Tata Launches Aria Facelift With 'Image Corrections'. This is a discussion on Tata Launches Aria Facelift With 'Image Corrections' within Indian Auto Sector. Part of The Auto Talk category; I dont mind the looks of the Aria, not even the Indica like rear. 156 bhp and 6 speed gearbox ... |
10th April 2013, 04:21 PM
|
#286 | Honoured Member
Award Points: 20
| Re: Tata Planning To Relaunch Aria With 'Image Corrections' I dont mind the looks of the Aria, not even the Indica like rear. 156 bhp and 6 speed gearbox sounds delicious! I think with that power and the new gearbox, the heavier Aria can keep up with the XUV in terms of acceleration. In-gear acceleration is where the Dicor loses to the mHawk... I hope TATA tunes the new gearbox to improve the low end response.
I want TATA to launch the new Aria with more features and at a reduced price, only then it can compete with the XUV. Aria and to some extent, even TATA has lost it's brand image. I hope, with this new Aria, they can regain some customers.
I also hope their A.S.S. gives preferential treatment to the owners of Aria. At the same time, if they are launching the new Aria as a premium model, they should withdraw the cheaper LX variant which is being sold for 9.5 Lacs. No premium customers want to see their cars being sold as taxis.
Last edited by raj_5004; 10th April 2013 at 04:23 PM.
|
| |
10th April 2013, 05:43 PM
|
#287 | V10
| Re: Tata Planning To Relaunch Aria With 'Image Corrections' Quote:
Originally Posted by navnit013 Chill man, Even their ASS is improving. Its not that they've been pathetic when they started and still are. They have improved, but still have some way to go. And for that matter, every manufacturer have equally good or bad ASSs. | i am chilled out anyways .
The point being they can turn things only when the word of mouth improves for the aria.
Because i feel there are very few aria owners and to get a positive impact they need to satisfy those fewer customers.
If things improve for them, the turn around wont be that difficult.
This along with improvement with the power output should have been done a long time ago since they were already selling their 156ps version internationally. |
| |
11th April 2013, 10:07 AM
|
#288 | V8
| Re: Tata Planning To Relaunch Aria With 'Image Corrections' @Superbad,
They've only shown us prototypes of the powerful 2.2s till date. And TATA is selling the same ARIA (if they are) in the international markets. |
| |
11th April 2013, 10:32 AM
|
#289 | V10
Originally Posted by navnit013 @Superbad,
They've only shown us prototypes of the powerful 2.2s till date. And TATA is selling the same ARIA (if they are) in the international markets. | no buddy an italian magazine had put a comparo of the ARIA which already had the 156 ps version .
dont know for what reasons tatas always puts up lower spec vehicles in their own country. |
| |
11th April 2013, 10:46 AM
|
#290 | V12
| Re: Tata Planning To Relaunch Aria With 'Image Corrections' @SB
Yes, TATA's approach of ASS needs to improve and it is a continuous process. We have I think 3 of the Aria owners out there. One completely dissatisfied and frustrated and sold out and bought a Fortuner. Second one is also dissatisfied at the moment and trying to tackle with them. Third member is happy with his Aria though he face the issues now and then, but I think he is getting a good support from ASS.
So if TATA think bit differently then what is a big deal and things may turnaround quickly |
| |
11th April 2013, 11:16 AM
|
#291 | Suspended
Originally Posted by navnit013 Just look at TATAs past. Which product have they given up on. NONE. They have always turned things around. Same will happen with ARIA. | Tata Sierra. Tata Estate. Tata Xenon. Tata TL. Sumo Grande.
Last edited by 350Z; 13th April 2013 at 01:30 AM.
Reason: Be polite.
|
| |
11th April 2013, 02:38 PM
|
#292 | V8
| Re: Tata Planning To Relaunch Aria With 'Image Corrections' Tata Sierra was sold in India for almost a decade (8 years). Same for Estate.
TL is still being sold through their commercial vehicle division. Just visit their Commercial vehicle showroom to get the correct picture.
Who said TATA has given up on Xenon and Grande. If they'd given up then they wouldnt have displayed the facelift/auto box version of it in the last Auto expo. |
| |
11th April 2013, 04:24 PM
|
#293 | V4
Originally Posted by raj_5004 I dont mind the looks of the Aria, not even the Indica like rear. 156 bhp and 6 speed gearbox sounds delicious! I think with that power and the new gearbox, the heavier Aria can keep up with the XUV in terms of acceleration. In-gear acceleration is where the Dicor loses to the mHawk... I hope TATA tunes the new gearbox to improve the low end response.
I want TATA to launch the new Aria with more features and at a reduced price, only then it can compete with the XUV. Aria and to some extent, even TATA has lost it's brand image. I hope, with this new Aria, they can regain some customers.
I also hope their A.S.S. gives preferential treatment to the owners of Aria. At the same time, if they are launching the new Aria as a premium model, they should withdraw the cheaper LX variant which is being sold for 9.5 Lacs. No premium customers want to see their cars being sold as taxis. | Today I shall sleep dreaming about a 400bhp 9-speed auto 'box Aria
with design cues taken from Jaguar XF Sportbrake running around
Indian national highways!
I like the richly-featured and well-kitted and safe vehicle that is Aria,
but styling is somewhat awkward. Tata should give it Jaguar-type
headlamps and horizontally-placed taillamps, and release it on the
international market...if not anything else, it will atleast help Indian
automobiles to secure a good reputation in the world market. |
| |
11th April 2013, 07:58 PM
|
#294 | Suspended
Originally Posted by navnit013
Tata Sierra was sold in India for almost a decade (8 years). Same for Estate.
TL is still being sold through their commercial vehicle division. Just visit their Commercial vehicle showroom to get the correct picture.
Who said TATA has given up on Xenon and Grande. If they'd given up then they wouldnt have displayed the facelift/auto box version of it in the last Auto expo. |
Sold for 8 years. Allright. But the quantity sold???? Ever thought of that???
If I have plenty of money from selling salt and steel, I guess I can afford an indulgence, be adamant, and continue to sell my outright BS products, even though nobody is ready to buy them. And then later claim, "my car sold for a decade."
Yeah. Displaying facelifts is like totally putting in efforts.
They should do something radical with the styling, and not really focus on cosmetic upgrades. Then I'll be convinced Tata's doing something. |
| |
12th April 2013, 09:53 AM
|
#295 | V8
| Re: Tata Planning To Relaunch Aria With 'Image Corrections' @AMG,
If quantity is the only thing you think about in a business, then I cant say anything more.
But dont you think you are expecting too much from TATA. They hardly have a history of making cars compared to their rivals (even Mahindra). |
| |
12th April 2013, 11:05 AM
|
#296 | Suspended
Originally Posted by navnit013 @AMG,
If quantity is the only thing you think about in a business, then I cant say anything more.
But dont you think you are expecting too much from TATA. They hardly have a history of making cars compared to their rivals (even Mahindra). |
Sir, the counsel would humbly like to submit that Tata Motors is not a super-specialty car maker like Rolls Royce or Koinegsegg that it can not bother about numbers.
And at the end of the day, everything runs on Money.
It was lack of the aforesaid commodity that forced even the most revered, respected and somewhat orthodox USSR to open its market.
So tata motors is still a relatively small player, as compared to a former superpower.
And its not as if Tata doesnt know how to make cars.
The Safari and the Indica(not Vista) were pure class.
The sumo/spacio was decent too.
The others have always been a bit of a letdown.
Nobody pays 18 lakhs for a suv that doesnt even look like one. The problem has been its stance. Its not butch/intimidating enoughto look at in one's rear mirrors.
And it doesnt really look very off road-friendly either.
And unfortunately, Tata even toned down the butchness of the Storme. It looks incomplete without the rear wheel on the back.
And sir for the last part, I'll have to reiterate my motto in life, and its applicable everywhere
"To be the best, you gotta beat the best." |
| |
12th April 2013, 03:21 PM
|
#297 | V8
Originally Posted by AMG Sir, the counsel would humbly like to submit that Tata Motors is not a super-specialty car maker like Rolls Royce or Koinegsegg that it can not bother about numbers.
And at the end of the day, everything runs on Money.
And sir for the last part, I'll have to reiterate my motto in life, and its applicable everywhere
"To be the best, you gotta beat the best." | Well, No ones saying TATA is comparable to RollsRoyce.
You can be a low volume player in the lower spectrum of the market and yet make more money compared to the high volume player. And as you said everything runs on money.
And TATAs have invested a lot of money and time in the development of this product to give up on. For that matter any of their product. You see TATA is not a Suzuki, to pick one model from their everlasting line up from JAPAN and drop it here. Then decide to put a plug on as its not working.
And you dont wake up in the morning and beat the best. You have a tough path to take to get there. This is a tough period for them. They will work their way out of it. And they will come back stronger. |
| |
12th April 2013, 03:40 PM
|
#298 | Honoured Member
| Re: Tata Planning To Relaunch Aria With 'Image Corrections' Dear Navnit,
TATA is not competing in the low volume - high profit margin sector of the industry. On the contrary, they are competing in the high volume segment. All their cars like Indica, Manza, Sumo, Safari and Aria is supposed to sell in high numbers for them to rake some moolah.
All the philosophy on tough path and beating the best wont work until they launch some really good products at mouth watering prices. Till now, they have had quite a nice dent in their brand image courtesy launching the Aria at optimistic prices and then giving discounts of upto 2-3 Lacs and then finally launching the LX variant. A car which was meant to be their premium flagship model is now being sold to the taxi market at 9.5 Lacs.
Tata Nano has not been received well too. After the intial hype died down, now there are hardly any takers for it. Even their bread and butter model, older Indica + Vista is gradually dying. Storme did not rock the sales chart either.
Result of all this - Tata slipped from the third position down to the fifth, making way for Mahindra and Toyota. If anyone still believes that TATA is happy and content with the low sales and volume is not their priority, they should read news articles about how Mr. Karl Slym is stuggling to help TATA motors revive the lost image and gather some profit... And you gather profit by selling cars. |
| |
12th April 2013, 05:00 PM
|
#299 | V10
| Re: Tata Planning To Relaunch Aria With 'Image Corrections' true that.
tata became popular in the mid to late 90s because they were the first move to diesel cars in hatchbacks and sedans with their inidca and indigo range.
then with maruti and others too jumping in the competition , they lost their way.
the same has gone for with their UV market.
they were well placed with sumo clocking decent numbers .
then qualis came , a new bolero came and from then on they were been beaten in the numbers game.
innovation or the lack of it when at top has been the denting force with tatas.
something similar happened with aria. the price tag was hefty enough to veer the customers away from the showroom itself.
then some sad ownership reviews around the web nailed the few tata customers.
Last edited by Superbad; 12th April 2013 at 05:01 PM.
|
| |
12th April 2013, 08:13 PM
|
#300 | V12
Originally Posted by Superbad true that.
tata became popular in the mid to late 90s because they were the first move to diesel cars in hatchbacks and sedans with their inidca and indigo range. then with maruti and others too jumping in the competition , they lost their way.
the same has gone for with their UV market.
they were well placed with sumo clocking decent numbers .
then qualis came , a new bolero came and from then on they were been beaten in the numbers game.
innovation or the lack of it when at top has been the denting force with tatas.
something similar happened with aria. the price tag was hefty enough to veer the customers away from the showroom itself.
then some sad ownership reviews around the web nailed the few tata customers. | Tata is older then maruti in making cars in india you mean ? |
| | Thread Tools | Search Thread | | | All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:07 PM. |