Segment Wise Indian Cars Comparison

Dear friends, I have made a small excel sheet in which I have made some comparisons between cars of the same segment. Please note that segmentation is decided based on the pricing & class of the car.

This is not a comparison to prove which car is better, instead this is just a comparison of technical specifications & some basic features.

Before looking at the excel sheet, please note that-
1) Prices may vary a little, they are on-road in mumbai.
2) Acceleration timings are for representation purpose only & not intended to spark a debate!
3) Features vary depending on the segment

I have uploaded 3 excel sheets:
1) Entry Level SUV/MUV (7-15 lacs)
2) Executive Diesel Hatchbacks (6-9 lacs)
3) Entry level Luxury SUV/MUV (18-30 lacs)

There maybe some errors, please do point out!

Here is what I feel :

# Entry Level SUV/MUV:

1) It is interesting to note that the Grande has better power & torque figures than the Xylo, still the Xylo is much peppier. Maybe weight & gearing is the factor over here.
2) Many have claimed that the Bolero CRDe is a rocket, but figures say its the slowest over here. are we being unfair by comparing the bolero to the scorpio & safari?
3) The Xylo & Scorpio is far more peppier than the innova.
4) Innova is the only one to have Auto AC, but at a price.
5) Safari is the only one to have leather seats.
6) Bolero is the only one without rear AC & electrical ORVM!

# Executive Hatchbacks:

1) i20, Polo & Fabia is on the Honda City/Verna/Vento territory! Atleast the i20 is loaded to the gills, but cant say the same about the latter two.
2) Ritz offers maximum performance for the buck. Its the cheapest & the fastest, well almost! In-gear timings are much better than the most expensive car - i20!
3) Punto 90 hp, as FIAT claims, is the most powerful hatch but the performance figures are not worth mentioning! Thank GOD for its 3 cyl brothers, else it would have been the slowest here.
4) If we compare the i20 & Punto (90 hp brothers), the i20 has a much better 0-100 timing, but in-gear timings of the Punto are far superior.
5) Surprisingly, if you see the in-gear timings, which actually mean how fast or peppy the car feels in real world, it is the Vista which seems to be the fastest!
6) Beat offers Auto AC inspite of being so cheap.
7) No rear power windows even in top end of Figo.
8) i20 is the only car with electrical ORVM retract!
9) Rear Defogger & Wash/Wipe is a serious omission in the Ritz & Fabia.
10) Its a shame Ritz does not come with Airbags whereas i20 has 6 of them!

# Entry Level Luxury SUV/MUV:

1) Endy makes 153 hp from a 3.0 ltr engine, Pajero makes 107 hp from a 2.8 whereas santa fe makes 194 hp from a 2.2! Kudos Hyundai!
2) The X1 may not be the most powerful, but check out the acceleration & in-gear timings. Smokes the competition, no wonder its called BMW !!!
3) Santa Fe comes close in terms of 0-100 with the X1 with its 200 bhp monster diesel.
4) X1 does not have leather seats, rear AC vents nor electrical retract for ORVMs.

Re: Comparo between the Rivals!

Good one!

Could you ad ANVista instead the Aura+?

I think ANVista top end gives more features than the Aura+.

Please correct me, if I went wrong somewhere[:)]

Wow!
Kudos to you Raj.
What a perfect insight.
Agreeing with everything cent percent.
Santafe ,again is Boat like terribly boat like . I have driven one abroad.Braking , power delivery and maneuvering felt like Cuba, Madagascar and Burma.

The ANVista has following features for sure,

ORVM electrical adjustment
USB/AUX

There may be somehting else, which I am not certain of.

Please add swift,Liva to Executive Diesel Hatchbacks (6-9 lacs)

As per the calculations on the entry levels SUV/MUV,Raj i would like to give my opinion on selecting between those orderly wise and their reasons:

1)Scorpio: It is simply opted for the best road presence and considerable features.
2)Innova: Best vehicle for the brand image no matter what the price maybe.
3)Safari: Another winner from TML for good road presence and lot of features.
4)Xylo: Comfortable interiors with spacious legroom even at the third row, Utilitarian
for big families and value for money's worth.
5)Bolero: Chosen by youngsters and people looking to sport in a low budget.
6)Sumo: The price feels somewhat high for what it should and people buy Safari
by spending just more than 60k IMO

Good one!

Could you ad ANVista instead the Aura+?

I think ANVista top end gives more features than the Aura+.

Please correct me, if I went wrong somewhere[:)]
Wow!
Kudos to you Raj.
What a perfect insight.
Agreeing with everything cent percent.
Santafe ,again is Boat like terribly boat like . I have driven one abroad.Braking , power delivery and maneuvering felt like Cuba, Madagascar and Burma.
The ANVista has following features for sure,

ORVM electrical adjustment
USB/AUX

There may be somehting else, which I am not certain of.
raj_5004 Excellent work

Add Renault koleos to Luxury SUV/MUV
Renault.com - Renault Koleos
Please add swift,Liva to Executive Diesel Hatchbacks (6-9 lacs)
guys, newer cars like new vista, new swift & Liva will be added as soon as i get proper figures from reliable sources.

Good work Raj.
Why not Petrol hatchbacks? and ofcourse Entry level sedans?

wow great comparison raj..kudos!! cant this be done for all segments and update them with new launches it will become very helpful for doing comparisons!! [thumbsup]

Good Work Raj... Impressive.

BTW, Figo doesn't come with USB port. Its USB ready (compitable) and you need to buy the USB cable costing INR 1200... [frustration]

Newer cars will be added & some mistakes will be rectified soon friends. Thanks for all your appreciation.

@ Figoian: Thanks buddy, it will be corrected.

Fantastic job done. It will be beneficial for new buyers to perform a quick comparison. Please send the updated version once prepared, so that it can be directly added in the opening post.