Great Wall Motors Plans To Enter in India

Great Wall Motors, a leading non-government automobile company of China, has intentions of setting up a manufacturing plant in India.

Great Wall Motors (GWM) is like the Mahindra & Mahindra of China who specialize in making SUVs. Their products are exported to more than 100 countries. They have 800 sales outlets across about 80 countries all over the world.
With presence in markets such as Europe, central and South America, Asia, Africa, Russia, Australia, South Africa, Italy and Chile the company employs over 48,000 employees.
The Chinese company came to India to meet officials of Gujarat for a possible land acquisition. They were shown land in Sanand and Halol which are upcoming autohubs of India. Great Wall could invest about Rs 2,000-3,000 crore in the plant in Gujarat. The company is also said be in talks with the Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu state for a prospective production site.
When the Great Wall Haval H5 was seen testing in India, rumors were that Sonalika (the makers of Rhino MUV) partnered with Great Wall to bring the Haval H5 in India. We have seen a few Indo-Chinese partnerships/products in recent times such as Premier Rio, Force One, HM Winner, etc. However, the rumor soon fizzled out with no further sightings of H5 test mules.
It is quite possible that the deal between Great Wall and Sonalika may have fallen through and GWM is looking for a solo foray in India.
[Source: BSMotoring.com; Images of the Great Wall H4 from auto.ifeng.com]

Read more: Great Wall Motors plans a manufacturing plant in India

Re: Great Wall Motors - China plans entry in India .

They will actually dominate with their pricing I guess.

Re: Great Wall Motors - China plans entry in India .

hahaha, Theferrarifan: by reading your pricing word, i was remembering the scene when there was a boom in mobile market after huge flood by Chinese mobiles few years back. :lol!:
One thing more i want to know about is what will be the qualities of their CARS??? [surprise]

According to me, these cars will only sell if they are priced really very aggressively and have good mileage figures. Otherwise , a Chinese product is not so appealing to people.

Chinese carmaker Great Wall Motors may set up plant at Pune

China's largest SUV maker, Great Wall Motors is likely to be the first carmaker from China to set up a plant on Indian soil. China's eighth-largest carmaker has zeroed in on Pune in Maharashtra for the plant and aims to start production by 2016.

GWM has also decided to launch its globally success Haval H5 model in India, two people with knowledge of the development said. The company was earlier considering Gujarat and Tamil Nadu to set up its plant, but chose Maharashtra due to a host of incentives offered by the state government.

"Great Wall has also taken into account Chinese government-owned Beiqi Foton Motor Company's decision to set up its commercial vehicles facility at Khed near Pune with a cumulative investment of Rs 1,676. The proximity factor is expected to help both the companies achieve back-end synergies," said a person having direct knowledge of the development.

The Chinese company has already sent a team of senior executives to India to workout a schedule to foray into the domestic market. The finer details of investment and capacity would be revealed in the next few months, the person added. Xi Liang Chen, Indian operation project manager of the Chinese automaker, declined to comment on the India strategy.

According to sources in the automobile industry, Great Wall has already initiated product clinics of the H5 SUV for the Indian market. The product would be showcased along with a few other models from the GWM stable in the February 2014 Auto Expo in New Delhi.

It has, however, ruled out any joint venture with any Indian partner unlike another Chinese carmaker SAIC that now holds 9% equity in its US car partner's local subsidiary General Motors India. Great Wall is likely to be the first Chinese auto company to establish a wholly owned subsidiary in India and introduce its own cars and SUVs.

Great Wall had earlier negotiated with the New Delhi-based International Car and Motor Limited (ICML), the manufacturer of utility vehicle Rhino and Sonalika tractor in India. The Chinese company was looking at utilising ICML's production facilities at Amb in Himachal Pradesh and its distribution network to market the H5 SUV in India, but failure in negotiations prompted it to go on its own.

Chinese carmaker Great Wall Motors may set up plant at Pune - The Economic Times

The haval 5 looks like this , maybe Manoj can shed some more light on how this cars are actually since he must be seeing them everyday I hope .

YouTube

The haval 5 looks like this , maybe Manoj can shed some more light on how this cars are actually since he must be seeing them everyday I hope .
I do see quite a big number of cars made by GWM here in China. As an SUV enthusiast I am quite impressed with their SUV range especially Haval 6 and Haval 5.In fact,Haval 6 has been the Top most seller[about 15000/month] in the SUV segment in China for few months now, leaving behind VW Tiguan, Honda CRV , Hyundai ix35 and Nissan Qashqai.

You may find more details, including pictures, price and features of GWM''s Haval 5 & Haval 6 in this post of mine.

GWM is one of the most reputed car makers from China. They have, very recently, launched a new "Logo" exclusively for their SUV range called "Haval" giving its SUV unit a more distinct identity.
gwm-haval-logo.jpg
Source:chinaautoweb:
A few pictures of Haval 5 clicked by me.Though looks tough, this variant's front/Grill is a bit too chromy to my liking.

h51.jpg

h52.jpg

h53.jpg

h54.jpg

A Test Drive Report on Haval H5 by autoworld.com.my
Most people buy Chinese products simply because they are the cheapest things around, and once they break, you get rid of them and replace them with new ones. Such thinking may work well with a toaster, but cars are a lot more expensive, and you don't just throw a car away if, for example, its gearbox fails.

It is not that the Chinese are incapable of building things that last - the First Emperor's Terracotta Army and his Great Wall, for example, remain intact even after 2,000 years - but quality comes at a price, and when a full-sized SUV like the Great Wall Haval H5 can be parked on your doorstep at RM120k with insurance, some compromises can certainly be expected. Bear in mind that most SUVs of equivalent size - namely the Ford Everest, Mitsubishi Pajero Sport, and Toyota Fortuner - cost RM160k or more.

Chassis setup is actually rather impressive, with high speed stability and ride quality both being notable highlights. Despite the engine's struggles, the Haval is surefooted at its v-max, and road harshness are absorbed with such impressive competence that is barely believable. Give it a break at the corners though, it can't cheat the laws of physics.

Take it off road, and you will be surprised at the kind of beating that the Haval can take. Although we won't recommend a jungle expedition in this car yet, we expect that the Haval will competently tackle the demands of construction sites, mines, and estates. There is a prevailing sense of ruggedness coming from its chassis, and the amazing pliancy of its suspension makes it extremely suitable to be used as a workhorse that you can punish without remorse.
Read more here: Test Drive Report on Haval H5 by autoworld.com.my

If priced right, I don't see any reason, why these SUVs can't sell well in India.

Thanx a million Manoj

Any idea about their mini SUVs ? Something which can take the ES and others ?

And haval 5 is a fortuner category right ? Do they have something in the Scorpio , safari category ?

Any idea about their mini SUVs ? Something which can take the ES and others ?
The Mini SUV in your Opening post is called Haval M4 SUV costing between 63,900-71900 CNY [ around 5.5 -6.3 Lakh INR ]. But, IMO it doesn't have the mettle to take on Ecosport and likes.

I also read that the Haval brand is looking to launch a new model H2 compact SUV.
haval-h2-suv-0.jpg
And haval 5 is a fortuner category right ? Do they have something in the Scorpio , safari category ?
I am not sure about the positioning. These H5 and H6 are sold in CHINA at around 8 Lakh- 14.5 Lakh INR equivalent.The high end models are highly equipped and also 4WD models. If they can position it sub 15 Lakhs we can certainly say "Game on".

Great Wall Motors making India debut soon

great-wall-motors.jpg

According to various reports and speculations, Great Wall Motors is investing around Rs. 7,000-8,000 crore in India. The company will use the capital to set up a manufacturing unit in Gujarat. The company’s R&D team, however, has already been setup in Bangalore. It was also reported that to spearhead its Indian operations, Great Wall motors had recently hired Kaushik Ganguly from Maruti Suzuki. To let you know, Ganguly was among the main people in the product planning department at Maruti Suzuki. All this hints towards that the company is taking its Indian foray seriously and want to make a mark in the SUV segment.

haval-h6.jpg

Read:

Is this the beginning of Great Chinese invasion into Indian Auto Industry ? Specially when we are looking at Electric Vehicles and China is leading in same.

Great Wall Motors Planning India Entry In The Next Two Years

Chinas-Great-Wall-Motors-1068x601.jpg

China is the largest car market in the world and booming with electric vehicles sales. Great Wall Motors specialises in SUVs, crossovers and pickup trucks and is the largest seller of these body typed vehicles in the world’s most populous country. Great Wall already has a tech centre in Bengaluru and is used for coding of AI and zero-emission vehicles.

Read: