of the most practical SUVs for ‘real’ off-road use within its price band. I’m not at all surprised why it is amongst the most preferred SUVs in Dubai desert safaris too.

DSC00446.jpg

DSC00447.jpg

DSC00448.jpg

DSC00449.jpg

DSC00450.jpg

Nice review. I had a sneak peek of LC200 at Auto Expo 2010. The mammoth size and a mighty 285 BHP V8 engine makes it obvious that this is a no innocent machine. Perhaps one of the most practical SUVs for ‘real’ off-road use within its price band. I’m not at all surprised why it is amongst the most preferred SUVs in Dubai desert safaris too.

Awesome pics 350Z. My only negative of the monster SUV is it's price tag which has now reached close to 1.5crore and most of this due to increase in taxes[frustration]. Earlier the price was i think 1 crore and has gradually increased by 50%:eek:

Sankar

a great machine but not worth the price tag ! You can privately import one with a crore.

following is my discussion in another forum about import pricing menace in India, i will give a summary again with help of an example

"Let me show you how pricing works. Imported few cars myself hence know a little bit.

XKR V8 supercharged coupe costs 1.50 crs Mumbai.

if i import it from UK with special export price i.e tax free it costs 56,500 = 52,00,000 ( ~ pound 92 rs)

add 100% duty 52,00,00 = 1,04,00,000 + frieght and insurance 2,00,000 = 1,06,00,000 is your landing cost in bombay for a new XKR V8 ! see the difference in pricing ?

Even if the car is ARAI homologed you can import it by paying penalty."

Should Jaguar go CKD in India with the XJ 2.0 litre Ecoboost ? - Indian Cars - Autocar India Forum

have attached the link for knowledge of fellow forum members, mods if it goes against the forum rules you can delete it. Please go through the entire thread in the link to get a better understanding.

a great machine but not worth the price tag ! You can privately import one with a crore.

following is my discussion in another forum about import pricing menace in India, i will give a summary again with help of an example

"Let me show you how pricing works. Imported few cars myself hence know a little bit.

XKR V8 supercharged coupe costs 1.50 crs Mumbai.

if i import it from UK with special export price i.e tax free it costs 56,500 = 52,00,000 ( ~ pound 92 rs)

add 100% duty 52,00,00 = 1,04,00,000 + frieght and insurance 2,00,000 = 1,06,00,000 is your landing cost in bombay for a new XKR V8 ! see the difference in pricing ?

Even if the car is ARAI homologed you can import it by paying penalty."

Should Jaguar go CKD in India with the XJ 2.0 litre Ecoboost ? - Indian Cars - Autocar India Forum

have attached the link for knowledge of fellow forum members, mods if it goes against the forum rules you can delete it. Please go through the entire thread in the link to get a better understanding.
But won't you still have to pay 10% as life time tax and also a good amount on insurance and registration charges?

Sankar

as stated in the above example, 1.50 was the ex-showroom cost of jaguar XKR, which also would need to be registered. Same is the case with private imports, 1.06crore was my landing cost + registeration would be extra as that would be the case if i had bought it from jaguar India.

You saved 44 lakhs on ex-showroom costs alone.

In case of Land cruiser i take example of UK because specs are similar to india. Ex-showroom cost of LC200 is 65,000 pounds including local taxes. When you import this car they deduct local taxes which shades of addition 7-9k pounds. your price is around 57,000 pounds.
add 100% import duty and 3% extra duty for SUV it comes to 1.06 crores with shipping bombay.

as stated in the above example, 1.50 was the ex-showroom cost of jaguar XKR, which also would need to be registered. Same is the case with private imports, 1.06crore was my landing cost + registeration would be extra as that would be the case if i had bought it from jaguar India.

You saved 44 lakhs on ex-showroom costs alone.

In case of Land cruiser i take example of UK because specs are similar to india. Ex-showroom cost of LC200 is 65,000 pounds including local taxes. When you import this car they deduct local taxes which shades of addition 7-9k pounds. your price is around 57,000 pounds.
add 100% import duty and 3% extra duty for SUV it comes to 1.06 crores with shipping bombay.
Will we get warranty if we directly import the car from abroad?

Sankar

imports come with international warranty standard, my infiniti has come with 3 years international warrentt. plus the spare parts charged by most companies here in india are 50% more in cost than available globally. Even with taxes they don't add upto the cost charged by indian companies.

i had imported front suspension of my 320d from dubai. the landing cost with tax n duties was 53k and Bmw india coated me 95k. Labour charge at my garage was another 8k.

You as an owner of cbu are allowed to import some spare parts without duty by law. this was the case few years ago, have to check it with todays law

imports come with international warranty standard, my infiniti has come with 3 years international warrentt. plus the spare parts charged by most companies here in india are 50% more in cost than available globally. Even with taxes they don't add upto the cost charged by indian companies.

i had imported front suspension of my 320d from dubai. the landing cost with tax n duties was 53k and Bmw india coated me 95k. Labour charge at my garage was another 8k.

You as an owner of cbu are allowed to import some spare parts without duty by law. this was the case few years ago, have to check it with todays law
So what i understood from this is that Automobile Manufacturers are trying to cheat Indian customers by charging double the actual cost of a product and even spares. Pathetic considering these are reputed brands with very old historical roots.

Sankar

Toyota calls LC200 - The Pride Of The World

The legendary Land Cruiser, a truly dominant 4WD vehicle, has been routinely taming the wildest terrains on earth for over 50 years. In the process, it has become an essential part of the lives of a wide variety of people around the world. The legend continues with the new Land Cruiser, the natural successor to the line and a continuing symbol of strength and reliability. And like its forebears, the new king of 4WD is fully aware of its responsibility to do no harm to Mother Earth: The Pride of the World.

LC200 truly is the ultimate go anywhere vehicle in the whole world. But my question is -

"Will anyone paying 1.5 crore for this beast ever take her offroading into the muddy forests or rocky mountains in India"?

Sankar

Full Specification of Toyota LC200

Model VX

TRANSMISSION- 6-speed automatic

DIMENSIONS & WEIGHT

Overall length(mm)- 4,950

Overall Width(mm)- 1,970

Overall height(mm)- 1,865

Wheelbase(mm)- 2850

Tread Front(mm)- 1,640