The Automotive India

Go Back   The Automotive India > The Auto Talk > Indian Auto News

Toyota Fortuner Bookings Re-open Yet Again (Jan 2011)

. This is a discussion on Toyota Fortuner Bookings Re-open Yet Again (Jan 2011) within Indian Auto News Forums, Part of The Auto Talk category; Here’s a special update - Now finally the admirers of Toyota Fortuner can book their favorite SUV from tomorrow. Yes, ...

Share This Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th June 2010, 07:19 PM   #1
Elite

350Z has disabled reputation
Thumbs up Toyota Fortuner Bookings Re-open Yet Again (Jan 2011)

Here’s a special update - Now finally the admirers of Toyota Fortuner can book their favorite SUV from tomorrow. Yes, Toyota Kirloskar has officially announced that the bookings of Fortuner are going to re-open from 1st July 2010.

Attached Thumbnails
Toyota Fortuner Bookings Re-open Yet Again (Jan 2011)-facelift-toyota-fortuner-large.jpg  

350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2010, 07:47 PM   #2
Maestro

Akash has disabled reputation

Thats a good news for fortuner lovers. BTW has Toyota increased the production to reduce the waiting periods.
Akash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2010, 08:14 PM   #3
Amateur

amaan1994 is on a distinguished road

They had to do this. There was no other way to stop customers from straying away to other brands. I myself have seen an upshot in the numbers of Mitsubishi Outlanders nowadays (and it is true-the sales of the Mitsu Outlander HAVE picked up with the introduction of the new 2010 Outlander variant.) However, the big question is just how much time will Toyota take to deliver all these cars? I mean they already have a humongous backlog and with more customers pouring in, will Toyota be able to deal with such heavy demand?
amaan1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2010, 10:33 PM   #4
Professional

raj_5004 has a spectacular aura aboutraj_5004 has a spectacular aura aboutraj_5004 has a spectacular aura about

A fortuner for 15L is a dream come true! else this fortuner with 6 airbags, TC, ESP, BA, ESP, Hill descent control, GPS, Cruise control, TPMS, etc for the same price!
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2010, 10:58 PM   #5
BANNED

AMG is on a distinguished road

Still, it has to be the outlander for me, no matter what the Japs come up with.
Fortuner still seems a century old to me, especially the way it handles.
AMG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2010, 10:13 AM   #6
Professional

raj_5004 has a spectacular aura aboutraj_5004 has a spectacular aura aboutraj_5004 has a spectacular aura about

yes, it is dated, its obvious. thats why i say i should be priced 15L since its a "toyota" !!!

btw, can anyone guess how much profit is toyota reeking with the fortuner now?

Innova: 12L
Production cost of Innova: 8-9L
So, Production cost of fortuner = PC of innova + stilts (since fortuner is innova on stilts) + some more sheet metal + 4WD tranny + (difference of innova's engine & fortuner's engine)

thats is equal to = 8 + 1 + 1 + 1 + 1 = 12L = PC of fortuner

Tax + Logistics + other costs involved = 3L

So total selling price of fortuner = 15-16L

Profit for toyota at the moment = A cooooool 5-6L per fortuner !!!

Last edited by raj_5004; 1st July 2010 at 10:18 AM.
Old 1st July 2010, 10:28 AM   #7
Maestro

But fortuner to me looks good for 15lacs. The only thing which isnt acceptable is the waiting period.
-----------Next Post-----------
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akash
But fortuner to me looks good for 15lacs. The only thing which isnt acceptable is the waiting period.
raj you made me regret on my above post. After reading your post from no aspect Fortuner sounds VFM to me.

Last edited by Akash; 1st July 2010 at 10:28 AM. Reason: Please EDIT Post within 15 Mins, Posts Auto-Merged.
Old 1st July 2010, 11:14 AM   #8
Amateur

amaan1994 is on a distinguished road

Toyota Fortuner@ Rs.15-16 lakh?!!! Has Toyota reduced prices of the Fortuner or am I missing something here? As far as I know, the Fortuner costs nearly Rs.20-21 lakh on-road here in Mumbai. Am I lost or something?
amaan1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2010, 11:47 AM   #9
Elite

Yes, Toyota Fortuner costs Rs.21.07 Lakhs On-Road, Delhi and for Mumbai it’s even higher. Anyways, if we consider the calculations done by Raj, In My Opinion, Profit of Rs.5 Lakhs on Rs.20 Lakh car is quite acceptable. After all, from the manufacturer’s perspective, they do need to earn a profit at least to some margin and that is why they are into the business!

Old 1st July 2010, 12:56 PM   #10
Amateur

Marun is on a distinguished road
Smile

I got an info from sales representative here in chennai that engines alone are coming from TMC for fortuner. That's the reason he said for the delay.

TMC planned for 500 engines per month long time back. During the initial launch, the booking reached over 2500 in 3 days. Toyota closed the bookings. May be they might have done some meeasure to increase the production this time.

Anybody have any idea about the production line of fortuner? I dont think sales rep is right. If so, how much cost is involoved in shipping the engines from TMC(japan) to plant here in india.
Marun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2010, 09:03 PM   #11
Professional

@ amaan: i know a fortuner costs 20L, my calculations show its WORTH 15L!

@ Vibhor: 5L of profit on a 20L vehicle is not acceptable friend!
Old 2nd July 2010, 12:11 PM   #12
Elite

So how much do you expect? If manufacturers will not earn from margin in big cars, how will they benefit? Though it’s a different matter that practically small cars earn more profit.

Old 2nd July 2010, 12:36 PM   #13
Maestro

Quote:
Originally Posted by 350Z
So how much do you expect? If manufacturers will not earn from margin in big cars, how will they benefit? Though it’s a different matter that practically small cars earn more profit.

I completely agree. IMO its better that they put greater margins for profit from their premium models rather than small cars.
And at the end of the day everybody is in business for profits.
Old 2nd July 2010, 05:37 PM   #14
BANNED

AMG is on a distinguished road

But still 25% profit, RIDICULOUS
AMG is offline   Reply With Quote