VW Vento Exported From India: Gets 5 Star Safety Rating

Thread Starter #1
Vento - Made in India and exported to Latin American Countries gets a 5 Star safety rating ( adult occupancy)in recent Latin NCAP tests.

The safety equipment of the new Vento, such as both front seatbelts of driver and passenger, dual front airbags, anti-lock braking system, SBR and ISOFIX checked by the Latin NCAP.
There is no critical structure for the front passenger’s knees but, the drive knees faced the hard contact with the steering.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RFGCNMunBt8

Latin NCAP is more strict and difficult than Euro NCAP right? Or is it the other way round? It is a great achievement for the Vento any way. And do we get the same/similar structure in our Indian version also?

Sorry if some questions sound stupid. I am a noob in this area.

Latin NCAP is more strict and difficult than Euro NCAP right? Or is it the other way round? It is a great achievement for the Vento any way. And do we get the same/similar structure in our Indian version also?
No. Euro NCAP is stricter. Those Ventos are for exports only.

Last edited:
No. Euro NCAP is stricter. Those Ventos are for exports only.
Okay. I read more on this topic and got to know that the Indian Vento doesn't get some parts for body shell stability, which the export model and Indian Jetta get. Otherwise the Indian Polo and Vento both are pretty sturdy built cars and the Indian Vento even is much more heavier (weight) than the export model which is tested, so I don't think quality of the structure would have been greatly compromised.

Those Ventos are for exports only.
Well the 5 star is for export quality vento, what about the vento being sold in Indian market?
AFAIK, the Vento sold in India hasn't been crash tested yet.