FIAT Abarth 595 Competizione Now in India (Coverage: Page 3)

Roughly half a year ago, we shared with our readers information on Fiat's plans to introduce 2 jeep models by the year 2013. And now, we have further light to shed on the same plans; Fiat not only plans to introduce 2 models from the Jeep brand, its sister concern, but also plans on introducing the Fiat Abarth to India. While the evidence is not concrete, we have reason to believe that the Fiat Abarth in India will be based off the Fiat Grande Punto 1.4 Emotion.

The current Grande Punto, houses a 1.4-litre and 1.2-litre 4-cylinder petrol engine and also comes with the 1.3-litre diesel options. Now as far as the Fiat Abarth goes, for those not in the know, the Fiat Abarth line-up consists of rally car models and from what we can tell, Fiat plans on using the 1.4-litre turbo-charged petrol engine that is also housed in the Fiat Linea T-Jet. However, this should be an up-rated version of the same; possibly generating 152bhp. We will bring you more information on this as the story unfolds.

Now coming back to Fiat's sister concern, the Jeep Brand, we can say with some conviction that the plans for these vehicles is for the second half of 2013 and not before. These vehicles include two models namely; the Jeep Wrangler and Grand Cherokee.

Fiat to Bring the Abarth Hatchback to India - Scoop | CarDekho.com

Fiat to launch 9 new products in three years, iconic Jeep Cherokee and Wrangler to hit India in 2013 - The Economic Times

Re: ABARTH - India Calling in 2013

It looks stunning man
abarth.jpg
But should cost 15 lacs. They might reduce the performance like what skoda did within the VRS. Finally fiat is doing what they should have done.

Will they introduce the 2 door version like in the photo here? I don't think so.

No matter what they brings,who is going to buy anything related to fiat?
fiat 500 has been available in showroom until recently when it was withdrawn due to no sale.

It was a 75 Hp import for 15 lacs obviously it wont sell. And yeah they have to get the four door but there isn't one that exists. So obvio they wont make a special one for india so are they really coming?

Seems like TAI will soon find a true Abarth'ed Punto90hp!! (true horse power would be kept secret)

If I will buy the Abarth, it will be the 150 hp one. If they get it then I am interested.

Localised Punto Abarth coming this year

Fiat plans to launch its performance brand Abarth here in 2013. Unlike the Mini Cooper S, the company plans to make the Abarth here more affordable and price a locally configured and produced Grande Punto version at around Rs 8-9 lakh.

The Grande Punto is currently available with a 66bhp petrol variant, a 75bhp diesel variant and an 89bhp diesel edition. For Abarth, the company is most likely to use the existing 1.4-litre T-jet motor and pump up the power output to 165bhp, which should improve performance considerably. Fiat could make other changes for better handling of the car, more suitable to Indian conditions. The carmaker is likely to start with stiffening the chassis and carry on with using stiffer spring and sportier dampers, which would improve grip. Thicker anti-roll bars are expected to improve handling, while some extra stopping power is likely to be added with upgraded brakes. The car could also be the only four-door Abarth version of the Grande Punto as currently, there are no two-door versions on sale here.

The cars will most likely be sold out of 'Abarth Studios' within existing Fiat dealers, but Fiat hasn't ruled out the possibility of having exclusive Abarth dealers either.

Localised Punto Abarth coming this year | News | Autocar India

With the Punto Abarth 1.4 T-Jet, i hope Fiat is not targetting volumes because we all are very well aware of the scenario of the Indian Auto market. The takers for the petrol engines are not much. Further we have seen the fate of powerful VW polo 1.6, Linea T-Jet and the likes surrendering themselves to the low sales.

@ dharmesh, you missed out thumping power of 165 bhp [;)] If FIAT gets it right on pricing, Abarth looks really a mouth watering deal to resist !

@ Akash, you are right. I believe Fiat will use Abarth as brand building / brand enchancing launch rather than targetting high volumes. Atleast in initial days of its launch. Because rather than huge volumes brand FIAT has to re-established first, so that synergies from here can be utilised to pull up the sales of other volume related models.